We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They claim to be the Friendliest Camping Resort and they are!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jolly Roger RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed the entire month of January and didn't want to leave, so next year we are staying 2 Months! It is Clean, Quiet, and Great Views of Florida Bay! Activities almost Daily. It is a Great place to stay for visiting Key West or any of the Keys.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Showers are not adjustable. Just returned from our first stay at JR. The entire family loved it. We booked seawall, took our pop-up, our 3 kids and a dog. The staff is amazing, super friendly and bend over backwards helpful. The park was honestly one of the quietest parks at night where we have slept EVER. We felt like we were the noisiest people around, and we are not noisy. Great dog rules, lots of dog play. Super interesting sea life to watch and take pictures of: small lobsters, octopi, nurse sharks, all kinds of fish. The kids had a BLAST. The bathrooms were very obviously recently redone. They were immaculate. Our only issue was that there water saving shower devices are basically glorified beach showers. They are press button and not adjustable in temperature. For most of us, they were perfect (VERY warm to hot), but my husband has special issues and needs very hot water. He could not get it to the temperature he needed to prevent his skin issues from flaring up. It's really too bad that they don't allow the guest to choose the temp, but it's a great water conservation effort that I approve of overall. So, if you are a tent camper or need a shower, that's our only heads up to an otherwise PERFECT vacation place. Great location - an hour from Key West, next to Dolphin Research Center, close to 7 mi bridge and Pigeon Key, and not too far from Publix, Walgreens, etc.

**Oh, and the office is open until 5pm, make sure you bring laundry soap or buy it from the office during the daytime or a night of laundry catch up can be foiled.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Last year we booked a night at the Jolly Roger, every day we added another night to our stay. After a week we had to move on but called in the Spring to reserve a space. Most "travel parks" are parking lots, not the Jolly Roger. You are surrounded by green lawn and tropical trees. On most days there is a breeze from the Gulf of Mexico. You can swim or snorkel in a protected area or sun bathe beside then go for a dip in the Jolly Roger's salt-water pool. This past year the bath rooms under went a renovation, as well.

Not only are the facilities first rate but also are the staff. Every day they provide assistance in the office and during peak season they organize and support tenant social activities. You would not want to miss the monthly fish fry and/or bar be que, the wine tastings and friendly but low-key social events. The Jolly Roger is a treasure! If you are looking for motel or RV accommodations on the keys you will not find a more pleasant spot nor staff.

Room Tip: Callwell in advance as both rooms and spaces fill up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We managed to book into Jolly Roger Travel Park at the last minute and were so pleased with what we found. We had a premium site, which was spacious and well maintained. The shower and restrooms were the best we have ever come across and spotless, the salt water pool was perfect . The whole park is well laid out and the staff go above and beyond to be helpful.

Our only complaint was the run down look and mess caused by some of the campers in the older section of the park which made it looks like "trailer trash"

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed at Jolly Roger park mulitple times and just recently returned on our way to Key West February 5th. They have just updated the shower rooms and they are FANTASTIC. May be some of the best I have seen at any RV park. Lots of space and everything was top of the line. Last year they put in the new pool and surrounding area and now this really tops it off. the staff has always been top notch and attentive. We have stayed here at least 6 times in the last year and just love it. Most of the restaurants are a drive away but there is the "Wreck" bar and grille that is walking distance and has excellent food and service. We will be doing a review on that soon. Jolly Roge also takes Good Sam discount and Passport America. Just can't beat it as far as we are concerned.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms available but we have not used this service as of yet. There is no fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here in a 40ft motorhome on our first trip to the Keys and loved it! The park is clean and has real grass which seemed rare at other parks. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us to extend our stay. The pool, docks, and bark park are great amenities. We own a campground in the Midwest and this will now be our favorite winter getaway! The park has great atmosphere and thanks to all staff!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We rented an RV from Miami and travelled down the Florida Keys and through the Everglades. This was the best private RV park of the whole stay. Friendly and extremely helpful staff, lovely views and right next to the ocean. Quiet, attractive, clean and well kept site and pool. Good landscaping and the bays all had a reasonable amount of space around them including your own bench/table. The price was excellent too, and for us was one of the most reasonable along the Keys. Enjoyed walking along the dock and watching the sunset. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIlver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
11 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
10.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
10.8 mi away
Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina
10.7 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger RV Resort

Address: 59275 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6007
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 188
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Travel Park Hotel Marathon
Jolly Roger RV Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing