We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality is what you find at Pips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
happyville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality is what you find at Pips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you're going fishing, diving, or lobster hunting and want accommodations and a boat package at a very reasonable price...you just found it. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful. The owner gave us whatever we required to meet our needs and when it didn't fit the mold, she broke the mold. The boat guys couldn't have more friendly or helpful even when tired at the end of a long day. The lady who cleaned our rooms was like someone out of a story book. We even met kind and helpful neighbors who helped us improve our lobstering skills and showed us some "hot spots" for hunting. This probably isn't the place to take the kids for a relaxing week at the beach...there's no beach. But if you want a boat, a very nice clean room, and hassle free hospitality, You've arrived.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have an ocean view, but then you're not there to stay in your room and stare o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    114
    26
    16
    16
See reviews for
138
176
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Arrived from Kingwood, Texas on 09/19/2013. Checked in with Ellie at the "tool shed" (when you get there you will understand :) Got the rundown and keys to our "Tree Tops" apartment. Very pleased with the decor, location and beautiful grounds with grill and hammoc. We had a two bedroom, two bath which was great has we had our 23 and 20 year old daughter and son.
Rental includes a well maintained 21 ft center console Cape Horn which is a very seaworthy craft. Porkey's bar and grill is on the property and is a great place to see the local's in action. Had a great time, recommend to anyone especially families.

Room Tip: All room are great. If you want a little more privacy get a second floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marineone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Best bang for the buck...... Staff was extremely gracious and extremely knowledgeable All the equipment was top quality perfect working order Maps provided for snorkeling / diving / fishing and eating. Next time I would rent for the week not just the day. Location was perfect next to the seven mile bridge good land mark

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Man, do I love this place! No where in the whole chain of keys can you even come close to getting a room AND a boat for $1335 a week. It's not a brand new Hilton, but it's "wife approved" and she gladly stays here without a hint of complaint because it's very clean, looks nice and everything works well. You don't get a dinky, underpowered boat either; these are sturdy, wide beam 20' footers that are very forgiving of smart boaters who don't necessarily drive the ocean everyday. No, it's not a brand new 29' Grady-White, get over it, everything works, week after week, and it's dirt cheap. Four stroke Yamaha's are decent on gas as well, we spent about $200 for the week, tooling around, fishing, snorkeling and picking up lobster. Ice, bait and equipment are on the dock, as is Porky's restaurant. At the end of the day, We just throw our gear on the dock, hose it off and go for a beer and some live music. We pick up our gear on the way back to the room. With a convenience store across the street, other bars and restaurants and seven mile bridge within walking distance, we hardly used the car at all. This is as close to Keys living as you can get without moving; you can really unwind and forget about stuff here. We've stayed here 4 times and never had the first problem of any kind. In fact, we usually pick up a bonus of some sort. One year, I made a local friend at the bar and he took me fishing in his boat the next day; that man could catch yellowtail all day! Ellie gives you a few good reef fishing numbers on a paper chart when you check in as well. She runs the office with European charm and the efficiency of a Sergeant Major; she's a great ambassador and you don't find help like that in the Keys everyday. Pip's is definitely worth a look for those that don't want to trailer their boat or don't have one and it's a cheap, convenient place to stay on Marathon. Do your homework, you won't find anything better for the price. In fact, I've paid way more for a lot less.

Room Tip: The "guestrooms" are charming, cheap, have two beds, full fridge, coffee and microwave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This past weekend, we rented the hurricane boat from Captain Pips. The boat was pretty well worn, including a major crack in the floor, doors that did not close well and cushions that would not stay in place because they were held only by some old Velcro tape. The boat operated well and we had no problems during usage, but it was definitely not as nice as the last one we rented from Bud N' Mary's in Islamorada. After spending $300 plus fuel for the boat rental, they tacked on another $5.00 charge for a diving flag which was never disclosed as an additional charge. Then, they discovered some minor damage which I could not dispute as I had not inspected the propeller before or during our rental. To be clear, I am not asserting that there was any fraud here. After waiting 25 minutes for them to figure out how much to charge me, we paid for the damage and returned to our hotel. I then looked up the prices of some of the parts that we paid for and realized that we had been overcharged. Although I was told they had dozens of spare parts and probably get them at wholesale prices, and they fixed the problem in under 5 minutes, they charged us 20% more than what they retail prices were online for the same or comparable parts.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bpabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks for choosing to rent a boat from Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway and thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. We work hard to make sure all our customers have a great boat rental experience and we understand that sometimes accidents do happen. Our equipment damage and replacement prices are set to reimburse us for the expense of repairing or replacing these items. In this case, it appears the customer didn't have the best boating day. Here's a list of damages and the associated costs: Skeg replacement: $75, Prop hub: $75, Aluminum Prop Replacement: $185, Anchor replacement: $55. With the amount of damage to the skeg and prop, chances are good this renter has reduced the life of the lower unit (which had only been out three times prior) considerably. In fact, the renter who took the boat after this customer said we should have charged the customer more. We try to be fair in all our dealings with customers. In this case, we'll eventually end up spending another $2,000 for a new lower unit because of this customer's bad boating day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was our first fishing trip to the Keys. We spent a lot of time researching different resorts in Key Largo, Marathon, and Islamorada. We decided on Captain Pips due to the room w/ a kitchen and the included boat. It really was the best deal. Yes, this is an "old Florida" style place- so if you are expecting the Ritz you will be disappointed. This is a place to come if you want to relax, simplify, and enjoy your time on the boat. That being said, it was very clean and comfortable. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful with fishing and boating advice. The staff helped make our vacation a success by sending us to some great fishing spots with some good advice. Porky's is great for a quick bite.

Only extra note: If you are a light speaker, speak to someone before booking. Our room had the AC unit right over the bed and it needs to run all night to keep the humidity/heat out of the room. If you are a light sleeper, this could keep you up. It didn't bother us and I don't know where the unit is located in other rooms, but this is common in a lot of older FL hotel rooms.

Thanks for a great trip- we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annmarieFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

we found PIPS in may 2005 have been going back every year since.
its clean and friendly and well placed for great fishing.
the boats are well maintained and clean also upgraded on a regular basis.
and after a long hot days fishing you can dock the boat and grab a pitcher beer in porkys.
cant wait till next may

Room Tip: if you want to dine outside choose a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Property: Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Address: 1410 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive between 10%-50% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks. See the Seven Mile Bridge & historic Pigeon Key Island from the air onboard our new 31ft Oceanpro Parasail boat "Seven Mile High Club". World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing