We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fisherman's haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Comfortable, reasonably priced rooms with boat 10 feet from the back door in a perfect spot with direct access to Vaca Cut connecting the Atlantic & Gulf. Allows easy access for fishing / diving either location depending on the weather. Phil & Laura are outstanding hosts, & go way above & beyond to help in any way they can. Feels like B&B hospitality in a Boat Motel. I've been back several times & enjoy it more each time. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

An older motel, but well kept. Clean, comfortable room with a door right on the water! We would go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveoil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

nice place, nice pool, friendly staff. I found this place on Tripadvisor and booked 2 nights. There is not a lot to do in Marathon but we spent one day and evening in Key West and that made the trip. it was about 1.5 hour drive I would recommend this place

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Lman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I really liked this place. The welcome was warm, the room was extremely clean (trust me, I'm fussy about this and it was sparkling), the beds were clean and comfortable with cotton sheets, the grounds were nicely decorated, planted and maintained and the pool was also well decorated and very clean. You can dock your boat at your back door if you have one and park your car at your front door. There's a little deck at the end of the dock with a BBQ and a place to prepare your catch of the day. We had the room at the far end (a free upgrade, nice!) and heard no noise from the road, which, as often in the keys, is really close by. I'd have preferred a king or queen to the 2 doubles on offer but I guess you can't have it all at the (excellent for the Keys) price.The only thing about staying here is that I was not that keen on Marathon, which I found to be less fun than Islamorada and less interesting tourist-wise than Key West. If Marathon is your destination of choice, however, this should be your place to stay for sure!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a higher number to be nearer the dock and further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad-Mum-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My Boyfriend & I stayed for 2 nights while we visited the Keys in March. This little Motel/Botel was lovely. Phil & Laura made us feel very welcome & couldnt do enough for us. Even lent us towels to go snorkeling as we didnt have enough room on the bike to bring some! The room was a good size & was spotless. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was small but nice. Plenty of fresh towels & toiletries provided aswel as tea & coffee & a fridge.
The room had back patio doors leading the boat ramp, with seating just outside this was a pleasant place to wind down after a busy day! BBQ's are also provided!
Thank you Phil & Laura for your hospitality! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Hawaiian Motel/Botel based on reviews we found on Trip Advisor and they were spot on! Laura and Phil were kind, welcoming and treated us very well during our stay. We are looking to relocate to the area and they were most helpful with information and tips. The room was very comfortable and immaculate. And with the canal 6 feet from the bed, we really enjoyed the view! It was a genuine Florida Keys experience in a traditional Keys motel and had a charm and comfort level rarely found at larger hotels and resorts. We have a large extended family and will certainly be comfortable putting them up here when they come down to visit!

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be a bad room at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Hawaiian for 8 nights. The owner/managers were very nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean! We are moving down to the keys and after long days of looking at houses, it was very nice to stay at this hotel. Thank you so much for all your help and hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
3.6 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
3.7 mi away
Blackfin Resort and Marina
9.6 mi away
BayView Inn Motel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £132 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing