We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I love the idea of a botel. You can bring your boat! The free wifi was working very well and so did everything in the room. Well maintained and clean rooms. The owners was very helpful and nice. We stayed for 7 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrottarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights over New Year's in room #6. Very cute place to stay, spacious, clean, walk out your door to the canal and your boat, convenient location, pet friendly, stayed in a room with kitchenette with full size refridge, very friendly staff, use of grills and patio area on the water, nice pool area, great price.

My only gripe was no wine glasses in our room (although I'm sure I could have asked management). Other than that, overall very nice place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with Kitchenette very convenient with a full size refridge. Stayed in room #6 which had plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmoho72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Not much to look at from the road, this motel/botel is quite charming. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and quiet, even though it is just off the Overseas Highway. Best features are the incredibly nice seating areas outiside the rooms, where you can relax in the shade, and eat (rooms are equiped with refrigerators and microwaves), and the back of each room which opens to the waterfront, where you can relax and take in the view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

For a funky, 50's Keys place the Royal Hawaiian Motel/Botel does a great job! The room was very clean, with a full kitchen and stocked with cookwear and dishes. We saved tons of money cooking in our room. Excellent value and service and perfect to bring our 26 ft. Sailboat to and keep docked behind our room. Our family of four were perfectly happy and comfortable for entire 8 days we were there during Christmas and New Year 2013/2014. We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailorGirlDKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed two nights. Room was spotless, staff very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is right next to the highway, so easy to find, yet we didn't hear the traffic at night at all. This is the only place on the keys we stayed at so I have nothing to compare it with but I can't imagine you get a better deal for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin862013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 7 nights over Christmas at the Royal Hawaiian Motel and had a wonderful time. The location is great so we were able to travel daily throughout the Keys. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Housekeeping was thorough as was the service. We enjoyed the pool daily and cocktails nightly on the dock. The managers were very helpful with dining suggestions, local charters and directions. We have already made plans to return this Spring.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nab24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

There was a terrible sweet smell. Then, there was this big tree trunk on top of your head. Why was it there?! Talk about unlucky. Also, washing your hands was very tricky. The soap was mushy too. When you open the slide door, the is a fish smell. GROSS

Room Tip: Get a sunnier room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhmb30, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience for your one night stay. Apparently no research was done on the area you were visiting. Therefore that explains the lack of knowledge about the very authentic Keys style Driftwood Lamps that are one of a kind! And very hard to find. Let me also explain when you are staying on the waterfront in the Florida Keys, the tides bring in sea weed and with the heating of the day and the wind, hence the smell of sea grass. No way to control “Mother Nature”, sometimes I wish I could!
Hope this explanation clears the air and helps you better understand your visit to the Keys.
As for the sweet smell that would be the room deodorizer and as for the “mushy” soap, that is a result of letting it sit in water in the sink.
We work very hard and diligently to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay. Our many reviews speak for themselves.
Again, thank you and always enjoy life to the fullest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
6.3 mi away
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £133 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing