We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

stayed here from 05/11/14 to 05/16/14. Royal Hawaiian was recommended by a friend of a friend. We were very pleased with the price, room ( effect. w/kitchen), location, really everything. This is a older facility so don't expect a hotel chain but you get everything you want/need. I would rate it excellent except the management lady was not friendly, barely spoke to us at check in. The gentleman was very friendly all during our stay. When we checked out she said the most, ask us to fill out review on tripadvisor, "they depended largely on it". Since I didn't need to have a lot of contact with her she wouldn't keep me from staying again. Service was great, very clean, quite,most people would enjoy it here. There is always someone who wont like it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dotty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    52
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
84
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed several times here and enjoy it tremendously. Easy access to the ocean and gulf. Rooms are always clean and nice pool at the end of a fishing trip. Barbeque are available by the ramp . Nice climate and overall a very nice place. Very good Cuban sea food the street also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdiaz1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Came down to visit from Denver, Colorado with a group of friends. It was exactly what we all needed to get away from the city life. The motel was very clean, simple, and quaint with a very tropical feel to it. The perfect keys experience. We didn't have a boat, but we found a place near by to rent kayaks and were able to tie them up right outside our room! Also, our dog (a labrador) was able to enjoy the vacation with us since Royal Hawaiian is one of the only dog friendly motels on the island :). One of the days we were there, we caught a bus from from the local supermarket down to Key West, we were able to drink and explore the island all day and not worry about any of us driving back. Laura (the manager) was able to help us in figuring out the bus schedule and other things to do around the island. If you plan on staying in Marathon, definitely check this place out. Already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for the second time at this hidden treasure in the Florida Keys (Marathon). Just as my previous visit, everything was great. Room was clean, great A/C (cools fast), and clean pool. If you own a boat, this is your place, not only is there a ramp on the premises but your boat can be docked behind your room. Definitely would recommend this Motel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice and comfortable rooms, waterfront rooms with a beautiful view! Luscious landscaping remind me of Hawaii! Secluded and beautiful swimming pool, really enjoyed ourselves.
Miss Laura was a perfect and kind manager attend to our every need, very helpful and informative re surroundings areas in order for us to visit!

Room Tip: Room number 6 is closer to the pool and have a very nice kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBY824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from another stay at the Royal Hawaiian Motel in the Florida Keys (Marathon).
As usual had a great time... room nice and clean and conveniently located for the boater. Boat docked right behind the room, ramp on premises, clean pool, fish cleaning station and a place to barbecue if you desire. Have stayed here before and will continue to do so for my summer vacations. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Can't think of a better place to stay, if you are a fisherman/boater, without having to pay ridiculous prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It COULD have been a hoot!. 40;s 50;s decor, pleasant old furnishings, and funky, My being a senior, this reminded me of the 40s/50s cabin type motels you found along the Florida highways post W.W.II. I was really excited to experience nostalgia of years gone by! Everything was clean, even the "fragrance" reminding me of the old lysol that was used in the "old" days.
The room sorta reminded me of a stage set for a retro play or movie (where was Humphrey Bogart hiding?). The Bummer was was the receptionist . She was surly,....she must have had a bad day or bad year, I tried to break the ice, by telling her I had a cousin who had been a doctor in Marathon back after WWII and maybe she would have known him when she was a little girl,. Her response was a curt "NO" she had only been there 4 years. Wow, must have been a difficult 4 years.A pity, since it could have been kinda funny had she been older and maybe a hardened character "inn keeper" but sadly she was an "angry" young middle aged woman who seemed to resent someone checking in. She gave no info regarding the property and we didn't even know they had a swimming pool or BarBQs until this a.m. when I saw photos from this site! So, if you like kitschy, don't mind not feeling welcome, don't expect a smiling, welcoming face after a long hard very windy drive , don't mind the rates being switched when you check in, as well as very little communication regarding directions, then give it a try. Personally as much as I like quaint, I would forgo it for another place. Don't get me wrong....this was not the "Bates" motel, this was an "experience"!! . .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
792 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Property: Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing