We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dirty resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Old, dirty resort”
Reviewed 4 July 2007

This resort was probably nice in the 80's but hasn't seen a coat of paint since then. As the other reviews stated, the stench of mildew is overwhelming once we entered the hallway to our room. Inside the room, the sink was teeming with ants, the twenty year old refigerator
was rusty and had a broken seal, the air conditioner was loud and ineffective, the carpets were dingy, and the mattresses had lost their form many years ago. The pool was ok but everything, such as the pool deck, tiles, and equipment looked faded, tired, and water stained. The beach area looks like it was damaged by the hurricanes several years ago and forgotten by the owners. The price we paid for the room ($140) was more than twice what it was worth.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell, price, filth
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
129 Thank Cap34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    291
    192
    108
    111
See reviews for
294
429
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
labelle fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

My wife, children and I spent three nights in banana bay marathon. the smell of mildew and dampness were overwhelming as soon as we entered the hall to our room. not to mention the condition of the carpet. loose from the floor and filthy. there were bull ants on the ceiling and in the shower, the pluming was very slow and backed up easy. the pool and tiki bar were nice, but a good walk from the room. don't be fooled by the pictures on the website that must have been taken years ago.

  • Liked — pool and tiki bar
  • Disliked — rundown buildings and mildewed carpets
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
49 Thank gdawg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We spent 2 weeks in FL and decided to head to the Keys at the end of our vacation. Our first night in the Keys - yuck! Frommers guide to FL praised this resort as a "find" - wrong. The only positives: the staff was friendly and the pool was wonderful. The rooms were very old and yes, the carpet was awful. The buildings and rooms smelled terribly of mildew and the rooms were very outdated. We only stayed one night - one too many.
They did have continental breakfast by the pool. Nothing grande toast, bagels, fruit, etc - ok, but my husband swears he found cat hair on his muffin from the many cats roaming the property.
Too bad the owners don't put some money into the rooms, the property itself seems like it could (was at one time?) be a nice place.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — room condition
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
33 Thank luvND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

We stayed here for one night on the way back up to Fort Lauderdale from Key West, wanted to scuba dive reefs around Marathon. We enjoyed it, and wished we could have stayed another day. The host at the check-in desk was very helpful, and gave us good advice on restaurants in the area. He also helped us the following day after our dive, letting us wash up in the pool shower area, even though we had technically checked out of the hotel already.

The hotel itself has a pool, a beach, a tennis court, continental breakfast, and is near a marina. There is a bar at the pool side. The hotel does look like it was last redecorated during that "peach and teal" phase in the '80's, and probably could use some updating and redecorating. It did have a musty odor, but any older hotel in the Florida Keys will have this. For the age of the property, the price was slightly higher than I expect, but those are also Fla Keys prices.

This hotel would be great for families that wanted several ways to entertain family members. I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a romantic weekend or a fancy, hip hotel to impress your significant other ...but you probably wouldn't stay in Marathon if you wanted a hip hotel, as this part of the Keys is more laid back and low-key (ha!).

For divers, there is a dive shop (Tilden's) the next parking lot over, and they ran a very impressive operation: smooth, efficient, and safe. We will dive with them again in the future, and we'll stay here at Banana Bay again.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We stayed at the Banana Bay Resort in Marathon from February 7-13, 2007. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the Keys--so Key West was about 1 hour away and nice beaches were within easy reach. If you can't tolerate smoke, don't stay at this hotel though. None of the rooms are non-smoking--all they could do was put some sort of air purifier in our room which did not do a good job of getting rid of the cigarette smell (we are both non-smokers). We ended up buying some room deodorizer candles to make the place smell tolerable, This hotel was hit by the last big hurricane in 2005 and about 8 feet of water went through the area--so the hallways smell of mildew and the carpets have stains all over them. This hotel could definitely use a makeover. The property was very nice though, very lush with lots of tropical plants. The breakfast was decent with fruits, cereals, muffins, bagels, juices, boiled eggs some days. The little beach and snorkeling area they have advertised are not much. The snorkeling area is full of sea grass. Nice places to eat not far away are Five Brothers for their Cuban sandwiches and 7 Mile Grill for cheap tasty meals--would recommend their breakfast. Nearby nice beaches are Sombrero Beach and Bahia Honda State Park--water is as clear as in the Bahamas. All in all it was an ok place to stay but we would probably not stay there again unless it was renovated.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Stayed here with my two gal-pals on our annual girls weekend. What a lovely little spot, tucked away from the hustle and bustle but still convenient to everything. The rooms were very cute with a small refrigerator (good for beverages!) The pool and hot tub were beautiful. The grounds have wonderful plantings, and the front desk staff were very helpful. Met lots of fun people!

  • Liked — The beautiful tropical location.
  • Disliked — Gulf-view isn't really. You have to lean WAAAY out on your balcony!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bluerainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2007

Another review said to realize that most properties on the Keys are older and not as modern as some travelers might expect. With this in mind, we were satisfied with the Banana Bay Resort in Marathon. It is right off the road but once you enter, the grounds are beautiful, full of various trees and plants. There is a lovely pool and hot tub. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is served poolside but is just average - bagels, english muffins, somewhat over the hill fruit - but just enough to get you started on the day. We chose a king suite with balcony overlooking the marina. It came with refrigerator, hair dryer, etc. It was older, with some fraying wallpaper, but large and clean. The entry however had worn carpet and somewhat of a used smell. Unfortunately, the watersports were closed for the three days we were there. Someone came around to talk about them the morning we were leaving. Check on availability if that is what you're interested in. There is a great restaurant about three blocks away - Keys Fisheries - serving moderately priced fresh seafood and drinks in a rustic setting.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — older accommodations
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorktraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#9 of 17 in Marathon
40 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
782 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing