We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Location”
Review of Bonefish Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonefish Resort
Ranked #14 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Place is nice but no Beach as advertised, no where to put in Kayaks or you cannot swim in the Atlantic Ocean. However the place is in Grassy Key not Marathon Key (Marathon is about 10 mins away). The Bonefish is quiet and rooms are big. It's okay to stay you can drive to The beach in Marathon and put your boat, jet ski or kayak in on the Gulf side across from the Shellman when you enter Marathon key.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twc3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    21
    28
    109
See reviews for
45
103
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What a run down place,looks like an upside down dumbster trailer with a door and a window ready to fall apart....just a dirty nasty place from the inside out.And good luck if you are 6 feet or taller to fit through the door.Parking is 5 feet of the freeway....Read all the reviews and stay somewhere else ...believe me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We showed up at the Bonefish Resort and was dismayed due to the debris at the entry and short buildings of the motel. My husband is 6'2" and he nearly hit his head at the entry way of the door. A sign was posted to check in at the Yellow Tail Resort which was a several yards up the road. We then walked back to see the room to find stained chairs, an unknown substance on the title floor, broken shower titles, out dated decor, extension cords plugged into extension cords and no ice machine. The lady at the counter offered us a room at the Yellowtail inn and we were very please!!!! Don't recommend bonefish resort for your stay in the keys.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The room was clean but so very old. The towels are thread bare, you can see through them. Seems there is a community of regulars there and if you are there to escape and can make due with the bare minimum, this is the place. It wasn't the place for me. The dock area is right on the water and that was spectacular. The small onsite pool looked clean.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank xyz693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We showed up at the Bonefish Resort and was dismayed due to the debris and unkept entry way. A sign was posted to check in at the Yellow Tail Resort which was a several yards down the road. They have three related motels with one check in office. I felt uncomfortable staying at the Bonefish and was accommodated at the Yellow Tail closer to the office. The woman at the front desk was very nice and didn't charge me extra for the more expensive room. Our room was clean but in need of some updating. Not much room for two people but we managed. If you're looking for posh, this isn't the place. If you're looking for a one night stay on a budget, this will do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you stay here just realize that you will be in a "Spring Break" sort of place. The ownership hasn't put any money into the up keep in what looks like decades. The bedding was disgusting with stains. I was prepared to sleep in the SUV. Would've if I hadn't brought my own linens, pillows & towels.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonya3776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
782 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
3.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Resort

Property: Bonefish Resort
Address: 58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonefish resort is a quaint oceanfront motel nestled in a tropical setting, located on the island of Marathon, Florida, in the middle of Florida Keys. Rooms are decorated with an old Florida Keys charm. A sandy oceanfront picnic area, with heated swimming pool and sun bathing area are enjoyed by our guests. If you are yearning for a memorable vacation experience then make us your favorite secret in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Bonefish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Hotel Marathon
Bonefish Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing