We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The dirties place I ever seen” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The dirties place I ever seen”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Tis place is so bad the should tear it down .The carpets looked like the haven't been vacuumed in years.The bed had a net over the top of it that was all ripped and torn. Towels were just thrown on top of the sink...I f you go to sit outside on the little terrace and look up they painted the ceiling and the bugs were all painted over .this place is a horror .Plus you have to carry you luggage up 20 stairs to the second floor. Everyone we met said their rooms were not clean and the tub was not cleaned once all the time we were their .We would have left but it was Spring Break and nothing else was available . Please please don't stay here !!!! This is the Banana Bay Resort in Marathon Key

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Judy.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Banana Bay Resort and Marina. I am sorry that you found the resort did not meet your expectations. We take your comments very serious. If you would like to contact us and specify which room you were assigned we would definitely like to look further into this matter.
Thank You, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    276
    184
    99
    109
See reviews for
280
413
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I hate writing this review, but this place was NOT what is shown on the website or in the photos. It is pretty much in a state of disrepair. We were there three nights, and I didn't feel clean the entire time, even though I showered every day. The carpets were disgusting - I never took off my flip flops. The sheets on the bed did not fit well and were old; the mattresses were old and not covered. They were also lumpy and lop-sided and I slept at a tilt! The bathroom floor tile was not clean; the wallpaper was coming off the walls; the cabinet doors below the sink were crooked. The tv came out of the 80s. The lighting next to the beds did not work.

The pool area was large, but not clean. The tiki bar closed at 5 p.m. The tennis court is covered in mud.

The one positive note is that the grounds were lush and tropical.

It was sad to see this old Florida hotel, which must have been beautiful at one time, in such a state of disrepair.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms pictured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deej713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We regret that you did not find your accommodations to be suitable. We take these concerns very seriously and would like to remedy them as quickly as possible. If you would like to contact me, I would be delighted to find out which room you stayed in and discuss the concerns that you have listed. Thank you for taking the time to comment on Banana Bay Resort and Marina.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff was very personable and helpful. The room was spacious and clean...had everything except a microwave. Liked the two separate bathrooms concept... Toilet and shower in one area and another sink, etc. outside of that. The grounds and marina were beautiful. Too bad the restaurant was closed. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Leeann,
We thank you for your time in reviewing Banana Bay Resort and Marina. The staff at Banana Bay work very hard to be helpful to our guests and take care of their needs. I am glad that you liked your accommodations and enjoyed the tropical vegetation that abounds on the property. We thank you again and hope that you can return again soon.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights and after the initial negative impression, we came to really enjoy our stay. The first room we were assigned stank of tobacco so were moved to a larger and quieter room in "Poolside" . Unfortunately, the room was very dark. The Staff was very helpful and quick when I asked for a lightbulb to replace a burned-out one and for an extra lamp.
Be sure to walk down to the dock by the little marina -esp. at sunset. I consider the "resort' as Old Florida - a little sleepy, a little rough around the edges, but still relaxing.
You may want to eat-in-the-rough at Key Fishery "Home of the Lobster Reuben" on 35th street.

Room Tip: Poolside is very quiet - and not actually at the pool. Most rooms have little balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmblue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Banana Bay. Although our rooms are all nonsmoking, we do occasionally have those that do not recognize this fact. We are always delighted to accommodate our guests with an alternative room in those circumstances if they are available. In this case I am glad that we were able to do this and to correct any issues that you encountered. We do hope that you had a relaxing time and that you will return to our “Old Florida” style hotel.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our room was average. It was clean, the air worked and it was comfortable enough. The staff was really nice and very helpful. They let us print our boarding passes for home for free. The bar and pool were nice and the drinks reasonably priced. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget. The location was great as it was centrally located and we walked almost everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkLoverKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review Banana Bay Resort and Marina. I thank you for recognizing what a good value can be had by staying at the Resort. Our central location makes it convenient for you to explore not only the immediate area but also the rest of the Keys. We work very hard at trying to help all our guests and to provide some conveniences, such as an accessible computer and printer.
We hope that you will be able to make a return visit soon.
Thanks,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The room was not bad at all. It had a lot of space. The two main problems was the pillow was terrible and the AC made way too much noise. The customer service was good. They had a nice hot tub and a tiki bar which was cool. The pool was not clean. This was more of a place to crash at night

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you for your review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina. It is always a pleasure to hear our customers complement the service that they receive from our staff. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the hot tub, pool and tiki bar during your stay. I do apologize for missing the mark on your room expectations and have addressed your observations with our staff. I do hope that you will return to Banana Bay and enjoy a night or two again.
Thank You, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
8.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing