We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club & Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here in October with my girlfriend and some family. We had a great time, and found a great fit with this place. The room we rented (#19), had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was pretty clean, although the condition of the carpets was a little ragged. I'm not horribly picky when I'm in the Keys, however, and found the rooms to be pleasant.

This resort has a great pool overlooking the ocean, and a nice beach as well, equipped with hammocks. We took advantage of all of this on a daily basis. There were also banana trees, a ton of iguanas and crabs galore. We only stayed for three days, but had a great time with absolutely no issues. It was also nice to have a washer/dryer available below our unit to do laundry the night before we left.

For the price, this place is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    91
    33
    21
    13
See reviews for
187
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have been going to Cocoplum for over 10 years and is where I stay in the Keys. It is close enough to go to Key West without having to stay with the crowds there, It is also close enough to Islamorada for day visits. I like the area of Marathon and this place for accommodations, I bring groups of my friends from out of town to stay for several days and they all just love staying here. It is like home away from home.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach are more expensive than the middle room. The middle rooms are quiet but more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okie281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our first visit to the Keys and to this resort. We were very happy with our stay at Cocoplum. From the time we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful when recommending local places to visit and eat. The unit was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The full kitchen had everything we needed to make our meals. My three kids loved the beach being right outside our doorstep. Definitely a great value for our money and I will recommend it to anyone who asks. Thanks Cocoplum

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My hubby and our three kids came to Marathon for vacation, and once we got here we spent most of the day looking at nasty over priced rinky dinky hotel motel rooms. We found Cocoplum Beach and tennis club and couldn't be any happier. The owner is a sweet wonderful woman and the rooms have evry accommodation my family and I could possibly need. From a crystal clear pool and hot tub to a beautiful beach front view, bbq grills and a gorgeous wrapped around screened porch/lani (bug free) including wet bar! Not to mention the price is jaw dropping out of this world! If you are in Marathon and want to enjoy all the perks then this is most definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taboggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Loved this place.
Stayed in a beachside unit and was most comfortable. Loved watching the 2 resident iguana's day to day. Pool - awesome! Jacuzzi - hot and bubbly.
Didnt swim much but I don't care for sea grass too much. Did see some rays looking at beach to the right.
The kitchen had everything and I loved the wraparound screened in porch.
Great place for relaxation, which my husband and I needed.
Not much within walking distance but there is plenty of other activities in Marathon to take part of.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorijeannj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The facilty is excellent, the pool is clean and well maintained. The unit is clean, spacious and has everything we need. The screened balcony is a plus. We had an awesome weekend and we will be back again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty249267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have been to Coco Plum five times in the past four years - three times in the fall and twice over spring break. We have stayed in units 2, 3, 4, (beach front) plus 6 & 9 (Palm Court). Units 6 & 9 do offer ocean views so they are a great value if the Beach Front Villas aren't available or affordable. We have been fortunate to stay in many luxurious resorts, but Coco Plum is by far our family's favorite vacation spot. The location and amenities are perfect for us!

If you are looking for 5-star accommodations with concierge service and on-site restaurants, bars and spas, Coco Plum is not for you. However, if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing beach-front condo, this is it! Some of the things that are negatives for some reviewers are positives for us. We don't mind not having the daily maid service -- with kids in and out of the pool and in and out of the condo all day long, we don't need to worry about when the maid will show up. It's not too difficult to keep the place clean ourselves. If you want freshly laundered sheets and towels each day, there is a full-sized washer and dryer in each unit so you are able to do your own laundry. There is also a vacuum cleaner, broom/dust pan and various cleaners to keep the place tidy.

The small galley kitchen is a tight squeeze for more than one person, but it definitely serves its purpose and is more than adequate for preparing meals when on vacation. Many of the units have updated / upgraded kitchens, but even the kitchens that haven't had the face-lift yet are perfectly functional. Each kitchen has a full-sized electric stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave, full-sized refrigerator/freezer, coffee maker and blender as well as plenty of dishes and utensils. We also don't miss not having an on-site restaurant or bar so we are able to bring our own snacks or beverages to the pool and beach area. There are picnic tables around the property and the screened-in porch on the first level of each villa is a perfect dining spot.

The hot tub and pool areas are wonderful and just steps away from the beach. Despite not having any formal "activities," we have always found it easy to strike up a conversation with the other guests and all the kids usually make up their own games at the pool. Because of the small number of units, the pool and beach areas are never crowded like at larger resorts. Many reviewers complain about the seaweed on the beach. The amount that washes up each morning seems to vary by season. The beach is raked once or twice a day so it really isn't a problem.

Reviewers also seem to complain about the interior and the overall decor of the units. If one checks the pictures and floor plans of the units, there should be no surprises. The furnishings and curtains have a tropical beach vibe which is perfectly fine for the location! The bathrooms are compact and there is a spiral staircase, but that leaves more space in the common areas of the unit. Over the years there have been upgrades to the bedding and TVs and we have never had issues with a unit not being clean.

There is no on-site fitness center, but there is a bike/walking path along Coco Plum Drive as well as the tennis & basketball court.

The staff is always friendly and helpful and remembers us from year to year so we feel like we're "home" when we're there. Family and friends who have traveled to Coco Plum with us also rave about this place! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The beach front units are fantastic and units 6 & 9 in Palm Court offer ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club & Marina

Property: Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club & Marina
Address: 109 Coco Plum Dr, On the Atlantic Ocean, Marathon, FL 33050-4016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty free standing 2 bedroom 2 bath vacation villas on the ocean. All have full kitchens, W&D & sleep 6. Heated pool on beach. Boat docks available with trailer parking. Also a 4 bedroom 5 bath pool home with 135 ft. Dock. Sleeps 10. Marina Wi-Fi Internet ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Beach And Tennis Club Hotel Marathon
Cocoplum Beach And Tennis Club & Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing