We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My storage shed is bigger than the rooms here.”
Review of Bonefish Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonefish Resort
Ranked #15 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My storage shed is bigger than the rooms here.”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Tiny room. Previous tenants thong hanging in the room. No coffee maker as advertised. Staff was pleasant and resolved the issues promptly. That being said, it is what it is, Possibly the least expensive hotel in Marathon. Had availability when others did not. Was significantly less than the $350 for the larger hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thanks for the review, and for the kind words about our staff. We are aware of the problems at our motel, and working very hard to bring the quality up to the level that our guests expect and deserve. We have recently brought it all-new management, a new housekeeping staff, and have renovated several rooms, as well as several aspects of the property in general. We are always working to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    21
    28
    109
See reviews for
45
103
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you like bugs, bad air conditioning, cave like dwellings and no hot water or water pressure then Bonefish is for you. The place needs to be bulldozed. The WiFi worked which was a huge bonus and the area by the water is nice.

The highway is very close to your door and it sounds like the trucks are going to drive through your room. The floors are sticky/gritty tile. We couldn't find the office until finding a piece of paper that said the office was several lots north on the highway. The shower is really horrendous. It is a little tiled area with an old shower curtain and absolutely no water pressure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BorderCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
First of all thank you for your feedback, and I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. The Bonefish Resort is a small motel, and that is exactly what we advertise it as. This is premium oceanfront property in the Florida Keys, and while we realize that our units aren’t compatible with a 5-star hotel, we feel the price is fair. If your needs are for something more than what we offer at the Bonefish Resort then our hotel group has larger and newer units available at neighboring properties, all priced accordingly. Our units are clean and comfortable, and we work hard to maintain them and keep them in good condition, which isn’t always easy with seasonal hurricanes and tropical storms. Please understand the attitude and atmosphere of the Keys- the high-rise condos and 5-star resorts of Miami and Daytona simply aren’t available here, and quite frankly it isn’t fair to expect that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

When we called to book we actually thought we were getting a room at "Yellow tail Inn" which just down the ocean a bit. (Also is owned by this owner) So after reading the reviews we were scared. We were in room 304 which was very clean- or as clean as possible since the property is in need of a total update. The fridge and stove both really need to be thrown out they were both very rusty and old looking but they did work. The ocean area/dock is beautiful. My husband would not stay here 2 nights in a row but it really didnt bother me one way or another since the ocean area made up for the old run down rooms. The yellow tail didnt even look like it was open.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the ocean they looked bigger and more updated. Dont wait til the last minute to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thanks for your business, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

What a pleasant surprise. I booked Bonefish in a hurry as most of the Fl Keys was sold out. I checked in last night with my girlfriend. Now I'm writing this review from the property's wifi. I was so thrilled about being down here on the ocean, that I decided to write this review. I saw some maintenance people on the property doing some painting. So they must be in process of making the place look nicer. Though it didn't look bad to begin with. It's a small resort on the ocean and it's cheap. The view from the ocean front is amazing. I took some pictures and uploaded them. I was able to go to the office at yellowtail and get some info on places to see while we're here. They don't have a restaurant but there was one under construction right in front of the yellowtail inn. I'm excited about the next time we come. This place will forever remain our little secret place. Great memories to come. Thank you Bonefish....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thanks for the nice review. We are working hard to make some much-needed improvements to the hotel. Thanks for the nice pictures too! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I was skeptical about booking here after reading some of the reviews. I called and spoke with a front desk person named Elijah and he was very nice. I stayed in a guest room style unit. It was small but I didn't need anything big. It was just for me and was only $129 per night with a $10 resort fee. I said "ok let's do it". I got to the resort. Registration for Bonefish Resort is at Yellowtail Inn. There I met Elijah in person and he was nice again. I stayed for three nights. I mostly stayed at the resort and just waded around the flats for hours when the tide was high. It was even better when the tide was low because I was able to collect the shells that are out there. There are lots of birds off the shore line too. They allow their guests to use Yellowtail Inn and Casa Del Sol Resort amenities too. Amazing natural location. And it was incredibly busy when I was there this past March. I met quite a few nice people who were also staying at Bonefish Resort and loved their stay. I will be coming back.

Room Tip: Park on the side of Bonefish away from the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This "resort" is a business operated, it seems, by its off-site owner and/or unavailable " hotel manager" as little other than a cash-generating Venus fly trap ensnaring the unwary traveler's credit card account.

Do not be fooled by their website! Do not book it sight/unseen!

Bonefish "resort" is an old and decaying trailer park long overdue for being shut down as a health hazard. Rot, bugs, decay -- all this for a non-refundable" cost of $175 or more per night.

I notified my credit card company I am placing the "non-refundable" overnight charge(s) -- and an entirely unauthorized charge of $22.50 posted on my departure date -- into dispute. Yes, unauthorized.

I have also made a formal written complaint (with digital photos) of our run-down room -- replete with holes punched in the wall, dead insects, and stained and torn bedding) -- with the Marathon Chamber of Commerce.

Margaret Taylor

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mctphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The resort is upkept and is in serious need of major repairs. Our deck was unsafe, the foundation of the unit was off its cement blocks and the floors tilted and doors did not shut. Parking accommodates 5-6 cars and is right off the busy highway 1, and you can't see your car from any of the motel units. The business office is located a block or so away, and they serve three motels, so there's no personal connection. I imagine the owners are nowhere near the area, which reeks of sulfur when the tide is out. We stayed only one night, and lost our money for the additional night we had booked, but it was unsuitable for habitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
9.9 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
10.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
#15 of 17 in Marathon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Resort

Property: Bonefish Resort
Address: 58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonefish resort is a quaint oceanfront motel nestled in a tropical setting, located on the island of Marathon, Florida, in the middle of Florida Keys. Rooms are decorated with an old Florida Keys charm. A sandy oceanfront picnic area, with heated swimming pool and sun bathing area are enjoyed by our guests. If you are yearning for a memorable vacation experience then make us your favorite secret in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Bonefish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Hotel Marathon
Bonefish Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing