We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomadations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

New owner is making some positive changes.new boat motors, air conditioners,furniture. The staff is knowledgable and willing to give fishing information and things to do. Close to the best restaurants and places to go.

Room Tip: Apartments are very spacious. Bottom floor apt doesn't have overhead noise as some apts in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Rented a boat for a full day and it was in just basic marginal condition. It is older and really should be taken our to servcice for the $300 basic charge. The crowning blow is being asked to rinse down the boat upon return. If Hertz, or any rental company, required their clientele to wash or rise a returning automobile they would be marginalized. I have rented many boats in the Florida Keys and have never been asked to rinse the boat upon return. I suggest any renter look for other rental options in Marathon!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travlerfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are sorry that this renter did not enjoy his boat rental day with us. We have replaced the majority of our boat engines with brand new 4 stroke Yamahas over the last few weeks. Most of our boats are fairly recent models, and the few older boats that we have in the fleet have recent model engines (if not brand new). These are rental boats however, and unfortunately people don't always take the same care of them as they might take on their own boats. Unlike car rentals though, the boats can be returned covered in fish blood and guts, not to mention salt from the water. Our policy (like most boat rental companies) is that the renter wash down their boat when they are finished with it. Most of our renters are fine with this policy as they would do the same with their own boat when they were finished for the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is our 3rd time to either stay at Captain Pips or rent a boat from them. We stayed in the Treetops room and it was very clean, however there were a few minor annoyances. You can hear clear conversations of neighboring guests through the walls. Even though the rooms have microwaves and coffee makers, you have to unplug one to use the other, turning the coffee off to microwave anything. The mattresses leave a little to be desired and the beds are not connected to a headboard, and tend to roll and move, bumping the headboard against the wall when you turn over in bed. We had a toaster in our room that did not work (I forgot to tell the office staff before we left). We never could get our devices to connect to the WiFi, but didn't really need it.
The accommodations are no frills but the office staff is friendly and helpful. We rented a boat for one of our days there and the dock staff was great and the boat functioned fine. We will probably stay there again to see if the new owners have upgraded additionally since this visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKHut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate the feedback. We are sorry that you had some problems with the room, but we are in the process of updating & upgrading pretty much everything here right now so will rectify all these issues. We have new furniture (for every room) ordered & should be delivered in the next couple off weeks, so that will make the mattress situation much better for our next guests. We will make sure that any headboards are connected to prevent noises when moving around. We were not aware that the toaster did not work, but will be replacing that immediately. We will definitely be checking into the elctrical issue & fixing that too. The wi-fi router is in the room right next door to this one, so the signal strength is usually excellent & no-one has experienced difficulties with it at all so far. If the guests next door were to unplug it though, that would shut the signal off. We're sorry that you had issues with that.
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our 4th trip renting a apartment and boat at Captain Pip's over a ten year period. The apartments have always been spotless, they are furnished and I loved the new amenities, especially having some coffee there to get you going in the morning. The new owner is doing a really nice job shining and refurbishing this gem in the Keys, we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegB8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the nice review, we really appreciate it. Since the new owner has taken over there have been so many improvements already, both to the rooms & property in general and also to our boats. We still have plans for many more improvements too, so by the time that you come back again next year you will be even happier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful in planning our boating adventure. Very thorough with safety instructions and mapping out our day. The snorkeling was amazing as was the private island beach stop. Price was very affordable for 2 families to share. The best part was having the boat all day so we could explore the Keys on our own. The cost of a snorkeling trip for 9 people would have been around same price as the boat rental except we had the boat all day and did not have to deal with 50 people on the party snorkeling trip.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel. Just rented a boat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We always try our best to make sure that all our guests have a great time. We have just replaced the engines on several of our boats with brand new 4 stroke Yamahas too, so even better for everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently rented a boat from Captain Pip's during our stay in Marathon. We rented a boat over three non-consecutive days and it was a great experience. The boats were good... although the last one we rented will probably be mothballed when they start to replace their fleet in the coming months. The twin engine, if you know how to operate it, is a great boat. The dock hands were very friendly, laid back, and helpful. The front office staff were excellent, and explained everything we needed to know, including the various charges. Note that marine gas prices are WAY more than car gas, so be prepared if all you do is cruise. Best use for the boats, and to cut down on fuel costs, is to head out to Sombrero Reef... short distance... fish along 7 mile bridge... and then head over to the opposite side of the bridge from Pip's, Atlantic side, and anchor in three feet of water and hang out. Beautiful clear water... and calm. Here's another tip: if you want to fish for Mahi Mahi (Dolphin) head straight out from the Sombrero Reef lighthouse about another 3 miles in 500- 600 feet of water. Look for floating debris of any kind (grass, cooler tops, etc.), and that's where you will most likely find them. Pinfish seem like good bait. Again, great experience with Pip's, and we met the new owner, Ernie. He's a businessman who is transforming Captain Pip's into a first class operation, with plans to replace the fleet starting this year. Great guy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the review, we're really glad that you had a great time renting our boats. We are in the process of replacing engines right now actually - we just had 6 brand new 4 stroke Yamahas arrive a week ago. We will also be getting in some more boats in the upcoming months too. Sorry about the price of fuel, it's always more on the water than in your car and it can be a big surprise to people who aren't familiar with that. The new owner has been making many improvements and upgrades to the whole place as well as the boats in the short time that he has owned Captain Pip's, and everyone is definitely liking it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our second trip to Captain Pip's. After the wonderful time we had last year my husband & I decided we were going to bring our parents back. We were there at the end of May & I have to say it was nice to see both of our parents enjoy themselves. Of course we also did too. The apartment we stayed in was very clean & comfortable & perfect for the 6 of us. We ended everyday at the restuarant to have a drink & listen to the entertainment followed by sunset out on the dock with conversation about how we enjoyed the day. The staff is very friendly & helpful. We will be back again very soon.

Barbara & Bobby

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We're glad that you all had a great time with us again this year! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really do appreciate it. We'll look forward to seeing you again next yera hopefully!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.9 mi away
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
1.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Address: 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £74 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing