We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing Holiday Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent 9 nights here in early January, We brought an 18ft CC boat and a couple of kayaks! The hotel is located right on the Vaca cut which joins the Gulf to the Atlantic, there is a bait and Tackle shop right around the corner from the dock. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and depending on how long your stay is, you might want to get one of the rooms with the Kitchenette. You really are not that far from anywhere in the Keys and this location is perfect for day excursions elsewhere! Phil and Laura were the perfect hosts, very helpful when needed! we hope to be back next year! For those who are going to be fishing, there is a fish cleaning station and grills to cook your catch, also a freezer to put your leftover bait, If you are looking to take your boat and fish in the Middle Keys this place is it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We decided on the Royal Hawaian based on the charming outer appearance. Ours was 1 of 8 units. Two double beds with soft mattresses and some highway noise meant we didn't have a pristine sleep but the room itself had a spartan charm. At $100 per night it might be a bit overpriced but it would do in a pinch.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SteveB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I love the idea of a botel. You can bring your boat! The free wifi was working very well and so did everything in the room. Well maintained and clean rooms. The owners was very helpful and nice. We stayed for 7 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrottarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights over New Year's in room #6. Very cute place to stay, spacious, clean, walk out your door to the canal and your boat, convenient location, pet friendly, stayed in a room with kitchenette with full size refridge, very friendly staff, use of grills and patio area on the water, nice pool area, great price.

My only gripe was no wine glasses in our room (although I'm sure I could have asked management). Other than that, overall very nice place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with Kitchenette very convenient with a full size refridge. Stayed in room #6 which had plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmoho72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Not much to look at from the road, this motel/botel is quite charming. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and quiet, even though it is just off the Overseas Highway. Best features are the incredibly nice seating areas outiside the rooms, where you can relax in the shade, and eat (rooms are equiped with refrigerators and microwaves), and the back of each room which opens to the waterfront, where you can relax and take in the view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

For a funky, 50's Keys place the Royal Hawaiian Motel/Botel does a great job! The room was very clean, with a full kitchen and stocked with cookwear and dishes. We saved tons of money cooking in our room. Excellent value and service and perfect to bring our 26 ft. Sailboat to and keep docked behind our room. Our family of four were perfectly happy and comfortable for entire 8 days we were there during Christmas and New Year 2013/2014. We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailorGirlDKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed two nights. Room was spotless, staff very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is right next to the highway, so easy to find, yet we didn't hear the traffic at night at all. This is the only place on the keys we stayed at so I have nothing to compare it with but I can't imagine you get a better deal for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin862013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
3.6 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
3.7 mi away
Blackfin Resort and Marina
9.6 mi away
BayView Inn Motel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £133 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing