We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Key Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knights Key Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location and a great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Knights Key Inn would appeal more to people who work hard and play hard. The "rustic interior" description was very accurate. The TV in our room was manufactured in 1990. There was a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator and stove in the room.

The week we were there, one day was rainy and we spent most of the day in the room. It was not a comfortable place to spend the day sitting watching TV. We don't come to the Keys to sit in a hotel room. We are out and about enjoying the sun, water and warm temperatures in the middle of winter.

Great sunset views from the hotel property or close by. It is a short walk to the 7 Mile Bridge and the Sunset Grille & Raw Bar. A 2.2 mile section of the Old 7 Mile Bridge is open to bike, run or walk on. I walked it every morning.

The pool is heated, nice in the morning or in the evening. You will occasionally see iguanas near the pool and at times they make there way thru the railing surrounding the pool.

They do not have maid service, you clean and take out your trash. You can exchange your towels if you can catch the manager. They might be at the property 9 to 5, seemed to leave often before 5.

Room Tip: My understanding is that room 5 is the best room. All room entrances are on the same side, facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDOJr1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

To say that this place was great would be a gross exaggeration. But it was clean, comfortable and inexpensive with a great sunset view, view of 7 Mile Bridge, Pigeon Key access and near several eateries and pubs. The rustic interior ( room 3 ) had dated kitchen, furniture and tv, but then, you're not there for the room. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for inexpensive lodging, looking for a longer stay or a nice regular " go to " place in south Marathon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tcsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackshear, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

we have stayed in the inn and the villas . we have stayed with them every august for 15 years. we stay for 3 weeks at a time. never had any problems. and if we needed something they were glad to help. we go to the keys to dive . not a romantic getaway. we bring our own tank compressor. they let us hook it up. they have great boat docking. with fresh water access. good fish cleaning stations. these people have been nothing but good to us. never rude always nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank corelokt300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We are a family of three and we got room three it was super clean and it had a kitchen and everything.You get what you pay for.There was two things our family did not like.First there was no housekeeping service,so we had to make our beds,throw away our garbage on clean the room.Second there were doing some construction on the bottom floor so we herd everything in our room. It was really loud and disturbing . Nancy the owner was really nice she told us great attractions and places to eat. Every morning she saw us she would wave hello.The location is amazing right in front of the seven mile bridge. We would have breakfast looking at the amazing view.It really was a great vacation. I would recommend this place to everyone

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julio_surli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Knights Key Inn and we loved every moment of it! After our 20 hours drive the owners were more than welcoming! They helped us find great places to eat around the island and through the keys, told us all about places to go and were super friendly! The room was beautiful and clean, and the pool was gorgeous. When we booked we originally called down and set a 4 date range, due to a business meeting intersecting our vacation we had to call back and change the dates of our trip, and they were more than accommodating! The list of amenities were mostly wasted on us because we stayed to travel the island, but WOW, the amount of extras you get for staying there was wonderful.
The hotel decor was nice. There was ample room to sit and watch TV around an awesome coffee table, plus space to have breakfast or eat food. The kitchenette was clean and well kept with everything you could ask for during an extended stay.
Poised at the end of Marathon, right by the seven-mile bridge, you are ready to go to other Keys quickly or stay and tool around Marathon, as you are only a few minute bike ride away from some of the nicest beaches in the Keys!
I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who was looking for a reasonably priced and totally value packed place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms off the first floor have balconies that you can sit and eat outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The Knights Key Inn was a fantastic place to stay! My girlfriend and I stayed over night to run the 7 Mile Bridge race. Nancy was awesome, what a great lady! The room was great; clean and well kept. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the 7 Mile Bridge - what a great view from our door! The sunset Grille is about 50yds away and has great food and drinks! We could not have asked for a better place to lay our heads. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here 8 days in Mar/April 2013. We loved it. Great view of the bridge and sunsets. Marathon is midway to other Keys and islands for quick explorations, and the Pigeon Key Historic train-car Tourist Information Center is down the drive-way as you come in to the Knights Key area. The apartment/hotel, decorated in 80's style furnishings but totally adequate and clean was fully stocked with kitchen necessities (no groceries) for fixing a quick breakfast or leftover meals or making a dinner. It was a very large room with beds at the back, dining table, chairs, kitchennette mid-room, and sofas, TV, big heavy coffee table near the entrance. Even though others were there, it was quiet and peaceful and we could sit out on our balcony in back, or at the front entry-area reading, computing or watching the gulf/ocean/birds/boats/bridge-traffic. The weather was perfect...75' to 85' most of the time. Nancy treated us all to Easter breakfast at her room...way cool, and gave us bogo fresh bagels one morning. Our kids stayed at Knights Key Campground, with their boat less than .25 mile from us and we talked to each other with walkie-talkies. They had a dockside CG for the boat and we took it out in the ocean for fishing, snorkeling and exploring near-by islands. We enjoyed a big campfire there our last evening with them. We would stay here again in an instant. No one seemed to be smokers, as we smelled no smoke or anything else unusual. The pool would have been a good place to tan and hang out if we didn't have the boat to go on. I am already wishing we were back there, kicking back.

Room Tip: There are three floors. You don't have to carry your luggage up as many stairs if you stay in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank higgyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
6.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 16 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Key Inn

Property: Knights Key Inn
Address: 40 Kyle Way W, Marathon, FL 33050-2019
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Knights Key Hotel Marathon
Knights Key Inn Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing