We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and everything we needed...”

Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Hook’s Marina and Dive Center has been the place to get everything you need for a day on the water. We have won the TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence three years in a row now and we are here to show you the best time here in the Florida Keys. Charters for fishing, diving, snorkeling, dive instruction and certification; bait and tackle; scuba equipment and air tanks; boat rentals; snacks and beverages—we have all the supplies you’ll need to enjoy an area celebrated for world-class fishing, diving and all water sports. We now offer paddleboard and kayak rentals and tours, and kiteboarding too! Check with our staff to see when the next sunset cruise will be departing...they are great fun.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Rented a house half of a mile from this place. We enjoyed going in there every day to get our bait, gas and on the last day, we couldn't leave without a Captain Hook's shirt. They really helped make our week in the Keys better. Thanks guys!

Oh yeah, don't miss the pond feedings out front (sharks, eels, coral fisn, stingray etc)... pretty cool!

1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are glad you decided to come in. Thank you for letting vacationers/visitors know about our T-Shirts and our feeding pond. My sister tries to make sure our T-Shirts are special "Captain Hook's" one of a kind shirts by working with a number of artists and companies to get those unique tees. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you back here del soon. Thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I went w/my teen children and my teen neice/nephew. We had a blast! We were in awe the entire time. The crew was very friendly and helpful and kept an eye on everyone in the water. We had a sea turtle following us and playing around us and it was just amazing!
We can't say enough about it! Very professional, very reasonably priced, and best part is the memories! Thanks much and we WILL be back and recommend this place to everyone!

RKO
Indian Rocks Beach, Fl

1  Thank Rhonda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Sea turtles are one of our most precious creatures in Marathon. We, over the years, have been a part of several sea turtle rescues and releases back to the ocean. Some are injured by boats and some develop tumors that cover the eyes and mouth which over time can lead to starvation. We have here in Marathon, The Turtle Hospital. They are known for the care and study of sea turtles and are the local and possibly national authority on sea turtles. They are the ones that rehabilitate the turtles and release them back into the ocean often with the group or individual that rescued the turtle in the first place. Thank you so much for the nice review and please do come to see us again...there is lots to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We really enjoyed our snorkel and diving trip with Captain Hook's. They treated us like family from the moment we stepped in the door. Our daughters did the Dive Discovery with Denise and had a wonderful experience. Just hate we had windy weather all week and could only go out the last day of our vacation. We are already making plans to return. The price and hospitality can not be beat! This was the highlight of our Key's Vacation.

Thank dizzneegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Please do come back. We did have a few fronts come through this spring that did kick up the wind. The wind is a dive shop's worst enemy. Fortunately, for us, it is rare in the Keys but it does happen. We were glad you got the opportunity to get out diving and snorkeling and we are looking forward to having you back. Thank you for writing a review on Captain Hook's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excelente dive center, equipe de terra e equipe de mar, sempre simpaticos, atenciosos e eficientes. Destaque para Meagean (loja), Katherine (dive master), Bob (loja), Denise (dive master) e Jeff (dive master). Foram 3 dias de mergulho, 8 pontos, em dois barcos diferentes, sempre com alta qualidade, visitando recifes lindos.

Excellent dive center, ground staff and crew sea, always friendly, attentive and efficient. Highlight for Meagean (shop), Katherine (dive master), Bob (owner), Denise (dive master) and Jeff (dive master). There were 3 days of diving, 8 points in two different boats, all with high quality, visiting beautiful reefs.

Thank JOtavioLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We will let our crew know that they were appreciated and we are glad you have a good time diving with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to have you back at Captain Hook's real soon. It looks like you are close to Marathon...you many want to try our other waterspouts as well like SUP Paddleboarding, Kayaking, or Waverunners. If you are a diver and the seas are rough, these activities make for a great way to still get on the water in a near-shore environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The twilight dive that we did with Captain Hook's was top-notch and I would recommend that anyone looking for a dive operation in Marathon look no further. Everyone, both in the dive shop and on the boat, was amazingly friendly and helpful. My dive buddy hadn't been in the water in quite some time and had never done a night dive, but the staff put him completely at ease and we had two picture perfect dives. Denise and Kathleen were our dive masters and Mike and Mike were our captains, and they were the perfect combination of knowledgeable and professional, but also wonderfully fun. Checking in was a breeze, the boat left the dock right on time and we were in the water for our first dive in no time at all. Reef conditions were fantastic with great visibility, and it's clear that the dive masters know their way around the reefs like the backs of their hands. Having the dive masters in the water with us was wonderful as they were able to point out things we might otherwise have overlooked. We were lucky enough to see everything from a medium sized southern ray, 3 giant moray eels, several large puffer fish, innumerable lobster (some caught in the act of making baby lobsters) and tropical fish galore. After our first dive we watched the beautiful keys sunset from on board the boat, got our safety briefing for the night dive and then hopped back in the water for our night dive. The safety briefing was comprehensive and easy to digest and we felt totally at ease the entire time. It's a different world on the reef at night, and again Denise and Kathleen made sure we saw all there was to see. Once back on board the boat after our second dive, we got to star gaze and enjoy the relaxing ride in. I can't think of a better way to spend an evening, and I can't think of a better outfit to dive with.

Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

WOW! Thank you so much for the great review and the time you took to write it. It is not always easy to spend the time to write a review but we are sure glad you did. Thank you for your endorsement, it means a lot. We always felt that doing a night dive was a great way to spend an evening because of the diversity of the Marathon reefs but with a twist and the drastic changes to the same reef location in just a matter of minutes. It is like two worlds both exciting. The time in-between is nice too, with often an awe inspiring Key's sunset. We are glad you came to Captain Hook's and hope to see you soon again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing