We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, cozy, laid back get-away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, cozy, laid back get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We decided to try somewhere new, somewhere other than staying in a Marriott style hotel for a change. I'm not sure where to start because there were so many things we enjoyed about this cute place. As long as you are easy going and not high maintenance you will love it here. We can't wait to go back.

We stayed in room #7 The Great Heron with another couple. We arrived very late at night due to a flight delay, so being the laid back place they are they told us they would just leave the room open for us with keys on the table! Love it. Office is always wide open, you just call them like their sign says, if you need something and they come to you from wherever they are at on the property.

Pros: The room was very clean. The grounds adorable. We loved our little kitchen & full sized fridge. It's very quiet. We rarely saw another person during our three night stay! The deck off our room was so peaceful. We used the provided blender & made pina coladas at night & my husband played acoustic guitar while we all hung out on the deck and nobody ever complained. It felt like our own condo. The dock was fun to stroll down at night & enjoy the breeze and the hammock was fun to view the stars in too! No curfews or signs with rules everywhere like most places. It was a nice change. I forgot my favorite shoes there when we left & they shipped them to me for just a few bucks and said I could just send a check when I received them! Instead I paid by phone with a debit card. That was SO nice.

Cons: The toilet in our bathroom needs to be reset it wobbled a little. The shower was very small but worked just fine. An exhaust fan would be my only suggestion. The futon and the bed were really close to each other so for a little privacy, we just moved the futon to the kitchen area instead. It worked just fine that way.

Room Tip: Loved Room #7, great deck to enjoy cocktails and look at the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    72
    29
    12
    17
See reviews for
54
120
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

pleasant with great views.... Quiet. Beautiful sunrise. Couldn't ever get a free kayak though. Well stocked kitchen for cooking. Nice comfortable beds. Free parking. Books to loan. Great hammock where you can hear the sea breeze in the palms over your head....but still hear Highway 1 some too..... Relaxing and very good for price. Would be excellent for family. ..........................Hope yall enjoy this central location in the keys....close to everything.....as much as we did!!

Room Tip: Stayed in sunrise suite. Nice for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueFalconRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for a wedding and the hotel room was clean and neat. The staff was very friendly. Hotel was very unique and definitely allows you to have the key west experience. The scenery was beautiful and quiet. There are several places around the hotel where you can just relax and hang out enjoying the scenery. The pool area was well taken care of and a nice area to just sit back and relax. There are lots of palm trees and huts for shade. The views of the ocean are incredible, especially at sunset. Open grassy areas are perfect for weddings and other events. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I were married here in April 2012. We loved it so much that within 2 months time, we had given away most of our worldly possessions and packed the rest in a 17 ft Uhaul and moved to the Keys permanently to begin our life together as husband and wife in Paradise. We often come back to the White Sands Inn for weekend getaways even though we live only minutes away. We consider it our personal slice of paradise. After reading some of the reviews, I was compelled to write my own so that everyone will know what The White Sands Inn is really about. Many people have been put off because of the seagrass here, but the Keys are not about pristine beaches. The Florida Keys are designated by the Federal Government as a marine sanctuary. We cherish and protect our abundant wildlife. This limits the ability to disturb the natural habitat that exists for these animals. To see the beauty, you have to look past the seagrass and the muck and appreciate all the life that exists here. Our Ocean and its shores are home to many remarkable species. White Sands Inn is a quaint little Inn. The rooms are clean and you will find hospitality at its finest. For all of you nature lovers, I recommend White Sands Inn! As far as the negative remarks regarding the biting insects, well welcome to the tropics and make sure you pack your bug spay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdeakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My family and I stayed at the Inn over Spring Break this year. We will return for our daughter's wedding in a few weeks. None of us had ever stayed in the Keys before and were expecting a beach. Sandy beaches are not a Keys experience. The Inn is practically in the ocean with a wonderful breeze 24/7. We are water people so the grassy shore was lovely to us and we didn't notice any unpleasant smells. Lots of interesting things to see at low tide. There are hammocks and a nice pool with seating nearby. There are grills for cooking and outstanding views. We didn't really use the maid service. She brought us towels and toiletries and TP every day and left us alone the rest of the time. She was very friendly and efficient. If you are looking for a beach cottage experience, this is a terrific place to spend a week! If you want resort facilities, stay at a resort. My only complaint would be that the linens were well worn. I have a rental in OC, Md, so I know it's hard to keep linens in pristine condition. .. The rest of the stay was wonderful and I prefer to give my $ to a small family-owned business than a large chain. Stay here. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestmomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend, 2013. We stayed in room #2, the Paradise Room. The room was extremely clean and had a tropical decor. As you lay in bed and look out the door to the room, the only thing you see is white sand and a perfect view of palm trees and the ocean. Stunning!! Our room was about 5 ft. from the sand and closer than 15 ft. to the water. The pool was extremely clean and the water temperature was wonderful. It sits on the sand overlooking the ocean. It doesn't get anymore perfect than that.The staff and other guests were very welcoming. We had a great time. The folks, for example: "snorkler26", have it wrong. The property was nowhere near a swamp!! It was simply situated on the ocean and naturally affected by the tides.We would go back again and again!!!

Room Tip: room #2 and #3, however, I'm sure they're all quite lovely. They all sit on the sand and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel which is about 90 mins drive from Key West. Beautiful location with ocean views as promised. Decent basic accommodation. Would recommend a restaurant called The Island about 3 miles South of the White Sands Inn. Only downside at the Inn was loads of seaweed in the sea, and not the greatest smell in the world. Overall though a really beautiful place to stay. We paid about 180 dollars per night plus tax for a family room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Inn

Property: White Sands Inn
Address: 57622 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 57.5 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-5625
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Marathon
White Sands Inn Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing