We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hammocks at Marathon
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, GA USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing visit.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in early April. We had a one bedroom unit. We would have liked a water view, but they are limited since the facility is fairly small. We didn't really mind since we didn't spend too much time in the room. The bed was comfortable and the unit was clean. It was very quiet. We never heard any noise in the hallways or even outside. The furnishings are a little dated and could use some updating, but overall everything was adequate. The staff were very friendly and the concierge desk gave us some great recommendations for dinner, places to visit, and best time to visit.

The only inconvenience was the lack of sufficient loungers around the pool. The first day we were there, we went out around 8:30AM to the pool area and had no trouble finding lounge chairs and even a table with umbrella. We stayed out by the pool until lunch time and there were only a few other people who came out. The rest of our stay, we would go do something in the morning and by the time we came back at lunch time, you could not find anywhere to sit. Several people would put their things in chairs under the umbrellas, but were laying on the loungers in the sun. They would alternate between the two. We ended up sitting in the high chairs near the bar waiting for somewhere to sit near the pool. One day we waited an hour before a lounge chair opened up. Another day we decided not to even try to go out to the pool when we saw there were no chairs available. I would recommend the management post signs that people should only occupy one chair or lounger at a time.

We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italianlady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello italianlady67,

We appreciate you taking your time to share the details of your stay at The Hammocks. We are glad to hear that overall your vacation was great. We will look into your suggestion. It is imperative for us to create a comfortable, relaxing stay for all of our guests. Please come back and give us another try. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    119
    36
    15
    7
See reviews for
95
135
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at The Hammocks at Marathon recently and actually had to leave a day early due to the poor quality of the mattresses. The staff was pleasant, and they actually swapped the mattress for another. Unfortunately, that mattress was equally uncomfortable. We could actually feel the individual springs. If you decide to go there, bring your own air mattress.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello Deborah H,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with the service our staff provided to you. However, we regret to learn you did not have a pleasant stay. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is small; but, very clean. We stayed in a one bedroom villa with a kitchen and it was very roomy. Overall, the hotel needs some TLC and updating. It is circa 1994. Pool chair are stained and worn. Hotel furniture is stained as well as worn. Nothing is horrible; just don't expect Big Cedar luxury because it's not here. This is laid back, easy breezy, and nice. Nothing fancy; but,
Very clean! The food at Pool bar is not so good...again, not horrible; but, very basic. The resort lacks "energy". Very average

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrosner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello Mrosner21,

Thank you for staying at The Hammocks. We are happy you found our property clean and spacious. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and appreciate the feedback you have provided. We hope you will consider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time for two nights and were overall pleased with our stay. Front desk staff very friendly and informative. Studio room had two beds and plenty of space. The air conditioner was a bit off; quite loud and didn't keep the temp regulated very well. Found ice machine only on bottom floor, not every floor as advertised. No big deal, we needed the exercise anyway. Bartender seemed put out that I ordered a drink, but was not rude. Would likely stay here again, with expectations set differently now.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hsvjen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello hsvjen5,

Thank you for staying at The Hammocks and sharing your review. We are happy you were pleased with your stay and appreciate your compliments regarding the staff. We regret to learn all aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. If you would like to provide additional details or discuss further, please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manquin, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is one of our favorite Bluegreen properties to visit. It is located on the Gulf and is very quiet. There is a wonderful pool, hot tub and tiki bar adjacent to the pool. You can drive to Key West, Pigeon Key or visit the Turtle Hospital or Dolphin Research Center. You can find all kinds of water activities right next door or simply relax by the pool. We stayed in a one-bedroom which was very roomy, and the kitchen was well-equipped. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool/gulf side have the best views but you can hear some noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello JohnLucy,

We are thrilled that The Hammocks is one of your favorite Bluegreen properties to visit. We are glad our location was a convenience and that you found our accommodations spacious and well-equipped. We are happy you enjoyed our pool area. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We went to the Hammocks for Spring Break, taking one 15 year old and two 17 year olds. The hotel is wonderful. We sat with the concierge and he told us all about the area, in a quick and efficient manner. We learned about the Marathon Lady for fishing and Porkys for lunch. This is a a small time share hotel with a wonderful pool. We had a two bedroom, with kitchen including fridge and stove. It also had an awesome blender which is a nice perk. The living room was fine. Our son used the pull out sofa. The bedrooms were fine with one having a master bath. The other had a great view. The rooms were fine. The beds were just OK; however, having the hotel provide beach towels and bath towels, kitchen towels, etc. They were great. The balcony on the room had a great room. The accommodations were good.

The staff was excellent. They were very informative and always helpful. Some of our best times were calling the front desk asking them to light the grill. We went down, picked up the grill utensils and grilled by the pool. Some much fun, family bonding and delicious.

The pool is so nice. The perfect depth. Nice chairs and tables. A fantastic hot tub. We thought the Tikki bar was so nice. We had them cook our fish. It said you hook them and we'll cook them. That was so much fun. The kids went on fishing trip with the Marathon Lady and the Tikki Bar cooked them perfect.

I went Kayaking with the place next door. $15 for a kayak. You could stay out as long as you one. One time. You could also rent for the day. Very reasonable and fun.

We drove down to the Key West and it was fun.

This is a nice quiet place to stay with wonderful staff to take care of everything you need. Very relaxing and fun. Always a parking place and I could walk to a few restaurants.

Give it a chance and you will enjoy a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: It is a ways from Key West; however, there are tons of things to do in Marathon. There is a public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello Amy S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are pleased you and your family had a wonderful stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the accommodations and staff. We hope to welcome you back soon and share happiness on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Went on 3 scuba diving boat trips while staying here which was main purpose of our vacation. Also took day trips to Key Largo & Key West. Nice scenery. Do not expect a beach at Hammocks. There is a harbor but no beach. Enjoyed the hot tub area. Pleasant stay but not my fav Bluegreen resort. It was fine as a home base for our dive trips though. Key West was an easy drive & fun day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phall007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello phall007,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and found the resort a good location for area activities. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Property: The Hammocks at Marathon
Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida
The Hammocks At Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing