We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 days in paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“6 days in paradise!”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The wife and I just got back from an awesome time at Capt. Pip's. We've been to Marathon previously on other vacations and fished out of Pip's. This time we decided to cut out the "middle man" and stay at Pip's. It was worth it 100%! Our room was clean and had a million dollar view. For the price, an unbeatable deal.

Fishing was one of our goals. We wanted to get way out there, and go after the "Big ones". (we catch plenty of little ones at home). Needless to say the weather gods (wind) worked against us. We could have used our provided boat (Nice boat with T top, 150 four stroke Yamaha). But decided to play it safe, and live to fish another day.

The staff was awesome all the way around. Can't say enough about the food and staff at Porky's. Thanksgiving fried turkey was great!

This place has it figured out. You can really enjoy a vacation here..We met some great "fellow" vacationers, who all seemed to enjoy this place as much as we did.
Mark & Marcie U.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkTUlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    124
    31
    16
    17
See reviews for
145
193
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

We always choose Pips for our stays in Marathon.
Rooms are spotless. Boat rental is included in the price. They are very close to 7 mile bridge. If you are a fisherman this is the place to stay!
Matt was very helpful with anything to do w the boat.
Porky's restaurant is also very good!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowhead County, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Captain Pip's. The rooms were quaint and rustic, lending to a charming atmosphere. Everything looked clean and welcoming. After the bustle of touring Key West, it was so good to relax and hang out at Porky's where we felt right at home. The fried Key Lime Pie was a favourite. The live entertainment was superb and put us at ease. If we ever come back, this will be a place to come back to. We want to thank everyone there for a most memorable experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I have been vacationing in Marathon for 20 years. When we found Captain Pip's about 8 years ago, we have never stayed anyplace else. We have never been disappointed with anything (except bad weather) in all of those years. We have enjoyed our relationships with everyone at the resort, Barb, Ellie, Johnny, the guys in the marina, and even the folks at Porky's. We have stayed in several different rooms over the years and really love that they are so clean and "old Keys comfortable". As for the boats, just realize that they receive heavy use and sometimes abused by folks that are nautically challenged. The guys in the marina are always quick to respond if there is a problem and can often give some "fishy" advice on good spots. We will continue to return every year for as long as we can hold a fishing pole or strap on a scuba tank.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspectorman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Great service, advice and friendly people! The four of us spent two days snorkeling and fishing. The boats ran smoothly. We had good directions to locate snorkel spot and fishing on our second day. The people were so friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbieann04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012

If you come to the Keys you have to get on the water! Whether you want to captain your own boat or go with a guide, Captain Pip's is the place. They were friendly and helpful telling us the best places to snorkel or fish. We did both and had an awesome time. After a day on the water, enjoy a great meal at Porky's next door. Great food and live music!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I rented a boat from Capt. Pips for a day snorkeling/fishing/boat touring day. Ellie in the office was very helpful! Ellie had a great chart and took her time expelling to us how to use the chart and where to go to fish and snorkel. Jamie, at the dock was very helpful showing us how to use the boat, GPS, and depth finder. He also help us tie off when we returned for the day. Very good experience!!

Room Tip: Did not stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margiek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
13.4 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Property: Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Address: 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing