We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“find what floats your boat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“find what floats your boat!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Captain Pips! the secret of Marathon, small with only 15 rooms, docks, and boats to rent, the perfect place for you to escape to. Weather you live in Florida or somewhere else, this is a great place! The rooms are very clean and have all that you need. If you want fancy, this is not the place to go, you go to Pips to have a real vacation and relax, enjoy your surroundings.

Room Tip: all rooms are very clean, the boats are big enough to get it done, fish. dive, snorkel. All employe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review, we really do appreciate it! We are a small resort with only a few rooms, with an "Old Florida" feel to the place. If you are looking for a big cookie cutter chain hotel we are definitely not the place for you, but if you would like something cosy, clean and hidden away then give us a call! We also have boat rentals, paddleboard & kayaks for rent too. All our rooms have brand new furniture, brand new flat screen tvs & new a/c units (super quiet). The buildings themselves have been painted pretty tropical colors. Our fleet of well maintained power boats have brand new 4 stroke Yamaha engines on 90% of the boats. The paddleboards & kayaks are new too. We have lots to offer for your Florida Keys vacation - give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    130
    31
    17
    18
See reviews for
147
203
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The pics online are as misleading as can be! Very dirty to the point that I wasn't comfortable taking my shoes off. Carpet was stained everywhere. Staff said even though there were horrible stains, it was clean. That didn't make me feel any better. I would have slept in my car if it was cool outside. I wanted to leave right when I got there, but they would not let me get my money back. I strongly urge NOONE to stay here, I am for sure you will be very disappointed!! Here are the pics I took of the room:

IMG_2759.JPG
IMG_2808.JPG
IMG_2806.JPG
Not sure if the pics can be opened or not, but if anyone is interested in seeing the pics feel free to email me and I'd be happy to send them to you. Here it is:
utvols_21@yahoo.com

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay with us. The pictures that we post online are very accurate, however, and all anyone needs to do is read the other reviews to see how our resort really is. We have replaced ALL the furniture in every room, so this guest had new everything in his room, with the exception of the carpet. We only have 2 rooms with carpet & they are scheduled to have bamboo floors put down in the next couple of weeks. We simply have not been able to get that done just yet, with all the other renovations & replacements that have been going on since the new owner took over in May. We hope that anyone reading this review will take the time to chekc out the other ones posted to get a real feel for the place. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked on hotwire.com as condo with small kitchen. When I contacted the owner he said that there in no kitchen on the room booked...
He confirmed me a double room on first floor.
The situation on the Keys was great (easy to reach Key West, amazing beach).
We arrive at 7pm the reception was closed (I just found an enveloppe and indications), I tried several times to phone him ...no answer. We get lost and wait for hours....(with the baby in the car). Finally we found help at the closest restaurant (Porky's), a really nice waitress show me how to get to the room. And bad surprise...it was on the second floor. The room was just okay with a beautiful on the marina but not really clean (rust in the fridge, rust on the soap dish...). It's was totally overpriced, I didn't recommand you.

Room Tip: You must arrive during the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurora2nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're very sorry that this guest did not like our resort and had a difficult time checking in. On all of the sites that someone can book (Hotels.com, Expedia.com, Booking.com) our information clearly states that we do close the office at 5 pm, and requests that the guest call us if they plan to arrive late. We always leave a note on our office door with both written directions and a detailed map for them to find their room. The rooms are actually very close to the office, maybe 1 minute away. It is unfortunate that this guest obviously did not read their directions or look at the map we left for them or they would have been able to find their room very quickly.
Our rooms are extremely clean, and all the furniture in each room was just replaced 2 weeks ago.
We hope that anyone reading this review will check the othre reviews here on Trip Advisor for a more accurate description of our resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The people at Captain Pip's are so nice. Everyone was a joy to work with. We stayed in the Marlin/Sailfish which was great because of the kitchen and living room. We even had a backyard, of sorts, that we had to ourselves which was great. Having a boat slip was also very convenient.

I think they need to get better signage. We passed it because they have this tiny shed for an office. They said to look for the Porky’s, but by the time we saw the Porky's sign, we had already passed it. So turn before the Porky's. The parking lot is not very big to maneuver boat trailers either, but it worked. We reserved 2 boat slips, but they only had 1 in their notes. Thankfully they were able to fit the 2nd boat, but it was in some pretty shallow water which was less than ideal, but it worked. Then, one night during our stay, there was someone in our boat slip. It turned into an ordeal because there was no one in the office after 5. That was very frustrating! Our air-conditioning also went out overnight, even though we never touched it. It worked for the first 3 or 4 hours and at about 2 in the morning, it was stifling hot. Thankfully they fixed it very quickly. We asked for a late check out as we needed an extra hour to get the boat ready for the drive back. We were told they would give us an extra hour which was nice. Well, the morning of check out my husband went to the office to double check a few things and he was told we couldn’t have the extra hour for check out. The theme of the trip was miscommunication.

All and all it is a pretty nice place. I still recommend it to people, but just don’t recommend going during busy times such as the start of lobster season or mini season. The people make the place!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have nice outside seating areas, but the Marlin/Sailfish has more of a secluded fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9MilNids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you drove past us initially & we would love to put up some better signage, but that's not something that is easy to do here in the Florida Keys! It was unfortunate that someone else took the boat slip one night, but it was during one of the busiest times of the year and the other guest was confused as the where to dock his boat. We do close around 5 pm each day, which we tell everyone both when they book and when they arrive too. The a/c units are brand new (& the remote is a little more complicated than a normal one) & so we do appologise for the unit shutting off. We try to accomodate a late check out but we cannot guarantee it as we are a very small resort. When we have new people checking in the same day, our housekeeping team has a small amount of time to get in & clean to prepare the room for the new guests. We don't just do a "quick sweep" around for our guests, we are very thorough so that the room is just as nice for the next guests!
So, we do hope that this guest will come back to visit us again! Our staff do try to help everyone & make their vacation a great one. Thank you for saying they they "make the place", everyone really appreciates your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed there 6 times over the past few years and it was the best deal in the Keys. Every room came with a complimentary center console boat. Well that is no more! That was the main reason we passed up Islamorada and went to Marathon. Without the boat included, it is just like many other places in the Keys. The rooms are old, the beds are lumpy even though the New owners are replacing some room items it is no longer special and unfortunately no longer our place of choice. I understand the new owners wants to make money, he will just not get it from me. To go from $250 a night including a boat to $250 a night for the room, even though the rate is published at $169, and if you pay the full rate ($250) you get half off the boat rental (normally $250, so $125) you now are up to $375 before taxes and fees. Some quick math means you have raised your rate 50%. Don't get me wrong, the staff is nice, the guys on the dock are nice and the office folks are nice, the value and the specials are no longer there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are sorry that this reviewer feel like this is not the place for him any more.
In answer to some of the points made - the boats were never actually "complimentary", they were always built into the price of each room. I have been with Captain Pip's for over 13 years, so I can definitely vouch for that! Yes, we have changed the structure of the pricing with the new ownership, which can be difficult for some of our regular guests who are used to the old price structure. In the old pricing the room rates were very high & the boat rates included were lower, so if someone did not want the boat at all (or each day) they paid a very high price for the room. The new owner felt that it would be better to lower the room rates & then give a 50% discount on the boat to the guests. The majority of our guests are loving this change.
We have replaced ALL the furniture in EVERY room in the last couple of weeks, so that any guest will have a much nicer stay with us. Also, all the Cape Horn boats have brand new 4 stroke Yamaha engines too. We're sorry that we may not see this guest again, but we do hope that anyone reading this will give us a call and check out our reosrt for their next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I visited Captain Pip's Hideaway for the first time July 4th Weekend. It was amazing and even more than what the pictures show you. Ellie has a great personality and so helpful as was everyone we dealt with during our stay. We stayed in the Marlin Apartment which I highly recommend with a beautiful view of the water. The bed was heavenly and the apartment is done with wood in the walls and ceilings but not through the whole apartment. There was a hammock and a grill outside for the perfect evening sunset. Quiet and just perfect. In the evening the BBQ restaurant next door had live music from 6-9pm. Captain Pip's is worth every penny for a slice of Key West Heaven and we can't wait to go back! The only drawback was that they offer free Wi-Fi but we could not get a signal strong enough to connect. That would be the only offer of improvement but since we were in the Keys we thought that was best anyways.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for this nice review! We do try to make sure that every guest has a great vacation and wants to come back to stay with us again!
We are going to install a signal booster for the wi-fi so that it reaches this room better. We did already move the router closer, but now just have to add on the booster and it should be good to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

New owner is making some positive changes.new boat motors, air conditioners,furniture. The staff is knowledgable and willing to give fishing information and things to do. Close to the best restaurants and places to go.

Room Tip: Apartments are very spacious. Bottom floor apt doesn't have overhead noise as some apts in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
13.4 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Property: Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Address: 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing