We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Plum Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Plum Club
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family vacation place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our condo. It was nicely decorated and clean. The mirror in the patio made us feel like we had an ocean view. It was nice and quiet at night and the pool was nice to have since the ocean was full of seagrass and visibility was very poor. This was a good place to enjoy the Keys and we recommend this for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mg259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I'd say the pros & cons for the Royal Plum are more-or-less equally weighted. We still had a nice experience. Overall, I'd recommend it if nowhere else tickles your fancy.

Pros:
~ It has it's own little beachfront
~ Free wireless internet
~ Some free amenities (we had beach-mats, pool-rafts, jigsaw puzzles...)

Cons:
~ Wireless signal was week (at least for us)
~ Parking lot is very difficult to maneuver through (surprised me too)
~ Condos are not as well kept as they should

Room Tip: We stayed at the southwest portion of the complex and I believe this is why out wireless signal was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Royal Plum Club was the perfect home base for our Keys vacation! It was close to shopping and restaurants, but secluded enough that we could relax in the quiet. There is a large park one property to the north with a big stretch of beach if the bit in front of the complex is not enough for you. You are basically in the middle of the keys, so trips north and south are quick and easy.

My nephew had a blast in the gardens looking for hermit crabs, anoles, and tree frogs. The pool was deep enough for some playing and fun. The maintenance man and the office manager are VERY helpful.

I would not hesitate to stay again if we go back to the Keys!

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diskostarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We just spent a week at the Royal Plum Club. We found it on the internet and were not disappointed. We have rented many condos on the west coast of Florida over the years but we have never stayed in such a well appointed condo. We brought a few beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach towels and tennis rackets but everything was there already. If you were flying you would only need to bring your clothes. We loved Marathon, some really nice restaurants and only an hour drive to Key West. We were somewhat disappointed in the beach but we knew that would be an issue in the Keys. We brought my elderly mother and she found the property very manageable. It felt safe and homey. The property managers were very nice and helpful and the property was well maintained. We wished we would have stayed for more than a week. Very laid back...we loved it! My only complaint was a mildew smell which seemed to permeate the wicker /rattan furniture in the condo. It was not in the bedding though.

Room Tip: You can view each available individual condo on the internet and pick the one which suits your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

First, the location is great-in the heart of the Florida Keys. It's an easy drive to all the Keys attractions. An hour to Key West with the Key Deer Refuge on the way on Big Pine Key. Or north to Islamorada, Theater of the Sea, Dolphin Research Center and on to Key Largo and the underwater national park.
Too many great restaurants in Marathon to list. Try the Keys Fisheries for fun, the Wooden Spoon for breakfast, Lazy Days for the view and food-and so many more.
The condos are located in a quiet, residential neighborhood with a lovely local park down the street. This is not a place to take children and expect them to entertain themselves quietly all day. Many of the codo owners ARE elderly. Don't park your children by the pool all day. If they are not video-addicts all you need is a dip net, a bucket and wading shoes.
No, there is not a big beach. Because of the reef offshore there are no Daytona-type beaches in the Keys. However there are MANY local and state parks nearby with nice beaches.
All the condos are clean and well-maintained. Balconies, full kitchens,everything you need. Rent through the condo office-not from someone who has a realtor managing their condo(s). The managers, Becky and Kevin will bend over backwards to correct any problems. I can't imagine either of them being rude to anyone. But there is little they can do if you have rented through a third party and have a major maintenence problem.
I've been going to the RPC for over 15 years with family and/or friends. Get an ocean view if you can, if not, the gardens have a lovely view.
I really cannot see how anyone could rate the RPC as "terrible" or say that the managers were not friendly. This place is paradise.

Room Tip: Condos overlooking the pool and the ocean beyond are the best. Number 30 (three bedrroms) is my fav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Beautiful view, beautiful beach, lovely staff, well taken care of grounds and lovely pool! Anyone who says differently doesn't know what quality and friendly staff look like! Can't wait to return hopefully next year!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slmeyeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Royal Plum for the past 6 years We have brought the grandkids down and have NEVER encountered a problem. Becky and Kevin are FANTASTIC very knowledgeable of the best local establishments Clean rooms Clean Beach Great Place to stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sa_sutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
6.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
3.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plum Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plum Club

Property: Royal Plum Club
Address: 133 Coco Plum Dr, Marathon, FL 33050-4033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Royal Plum Club Hotel Marathon
Royal Plum Club Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing