We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearsons2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vandalia, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pearsons2011”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just returned home from our second stay at Captain Pips. The location is great and the accomodations are super clean. The rooms could use some updating and fixing up, but still a very nice place to stay. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. We took a fishing trip with Howard and Tom. We brought in 20 snappers! Wow! Kept us in food for a few days. Tom tried his hardest to help us bring in a grouper, but I just wasn't strong enough. There was a daily visitor, a manatee, that really enjoyed the attention. Again, if you are looking for a nice getaway, Captain Pips is your place! My son really enjoyed a man who works on the grounds. He says Hi, Omar!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    130
    31
    17
    18
See reviews for
147
204
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We love Captain Pips, Porkys Bayside and especially the owners and staff so much that we got married there! Always outstanding accommodations, great food and great service here. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captmikefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We were just in Marathon for Thanksgiving and thanks to Captain Howard Kelley and Tom Beck (also a Captain), we were able to dine on delicious triple tail for Thanksgiving dinner. But I digress; before we caught the triple tail, we spent all day hauling in mahi! Howard wasted no time getting us to the fish and with Tom's organization and helpful direction, we four land lubbers were reeling in the catch. On our way back in, Tom and Howard spotted the triple tail and told us we couldn't pass up the opportunity to catch some- proof that these guys are serious about making sure you have a good time and they're serious about their fish.

The administrative side of the house is fabulous and professional as well-- I'd dropped our camera on the deck of the boat, so we couldn't take any pictures of our haul. Enter Ellie, who took pictures and emailed them to us right away.

If none of the reasons listed above convince you to try Captain Pip's, then consider this: after working all day, making sure a bunch of tourists from Atlanta didn't hook each other or fall over, Howard filleted every. single. fish we hauled in, bagged it and prepped it all for us to ship home. He was at it for over two hours, making conversation with my brother and father the whole time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAJeepGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back next year. Thanks to you and all your staff (especially Jessie and Tom) for making our stay a pleasant experience. We also all the meals at Porky's..everthing we eat was well prepared and generous portiions. Had a lots of fun at the Halloween Party. Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Two weeks ago was my fifth time staying at Captain Pip's in the past two years and I look forward to it every time I go. It is not a 5 star hotel but it is a comfortable, clean, friendly little spot, hidden in the Keys, where you can go and enjoy some of the best saltwater fishing in the country.
For the price you cannot beat the fact that you have a nice spot to stay (I always stay in the efficiencies) and a nice center console boat. Add to that the fact that you can cook your own catch in your kitchen or on one of the grills outside, or, if you're too lazy (like I often am) you can bring it over to Porky's and get it in a few different ways.
I've never had a problem with the staff and they are extremely accomdating. For example, this year I ran into problems with Hurrican Irene making it impossible for me to get down there and Barbara worked with me to reschedule and even though it was last minute, I was able to use my deposit towards the rescheduled date. The dockside staff is also very helpfull and full of tips for you. I admit, I have had problems with a boats here and there, but nothing beyond what any boat owner would experience, and the staff always had me back on the water and fishing in no time.
Location, Location, Location. It's right next to the Seven Mile Bridge, so if the weather is a little too windy, you can usually go fishing on the Florida Bay side, but if you want to fish the reef, a trip under the bridge to the reef side is about 5 minutes. Another 20 to the reef, depending on the weather, and then the fishing fun begins.
Like I said, I have stayed there five times now, only for fishing trips. Anywhere from 1-5 of my friends/family with me. I have spent days there where the weather is just totally uncooperative, but the location gives you plenty of other option: bridge fishing, sightseeing, lounging and enjoying cocktails. And Porky's is always a favorite spot for me for eating, drinking, and listening to some great local musicians. The staff there is, without a doubt, the greatest. Somehow they always seem to remember me (I'll credit that to their great memory and not my unforgettable personailty).
Fishing trips are what bring me down there, and if you are new to the area, or want to target a specific species, they offer guides, or full charters for a comparable price to other local charters. I have not taken a charter but have used their guides on occasion and have always learned something and caught plenty of fish. Coming from New Jersey, fishing the Keys is quite different, and I would recommend using a guide if it's your first time down there, or you'll be lost.
The one and only complaint I would have is that I wish the chum and bait prices were cheaper for those staying there. It becomes a bit of pain to have to stock up on some things the day before, or wait until the local shops open in the morning. Other than that, no compaints, and I look forward to visting again. Hopefully soon!

Room Tip: I always stay in the Sombrero Efficency, though my friends have stayed in other rooms. I just like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottm7360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI NY
Level Contributor
232 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We've went 2 years in a row,around march.March can be windy. But we did pretty good. The rooms are run down,but its about the fishing.They all have full size fridge. You rent the boats for the day with the room.If you want to rent a boat & stay somewhere else you can do that to.Porkys is right there,foods pretty good,nothing fancy.We would go back.We like the set up.Price is pretty good,with room & boat.Love fishing in the keys.You do need to know how to operate the boats they have good gps.

Room Tip: You can bring your own rods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I will never use Capt. Pips again. While my family was visiting Marathon, we decide to rent a boat and enjoy the beautiful waters of the middle keys. After some research we decided to go with Capt. Pips.  I should have known that something was going on when the person at the dock informed us that the fuel gage was broken. Also the English women at the front desk was extremely rude and condescending.

We went out for a whole day but mostly just fished at one spot on the 7 mile bridge. When we returned the gas bill was over $300 dollars! This was how much the boat was to rent! I felt that my family and I were taken full advantage of. We never got further then 1 mile of Capt. Pips. I will never use you guys again and would appreciate it if you take me off your e-mail list.

Unhappy customer 

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wcgandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorkysBBQ, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
This reviewer and his family rented a 24ft Cape Horn with twin 150HP Yamaha engines
on February 27 of this year.

Their recorded float plan was to go out to the reef to snorkel and fish, and they rented snorkel gear from us to do that. The reef is 5 miles out into the ocean. The fuel used was 63.4 gallons at the rate of $4.57/gallon at that time, so the actual fuel cost was $289.74. Although some of the fuel guages are not working, we do make sure that each boat is completely full of fuel before it leaves the dock. When a customer comes in, they pay for the fuel that they used that day. With 5 people onboard the boat and a trip out to the reef to snorkel, plus trolling for fish with two engines the fuel used is not out of the ordinary.

We are sorry that he had a bad experience with us, but we really do not rip anyone off. We cannot control the cost of fuel unfortunately, and it has been very high in the last several months all over the country.

We did send one of our newsletters out to him before we knew that he was upset with the fuel cost. We have since removed him from our email newsletter list, and will not send any more to him (per his request).

There was never any intent to be rude or condesending to him, and I must apologize personally for any actions on my part that gave him cause to feel that way.

The majority of our customers are very happy with their experience with our boats, and with all of us (myself included) here at Captain Pip's. We strive to make everyone's time with us as much fun as possible, with as little hassle as possible. Unfortunately, only a few of the happy customers post a note online, but they do come back to us time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
13.4 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Property: Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Address: 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing