We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated it so much!!!”
Review of Bonefish Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonefish Resort
Ranked #15 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Hated it so much!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2006

We made reservations for 4 nights. We stayed 1. First of all, the website is very decieving. The resort was nothing like we thought. So much garbage on the so called beach. There was an out building on it's side stuck in the sand and sticking out of the ocean. We looked out the bedroom window and there was a camper on cement blocks and it looked like a dumping area. The tile in our room was broken and they had it taped down with duct tape. The laundry facilities consisted of a washer and dryer sitting on the sand with an awning over it. We ask the lady at the front desk could we have a refund because we were leaving after one night and she said no. She was very rude. This is not a resort!!!!! I don't recommend this "Resort" to anyone. We rode down to Key West which was very nice and went up to Daytona and had a great vacation there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    21
    28
    109
See reviews for
45
103
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 April 2006

Would probably give the Bonefish 2 stars if it werent for the fact that my wife was unable to complete her shower after staying there the night before...No water pressure!!! To make matters worse there was no hotel staff available until 9AM when we needed to be on the road. Also no coffee in very small rooms.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2006

We stayed at the bonefish resort from dec 24-dec 27 and loved it! Our room was adorable and the bed very comfy. The walkway area was very beautiful. Just coming off a major hurricane they really kept this place very nice. Places surrounding it were still a mess, so we could tell they really put alot of effort into cleaning it up for future visitors. As for the parking, I did not feel it was bad at all. You had a little walk to get to your room but nothing big, after all your on vacation, be outside and enjoy the view. The pool and beach area small but very intimate and that is what we were looking for. Pool was very clean everyday my daughter was in it. And very well heated as well. The sunrises were just gorgeous from the deck and beach area along with thier deck swing. I would highly reccommend this place to people looking for an economical quiet keysey type vacation.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smatzke64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2005

My family and I stayed at Bonefish in May 2003. This is an old Florida keys motel at it's best. Our room was some sort of renovated motel/trailer? Sounds scary but its not. The room was so clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The grounds are small but clean and beautiful. Lots of well kept tropical plants, a lovely hammock, a great dock on the water complete with hot tub. Parking can be challenging, but when is it not in the keys? This is a very small very well kept place. I never saw much of the staff, which to me is a good thing. We stayed in unit 14, it had a lovely private deck. Bonefish is proof that old does not have to mean dirty and dingy. If you are looking for a place that exemplifies the old Florida Keys, this place is great. If you are looking for a luxury resort with lots of action, this place is not for you. I've stayed in lots of places in the Keys that I wish I could forget. Bonefish was a pleasent suprise.

  • Stayed May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank randaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 May 2005

Rooms were small and the parking still has not changed regardless of what our firends had told us...plus the a/c was broke and the so-called pool they have, well it was filled with muck!
Not so good if you have kids, there's nothing to do, not even an eatery within walking distant. We wound up staying off the premises most of the time and if you want to take day trips to Key West or local beaches it was ok since your close to everything.
If your looking for a cheap motel on a shoestring with a bunch of crusin tennagers, well than I guess I rate it a 8.5, but if you want a memorable family vacation it gets a 2.0...drive further or stay in Islamorada.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikejw, front desk at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2007
Dear Writer
You are wrong about the pool being filled with muck. After hurricane Wilma it may have been that way for a few days, but we had no guests in our resort at that time. So you are definately wrong. Our pool is well maintained. You obviously were looking for a resort with more to offer. That means you must pay more money. Love it or hate it, that's the fact. Bonefish Resort is priced accordingly. Thank you for your review.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2005

My husband and I wanted to try the Bonefish Resort as we heard from so many people that the property was charming. Well, everyone was right. The rooms are very very clean, and quite charming.The parking situation is different now.Guests can no longer park in the narrow driveway as each parking space was converted to provide every unit with an outdoor patio furnished with a table and chairs and a charcoal grill. A brand new oceanfront swimming pool is on the property as well. The water front cabana with the swing certainly was enjoyable. The lighting in the evening is so calming too. The property is conveniently located to several restaurants, and the Dolphin Research Center. We would definitely return to the Bonefish Resort and recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 August 2004

Very disappointed , the luxury suites were some sort of trailer that would sleep 1 comfortably, and the room had a strange odor, and my son was afraid to sleep on the futon for fear of contracting something . If you are over 5'5'' , wear a crash helmet so you don't hit the fixture . Bulb was burned out anyway. No parking, no beach, nothing to write home about . Would not recommend it unless you had just spent 6 weeks in the Gobi desert. After seeing the place, tried to have our deposit refunded, but the management refused, and became very nasty about the whole deal. we stayed one night to use up of much of our deposit as possible. Moved next door the the Grassy Key Lodging , which was like heaven.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
9.9 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
10.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
#15 of 17 in Marathon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Resort

Property: Bonefish Resort
Address: 58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonefish resort is a quaint oceanfront motel nestled in a tropical setting, located on the island of Marathon, Florida, in the middle of Florida Keys. Rooms are decorated with an old Florida Keys charm. A sandy oceanfront picnic area, with heated swimming pool and sun bathing area are enjoyed by our guests. If you are yearning for a memorable vacation experience then make us your favorite secret in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Bonefish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Hotel Marathon
Bonefish Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing