We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed two nights. Room was spotless, staff very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is right next to the highway, so easy to find, yet we didn't hear the traffic at night at all. This is the only place on the keys we stayed at so I have nothing to compare it with but I can't imagine you get a better deal for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin862013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 7 nights over Christmas at the Royal Hawaiian Motel and had a wonderful time. The location is great so we were able to travel daily throughout the Keys. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Housekeeping was thorough as was the service. We enjoyed the pool daily and cocktails nightly on the dock. The managers were very helpful with dining suggestions, local charters and directions. We have already made plans to return this Spring.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nab24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

There was a terrible sweet smell. Then, there was this big tree trunk on top of your head. Why was it there?! Talk about unlucky. Also, washing your hands was very tricky. The soap was mushy too. When you open the slide door, the is a fish smell. GROSS

Room Tip: Get a sunnier room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhmb30, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience for your one night stay. Apparently no research was done on the area you were visiting. Therefore that explains the lack of knowledge about the very authentic Keys style Driftwood Lamps that are one of a kind! And very hard to find. Let me also explain when you are staying on the waterfront in the Florida Keys, the tides bring in sea weed and with the heating of the day and the wind, hence the smell of sea grass. No way to control “Mother Nature”, sometimes I wish I could!
Hope this explanation clears the air and helps you better understand your visit to the Keys.
As for the sweet smell that would be the room deodorizer and as for the “mushy” soap, that is a result of letting it sit in water in the sink.
We work very hard and diligently to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay. Our many reviews speak for themselves.
Again, thank you and always enjoy life to the fullest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is very close to the main road. The traffic noise from road is intrusive for much of the day and night. The smell in the room was revolting, which gave me bad headaches. I also found hair in the bathroom. It was my big mistake to choose this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjchmeacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhmb30, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are sorry your experience for your one night stay was not a pleasant one.
Unfortunately, it is hard to control outside noise and sea air smell, when guests leave windows and glass sliding doors open. At this time of the year being located on the water, the North Winds bring in the sea grass.
Communication is very important, and if there was a housekeeping issue, all our guest has to do is call management for assistance and it would have been addressed immediately.
We work very hard and diligently to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay. Our many reviews speak for themselves. We have been No. 1 of places on “Tripadvisor’s” list for some time now, and for the past 27 years that we have owned it, we are constantly striving to make our quaint Keys Motel better each day.
Again, thank you and always enjoy life to the fullest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Several of my friends and family were looking for nice place to stay with accommodations for fishing as well. Fortunately, we were able to locate the Royal Hawaiian Motel. The motel met our expectations and beyond. The hospitality and the services were outstanding. Furthermore, the rooms were very clean and comfortable; with great view of our boats at all times. The location of the motel is strategically placed near almost everything that is needed for fishing and more. The tackle shops, fishing spots, shopping stores and restaurants are minutes away from the motel. It was a very pleasant experience and I will definitely come back and would highly recommend this motel to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar, and any room will be an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_FTRIP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This motel is affordable, peaceful and cute! It is great for boaters. There is a quiet pool area beautifully landscaped. The office was very friendly and helpful. Great location! The room had a kitchen and 2 beds which was very clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to the keys and we happened upon this place. What a gem! We stayed another night in Marathon because the room was so awesome in every aspect. The ambiance,the cleanliness, the location...it was cozy and comfy. There's a boat dock outside the sliding back door which was tiled and spotless with benches to sit and relax. The pool was sparkling and spotless and surrounded in beautiful foliage. When we walked in the room was cool and smelled wonderful. Its old. ..50's style...but kept up and updated wonderfully! These people know what they are doing. Next time we visit the keys we plan on basing our visit from there! The only thing I would have wanted different was a king bed instead of two doubles, but that is just personal preference. Great job Royal Hawaiian management/owners!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
6.3 mi away
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £131 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing