We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIP-OFF”
Review of Yellowtail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yellowtail Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2013

my bad-was in the keys last week,the weather was bad---then it broke. we decided to stay 2 more days.should have checked trip advisor first. I called around found most places to be $$$.,this one seemed ok as far as price-as above my mistake!!!
1. was quoted $125 a night + taxes and fees = $295,upon returning home found $22 added to my bill-called and asked about this fee. i was told it wes resort fee-told them i thaught that was included in the first bill-"no" by the way this place is NO RESORT!!!
2.the first night we heard something on the roof,went outside didn't see anything.2nd night heard the same noise,found it to be in the drop ceiling (sounded large) front desk did'nt care
3 old soap in the shower---OH yes it also had hair on it!!-told the office,they didn't seem to care about that eather.
4.the small dorm frig was next to the bed and it sounded like a car starting when it turned on,had to unplug it so we could sleep(as if)
5.over-all this is the worst place that i (we) have ever stayed in i our lives!!!!
I think it would have been cleaner and have less bugs,rodents? if we had slept on a beach-in the open

Room Tip: Don'T Waste Your $$$!!!--Go Someware else.even if it is a lot more$$
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

First of all thank you for your feedback, and I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. This is premium oceanfront property in the Florida Keys, and while we realize that our units aren’t compatible with a 5-star hotel, we feel the price is fair. If your needs are for something more than what we offer at the Yellowtail Inn then our hotel group has larger and newer units available at neighboring properties, all priced accordingly. Our units are clean and comfortable, and we work hard to maintain them and keep them in good condition, which isn’t always easy with seasonal hurricanes and tropical storms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Yellowtail Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Old and dirty towels with holes and dirty linens, the whole property in much need of renovation and very high price. A shame on its great location.around good public parks and good places to eat- Key Fisheries in Marathon and the Fish House in Key largo.

Room Tip: look at different reviews in the area,if they say old and in need of renovation do not reserve you w...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thanks for the feedback. We are aware of the problems, and are working very hard to bring the hotel up to the level that our guests expect and deserve. We have recently brought in all-new management, as well as a new housekeeping staff. Many of our rooms have been completely renovated, and others are in the renovation process. We are working very hard to improve, so hopefully you'll give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The resort is run down and un cared for. Our room was dirty. The windows do not shut so you can hear the road and it makes the a\c ineffective. There were dead bugs around the windows. The smoke detector has been pulled off the wall the handle to close the windows did not attach.
The shower had not been cleaned the last guest soap and bits were still in there, this is no surprise as the shower hardly worked. My husband said he could squeeze more water out of a sponge. Water pressure was so pathetic you could not shower. We have never experienced anything so bad in the USA before. This place is budget budget more of a backpackers standard but at $170 I expect a decent hot shower and a clean room as a minimum.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thanks for the review. I'm sorry if you had a bad experience with us. I wish you would've alerted the staff to your problems, as we would have moved you to an acceptable room immediately. Hopefully your next visit to the Keys will be more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were offered 2 rooms, both of which were littered with cockroach droppings! They would not refund our stay even though we only looked at the rooms & were there no more than 1/2 hour total. The "manager" didn't even bat an eye when we told him. Of course that's because he already had our $! Beware of this place, casa de sol, and the blackfin. They own all 3 dives.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julies5190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. If you would've been a little patient we could have easily give you a different room. You agreed to our cancellation policy when you made the reservation. Additionally, it really isn't appropriate to slander our other properties that you never saw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Did not paid attention to past review and booked 1 night in this place which was dirty, towels had holes and roches in the stowe. Only good that can be said it was in a good location.
Expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivianrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

All of the previous bad reviews are true. We stayed 2 nights (2-11 & 12, 2013) and did not see a clean towel or a made bed. We were told we should have said something. Well when you leave early in the morning to spend the day at Key West and come back after 10 pm there is nobody there to tell that your room hasn't been cleaned. If you read the previous reviews you can read between the lines and see that they don't care about their customers. The pictures of the rooms and beach area don't match the real thing. And yes the beach area was full of trash and looked as if it had not been cleaned in months. Don't waste your money unless you plan on staying drunk for total stay at Yellotail...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Checked in around 5pm and unloaded into our room. We had a few small maintenance requests (non working lamp and internet) which the dull front manager did address. The room was dingy and slanted but we planned on staying and making the best of it. We left around 6 to go get a few groceries to make dinner. We came back around 8 and used the bbq to cook with. After eating our dinner I went to wash the dishes we used. This is when I discovered the ant infestation in the kitchen area. We inspected the whole area and they were inside the microwave and on the dirty top of the fridge. They were on the walls and all over the counter. The room is small so we also noticed they were spreading to other parts of the room as well. I understand this is a beach location and some insects are to be expected but if proper cleanliness and pest control is used it can be prevented. This was around 10pm and the office had just closed. We called the emergency number and the guy who answered the phone said he would contact someone. About 20 mins later the maintenance guys showed up with bug spray. We told him this was not acceptable to have chemicals sprayed while we were residing in the room. We requested to be moved to another room, as there was empties onsite and the vacancy sign in the sister property next door was lit up. The maintenance guys said he would call the manager and see what could be done. He came back and told us the manager said no we could not have another room or a refund, as the reservation was non cancellable. We promptly packed our bags and left. Since it was so late we were unable to find another hotel to stay at and had to drive back to the mainland to find a place to sleep. Happy Birthday to me. Attempted to dispute the charges as we didn't stay but they are non refundable. RIP OFF SCAM- The manager replies to all of the ratings on here but you can see from his responses how little they care about the customer. As somone who teaches CS for a living I find this practices to be unforgivable so please heed my warning and go anywhere else. If I had checked Trip Advisor or BBB (they have and F rating)first I would have never made the non refundable reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachButterfly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you would've alerted our staff earlier in the evening or contacted our office the next day we probably could have done something to make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
795 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowtail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowtail Inn

Address: 58162 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £180 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowtail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yellowtail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowtail Hotel Marathon
Yellowtail Inn Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing