We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not book this disgusting place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bonefish Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonefish Resort
Ranked #15 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not book this disgusting place.”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This "resort" is a business operated, it seems, by its off-site owner and/or unavailable " hotel manager" as little other than a cash-generating Venus fly trap ensnaring the unwary traveler's credit card account.

Do not be fooled by their website! Do not book it sight/unseen!

Bonefish "resort" is an old and decaying trailer park long overdue for being shut down as a health hazard. Rot, bugs, decay -- all this for a non-refundable" cost of $175 or more per night.

I notified my credit card company I am placing the "non-refundable" overnight charge(s) -- and an entirely unauthorized charge of $22.50 posted on my departure date -- into dispute. Yes, unauthorized.

I have also made a formal written complaint (with digital photos) of our run-down room -- replete with holes punched in the wall, dead insects, and stained and torn bedding) -- with the Marathon Chamber of Commerce.

Margaret Taylor

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mctphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    21
    28
    109
See reviews for
45
103
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The resort is upkept and is in serious need of major repairs. Our deck was unsafe, the foundation of the unit was off its cement blocks and the floors tilted and doors did not shut. Parking accommodates 5-6 cars and is right off the busy highway 1, and you can't see your car from any of the motel units. The business office is located a block or so away, and they serve three motels, so there's no personal connection. I imagine the owners are nowhere near the area, which reeks of sulfur when the tide is out. We stayed only one night, and lost our money for the additional night we had booked, but it was unsuitable for habitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I also booked online based on location and the site's pictures and description. My "guest room" was small, cramped but reasonably clean (hence the 1 ball rating). There was NO water pressure (read: dribbling) for showers and the water temp alternated from icy to scalding. The bed sheets were worn and unchanged for the three nights I stayed; I know this because the stain on the fitted sheet was in the same spot each night. The vinyl blinds were ripped and dirty. The coffee cups were stained from previous use and obviously unwashed. The view of the Atlantic was really the only redeeming feature but overall, the place is just creepy, grimy and poorly maintained for the $129.00+ per night charged to sucker tourists. That said, a little bit of pride, elbow grease and paint would add some value. Tourist beware!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We rented room at last minute over phone the whole keys area was sold out !!
Arrived and had to walk a few hundred yards to the motel down the highway in the dark to check in... Then walk back to look for our room and unload in the dark!!!
After dinner as I pulled blankets back to go to sleep these bugs were crawling on the pillow.... My hubby took a pic n we looked up bed bugs on the net... Sure nough... Bed bugs... Tried to call the emergency # got voicemail n no one ever called us back!!! We left by 7am and office was still closed so of coarse no one to complain to!!!! We travel with our own pillows n left them behind due to the bed bugs!!!
I will never stay in this resort or the other two connected to it!!! Yellowfin and casa !!!
Disgusted!!!
All we asked for was maybe an apology phone call!!! But no response???? Really????
Also paid 178.00 to have bed bugs!!!!

I called and emailed local Health Dept today!!! Not sure if it'll help but at least they are aware!!!
We are regular keys visitors n love the old school keys resorts!!! We have stayed at several and are not picky people!!!This however is unacceptable!!!
Would never recommend any of their three properties unless u want to come home with creepy crawly visitors!!!
Lesson learned ,well stick to our known resorts or stay home !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stay away!!! We booked and Paid via phone with credit card based on pics on their website. Big Mistake !!pics deceiving. when we arrrived for some reason we were told we had been given an upgrade to the Deluxe efficiency with ocean view..hmm no reason given. The place smelled bad, the floor was "greasy" slippery. I had to walk around on a towel trying to remove whatever it was on the tile floor.Very small! Cabinets old and rotted on bottom, stove filthy, burners dont even sit flat, i refuse to use the stove as it could burn the whole place down. Bathroom very Small, someone left a cat poop scooper under cabinet from previous visit? Bedroom is tiny, you cant get out one side of bed, your smack against the wall, the big double door in the bedroom wont open, if you can manage to open it, its all rotten wood on the bottom,, so that deck is useless. Futon in living room was filthy! and smelled terrible, back wood deck filthy, loose planks, and no beach access!! Pool is about the size of a large jacuzzi. Lock does not work from inside. little bugs of some sort all over counter tops and bathroom sink. keep wiping them down and the bugs kept coming back. pics on internet are deceiving, i would not recommend this place at all, for $$149 a night go somewhere else..we paid in advance for a week stay and no refunds so we are stuck..

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, this place is a dump!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Bugs and stains on the bed sheets. Spiders in every corner. Ants crawling on the walls and floor. Trim and bathroom wood rotting. Ran into a couple who was booked in our room the night prior and demanded to switch rooms since 2 inches of rain water flooded the room that they so kindly booked us the next night. Suffocating bleach smell to try and mask the smell of mold. Clerk then proceeded to call police when I wanted to record our conversations for my credit card company for our battle to get our refund. They continued to refuse a refund. Shortly after the police arrived and saw the room for themselves a full refund was given. This place should be shut down. Health department was called.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinRose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Room #311 is a waterfront deluxe efficiency, with a good deck and a great view. (#312 looked even better) The desk staff, (Elijah, Mike, and Lisa) were friendly and professional. Room looked and smelled clean and was very bright and spacious. Awesome view of the ocean and proximity to the pool and beach area. I checked everywhere for bugs or yuckiness and found nothing! Yes, this place is very old and has probably been through lots of bad weather, but if you know the Keys and don't expect luxury, this place is cool for hanging out with friends in a small, laid-back setting . Staff really seem to be trying to make improvements. I did go into one of the smaller rooms not on the waterfront, and I wouldn't want to stay in those, but I love to be waterfront and outside most of the time. We had a 2-year-old with us, so the deck, pool, beach, ocean proximity was perfect. Good price for what we got with #311, and nothing scary or gross!

Room Tip: Rooms 311 and 312 are worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugsySeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
257 reviews
4.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
726 reviews
9.9 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
#15 of 17 in Marathon
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Resort

Property: Bonefish Resort
Address: 58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonefish resort is a quaint oceanfront motel nestled in a tropical setting, located on the island of Marathon, Florida, in the middle of Florida Keys. Rooms are decorated with an old Florida Keys charm. A sandy oceanfront picnic area, with heated swimming pool and sun bathing area are enjoyed by our guests. If you are yearning for a memorable vacation experience then make us your favorite secret in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonefish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Hotel Marathon
Bonefish Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing