We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Nearby Hotels
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dell Motel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackfin Resort and Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
200
54
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
54
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvaca cutboat rampfishbeautiful canalthe sliding glass doorclean roomskey westperfect place to staybbq areahome away from homekeys stylefull size refrigeratornice pooltwo double bedsold floridaroom was largesombrero beach
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed two nights. Room was spotless, staff very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is right next to the highway, so easy to find, yet we didn't hear the traffic at night at all. This is the only place on the keys we stayed at so I have nothing to compare it with but I can't imagine you get a better deal for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin862013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 7 nights over Christmas at the Royal Hawaiian Motel and had a wonderful time. The location is great so we were able to travel daily throughout the Keys. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Housekeeping was thorough as was the service. We enjoyed the pool daily and cocktails nightly on the dock. The managers were very helpful with dining suggestions, local charters and directions. We have already made plans to return this Spring.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nab24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

There was a terrible sweet smell. Then, there was this big tree trunk on top of your head. Why was it there?! Talk about unlucky. Also, washing your hands was very tricky. The soap was mushy too. When you open the slide door, the is a fish smell. GROSS

Room Tip: Get a sunnier room!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhmb30, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience for your one night stay. Apparently no research was done on the area you were visiting. Therefore that explains the lack of knowledge about the very authentic Keys style Driftwood Lamps that are one of a kind! And very hard to find. Let me also explain when you are staying on the waterfront in the Florida Keys, the tides bring in sea weed and with the heating of the day and the wind, hence the smell of sea grass. No way to control “Mother Nature”, sometimes I wish I could!
Hope this explanation clears the air and helps you better understand your visit to the Keys.
As for the sweet smell that would be the room deodorizer and as for the “mushy” soap, that is a result of letting it sit in water in the sink.
We work very hard and diligently to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay. Our many reviews speak for themselves.
Again, thank you and always enjoy life to the fullest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is very close to the main road. The traffic noise from road is intrusive for much of the day and night. The smell in the room was revolting, which gave me bad headaches. I also found hair in the bathroom. It was my big mistake to choose this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjchmeacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhmb30, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are sorry your experience for your one night stay was not a pleasant one.
Unfortunately, it is hard to control outside noise and sea air smell, when guests leave windows and glass sliding doors open. At this time of the year being located on the water, the North Winds bring in the sea grass.
Communication is very important, and if there was a housekeeping issue, all our guest has to do is call management for assistance and it would have been addressed immediately.
We work very hard and diligently to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay. Our many reviews speak for themselves. We have been No. 1 of places on “Tripadvisor’s” list for some time now, and for the past 27 years that we have owned it, we are constantly striving to make our quaint Keys Motel better each day.
Again, thank you and always enjoy life to the fullest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Several of my friends and family were looking for nice place to stay with accommodations for fishing as well. Fortunately, we were able to locate the Royal Hawaiian Motel. The motel met our expectations and beyond. The hospitality and the services were outstanding. Furthermore, the rooms were very clean and comfortable; with great view of our boats at all times. The location of the motel is strategically placed near almost everything that is needed for fishing and more. The tackle shops, fishing spots, shopping stores and restaurants are minutes away from the motel. It was a very pleasant experience and I will definitely come back and would highly recommend this motel to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar, and any room will be an excellent choice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_FTRIP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews