We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great owner, clean place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranch House Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranch House Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Southwest MO
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great owner, clean place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed at the Ranch House in November 2012. The owner was incredibly helpful and friendly. Offered us a cold beverage upon our arrival, apologized for not having any homemade pie left to share with us! :) Rooms are simple, but very clean. Only place I have ever stayed where the sheets smelled fabulous! Sounds crazy, right? I loved it, though! I took it as sign that they were super clean! :) Not far from the Turtle Hospital and all things Marathon.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carpenter3455
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

:-) :-) call in advance to make reservations. Dian has two rooms with full kitchens. Dian will give you directions to all the places found in the pictures. Sombrero Beach is only 2 miles away, they have showers picnic tables and charcoal grills. For $45 you can go on a 4 hour fishing trip to the reefs on the Marathon Lady. $5 more rents you a rod and real, make reservation for the stern ahead of time at no extra costs.

Room Tip: Room #11 is the biggest with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpenter3455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a beautiful little Motel. The owner was vet helpful and told us lots of information about the local area. Our room was small but clean and tidy. Free WI-FI is available but unfortunately when my wife and I stayed it was broken which was a shame. If you plan to stay in Marathon look not further than this Motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

from the outside, the ranch house looks like a typical motel....but the rooms are very clean and comfortable. the service was great.. diana, the property owner, was so helpful! she told us where would could see key deer, places to eat and gave us a taste of 2 things....1. a home grown banana off her tree and 2. her OWN HOME MADE key lime pie.....her pie is excellent and she even gave me the receipe.....if you are looking for a motel that is in a great location, has friendly and helpful owners and clean, choose the ranch house.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We (2 seniors) stayed at the Ranch House Motel from March 6 -14, 2012. This place is not the Hyatt but what it lacks in ambiance it makes up for in friendliness and desire to please by the owner, Diana. Our air conditioner was very loud and she insisted on buying a new one, which she did, and replaced ours in 24 hours (after we insisted she not do so for 3 days). Our room was very clean, bathroom spotless, fresh towels daily. Wifi was very spotty in our room but stepping outside and sitting at a picnic table did the trick every time. There is a small frig and microwave, adequate for reheating leftovers from plentiful restaurant portions. Traffic on the weekend can be a bit noisy with the motorcycles flying by, but the clientelle were very well behaved. This is not a kids place. There is a shuffleboard court but not much else. . . no really good place to play. I would definitely recommend it for adults who are on a budget and want a nice clean and hospitable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPELC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Yes this is a no frills motel but it was absolutely spotless. The owner,Diana was friendly and accomodating in every sense. Yes she has a following of visitors who return every time they visit Marathon so book in advance. I would definitely recommend her wonderful hospitality and looking forward to stay at this motel on my next visit to the Keys.

Room Tip: Since there aren't many rooms, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corona980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

We found this to be an extremely clean, no frills hotel; with an extraordinary family running it. They were the type of folks who brought new meaning to the word helpful! Very Refreshing!

Ok, so in the interest of full disclosure, I'm a "girlie girl". However, I don't think it's too much to ask to have shampoo, conditioner and lotion as part of the amenities! I went to go and wash my hair only to find no shampoo! It's been years since I had to travel with those toiletries because the hotel always provided them.... Well - not this hotel. You get a bar of soap a bit larger than a postage stamp - and that is it! No coffee maker, wireless Internet or in-room phone (to ask management to handle noisy neighbors).

This place could use a makeover! The window in our room had a shutter over it, so you couldnt even see outside. This was a problem for me. I have to be able to see more than the cement walls in our room! I want to see outdoors! So even though the staff was terrific, and our room was clean; I don't see us staying there again until certain upgrades are completed.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travelinFoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
6.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranch House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch House Motel

Property: Ranch House Motel
Address: 7251 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3134
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ranch House Hotel Marathon
Ranch House Motel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing