We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Nights Stay, No Manager in site” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Cottages
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Nights Stay, No Manager in site”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in Cottage #2 and was appalled at the lack of water pressure and spotted bugs in the place. The running water was hardly acceptable and when attempting to reach the 24 hour emergency line we received no such help or even a call back. After attempting the 24 hour emergency line and leaving a message on the main office line I also spoke to your front desk about relaying my message with a number to call back to discuss with still no response. I finally emailed the address and got a response from owner Sheila Lawyer saying it was the typical pressure as its "water from the mainland". This is an absolute lie as at many other establishments visited and stayed during our time in the keys have had great water pressure and an actual working toilet.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    96
    53
    36
    57
See reviews for
54
181
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you enjoy paying 150+ for a small cabin with no running water in the bathroom or kitchen and beetles crawling around the floor, then by all means stay here. The guy from Michigan who checked us in was friendly and the only positive part of our stay here.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Cottage #5..... Shower backed up & never drained, so we had to shower in 2+ inches of water at all times

Toilet backed up & would not flush/was leaking onto bathroom floor. ( obvious plumbing issues in bathroom)

Kitchen sink leaked, so we had to stop that with the towels they provided.

The ac unite dripped onto back of TV & cottage could of used some TLC.

It was in a nice central location to key west & close to publix :) the beach close by is pet friendly :)

The gentleman (Jeff ?) @ the guest desk was helpful & kind, but others that worked there were not as much.

After multiple attempts to contact the owner(we were told to contact/speak with about getting some type of refund), she has yet to respond. We spent $650 + over New Years, it was not worth the price, nor the frustration that should present itself on a vacation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simpatico123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked on the Inn's website because of the location halfway down the Florida Keys. We booked a Garden Suite as it was all that was available. We liked the idea of hammocks, Wi-Fi, and the closeness to the Gulf of Mexico. We were quite shocked when we arrived to find that the Garden Suites are off site about mile away. This was not mentioned on the website. Thus, no hammocks and no Gulf of Mexico. There was no information in the room about the password to get on the locked Wi-Fi site. The room had many issues that needed repair. There was no maid service the two nights we were there. The suites are next to a Tiki Bar which we enjoyed going to. However, the nightly music plays until around 10:00 p.m. so beware if you want to go to sleep earlier. The only good thing we can say is that the sheets and towels were clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila L, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Just a quick note here.....The Garden Suites are no longer available for rent through the Tropical Cottages office, they were separately owned rooms that were made available on booking sites along with Tropical Cottages. They are not owned by this resort, and are no longer represented by this resort.
Sherry B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

It looked like a cute collection of cottages in a tropical clearing in the photos. More like behind the bank in the parking lot. it is a neglected property that lacks minimum routine maintenance, and is worn and old. The shower would not totally shut off, it ran all night, and all the next night too. They have a note on the wall saying how important it is to conserve water, but if the shower had been taken care of, they wouldn't need the note. And the rust stain running down the wall could have been taken care as well.

Room Tip: stay away and try a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sssssshure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
203 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were excited about staying here and ignored the other bad reviews, DONT!
We were traveling from Miami to Key west and this was half way, thinking it would be in a tropical place its not its down a lane which ends in not a nice place no where to go and you need to get back in your car to go any where.

We went across the road to supermarket got food and went back to room to have a meal 1 plate, no knifes to cut the bread or tomatoes with , no kettle to make a cup tea and very few dishes for breakfast. No WIFI , yard was messy and the place needs a lot of refurbishment.

Andy's Tip - Drive out lane back onto main road a mile marker 50 across the road go down that street and you will fins one of the most beautiful beaches in the world small and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The bad reviews are most accurate. Especially the descriptions of management's less than concerned attitiude. This place is bad business. We also ended up in cottage #1 which is I fact a TRAILER. After the first nite we explained to management that we did not get what we were expecting at and the the website and photos had been misleading. She said she would give us a small discount for the 2nd nite but nothing for the 1st since it had already passed... what. STAY AWAY!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
3.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Property: Tropical Cottages
Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon
Tropical Cottages Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing