We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the picky traveler.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not for the picky traveler.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I hate writing this review, but this place was NOT what is shown on the website or in the photos. It is pretty much in a state of disrepair. We were there three nights, and I didn't feel clean the entire time, even though I showered every day. The carpets were disgusting - I never took off my flip flops. The sheets on the bed did not fit well and were old; the mattresses were old and not covered. They were also lumpy and lop-sided and I slept at a tilt! The bathroom floor tile was not clean; the wallpaper was coming off the walls; the cabinet doors below the sink were crooked. The tv came out of the 80s. The lighting next to the beds did not work.

The pool area was large, but not clean. The tiki bar closed at 5 p.m. The tennis court is covered in mud.

The one positive note is that the grounds were lush and tropical.

It was sad to see this old Florida hotel, which must have been beautiful at one time, in such a state of disrepair.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms pictured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deej713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We regret that you did not find your accommodations to be suitable. We take these concerns very seriously and would like to remedy them as quickly as possible. If you would like to contact me, I would be delighted to find out which room you stayed in and discuss the concerns that you have listed. Thank you for taking the time to comment on Banana Bay Resort and Marina.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    291
    192
    108
    111
See reviews for
294
429
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff was very personable and helpful. The room was spacious and clean...had everything except a microwave. Liked the two separate bathrooms concept... Toilet and shower in one area and another sink, etc. outside of that. The grounds and marina were beautiful. Too bad the restaurant was closed. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Leeann,
We thank you for your time in reviewing Banana Bay Resort and Marina. The staff at Banana Bay work very hard to be helpful to our guests and take care of their needs. I am glad that you liked your accommodations and enjoyed the tropical vegetation that abounds on the property. We thank you again and hope that you can return again soon.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights and after the initial negative impression, we came to really enjoy our stay. The first room we were assigned stank of tobacco so were moved to a larger and quieter room in "Poolside" . Unfortunately, the room was very dark. The Staff was very helpful and quick when I asked for a lightbulb to replace a burned-out one and for an extra lamp.
Be sure to walk down to the dock by the little marina -esp. at sunset. I consider the "resort' as Old Florida - a little sleepy, a little rough around the edges, but still relaxing.
You may want to eat-in-the-rough at Key Fishery "Home of the Lobster Reuben" on 35th street.

Room Tip: Poolside is very quiet - and not actually at the pool. Most rooms have little balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmblue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Banana Bay. Although our rooms are all nonsmoking, we do occasionally have those that do not recognize this fact. We are always delighted to accommodate our guests with an alternative room in those circumstances if they are available. In this case I am glad that we were able to do this and to correct any issues that you encountered. We do hope that you had a relaxing time and that you will return to our “Old Florida” style hotel.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our room was average. It was clean, the air worked and it was comfortable enough. The staff was really nice and very helpful. They let us print our boarding passes for home for free. The bar and pool were nice and the drinks reasonably priced. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget. The location was great as it was centrally located and we walked almost everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkLoverKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review Banana Bay Resort and Marina. I thank you for recognizing what a good value can be had by staying at the Resort. Our central location makes it convenient for you to explore not only the immediate area but also the rest of the Keys. We work very hard at trying to help all our guests and to provide some conveniences, such as an accessible computer and printer.
We hope that you will be able to make a return visit soon.
Thanks,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The room was not bad at all. It had a lot of space. The two main problems was the pillow was terrible and the AC made way too much noise. The customer service was good. They had a nice hot tub and a tiki bar which was cool. The pool was not clean. This was more of a place to crash at night

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you for your review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina. It is always a pleasure to hear our customers complement the service that they receive from our staff. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the hot tub, pool and tiki bar during your stay. I do apologize for missing the mark on your room expectations and have addressed your observations with our staff. I do hope that you will return to Banana Bay and enjoy a night or two again.
Thank You, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McConnelsville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

They boast about how much room they have yet what we saw was so ran down or was not in operation. Our room was spacious but the furniture down to the t.v. needed replaced or at least refurbished for the price they charged. Even the material around the beds has holes. The wifi is constantly kicking off. Our little balcony was dirty.. looked as if someone had spit snuff or threw up on it. Our keys we was given would not open our door so we had to keep getting the cleaning lady to unlock and even she had problems with her own key. The landscape could be so much more if they just pit a little effort into it. What they call little beach is stretching it. More like a small litter box for all the cats running around. Now here is what is good! The pool is prefect. Clean and taken care of. They have plenty of chairs and a few tables. The tiki bar is small but you can get cold drinks while out there. The hot tub is ok too but we had problems with too many kids in it and noone to make them get out. They would go back and forth between pool and hot tub and jumping in splashing everyone. Another couple tired to tell them they was not even old enough to be in it but to no avail. They do give you beach towels that was nice and thick but they did not replace them daily. We heard new owners will be taking over soon but it will become to expensive to check into.

Room Tip: No reason to rent a room with a water view as there is too many boats in the way to see anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the unsatisfactory conditions that you found in your room. If you would contact me at 305-743-3500 and let me know in which room you stayed I can address your concerns and remedy the situations immediately. I have discussed your observations in the pool area with staff in order to curtail this experience from happening again. I am happy that you found the pool and the tiki bar to meet your expectations.
As it is true that there will be new owners so we do expect that the rates will not be exorbitant. I hope that you will visit us again in the future and let us improve your stay at Banana Bay Resort and Marina.
Thank You, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#10 of 17 in Marathon
40 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
783 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing