We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK HERE”
Review of Coral Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Lagoon
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I booked a $400/night room here three months before our vacation through Expedia. Four days before I was going to leave, I received an email that my hotel room was cancelled. Apparently, 3 other parties suffered the same fate. There were no comparable rooms available anywhere in the Keys. I had to rebook hotel rooms, without the same amenities, at almost twice the rate last minute. If you desire your vacation be ruined last minute, feel free to make a reservation at this resort.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed for one night en-route to Key West after a long flight to Miami. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the accommodation, which was much larger than two of us needed. A large open kitchen, dining area and lounge, with a cloakroom by the entrance, leading out onto a good sized balcony with table and chairs. Beautiful views of the canal, and inland waterway.

Three double bedrooms upstairs and two full-sized bathrooms. The master was ensuite, and double doors led to another balcony, obviously with a raised outlook. Only one prbblem here; the doors to the balcony did not lock. In fact, it looked as if the lock had been removed. Lovely pastel coloured decor throughout.

No reception or meet and greet, just an e-mail a couple of days before arrival with a code to access the securit box for the keycards. Security could have been a little better,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Checking in our room was great and we were looking forward to spending time in the beautiful keys!!! However our last day there things took a turn for the worst. We woke up and saw something scurry across the floor and then upon closer review we found droppings and a bathing suit ripped to shreads. The bathtub had droppings all around it and the main bedroom had droppings on the floor as well. To top things off the kitchen had black ants all over the counter and when we called someone to check it out they told us "thank you for letting us know" . My advice to anyone looking to stay at this hotel....stay away from room #3!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. It has 3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths and was very, very clean!! The house was decorated in beautiful colors of soft green, blue and yellow. We rented through Coco Plum Vacation Rentals and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a vacation rental. Our house is right on the canal with boat dock facilities available for this unit right in front. No bugs were seen at all! Clean, clean, clean! We even saw a manatee in the canal several mornings.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathiG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We kept our fishing boat here for several weeks during our stay at Tranquility Bay. Larry the Dockmaster was very knowledgable and was so accomodating. He put our boat in the water and washed it down, started it and checked it over; then when we were leaving he took the boat out and flushed the engines and washed the hull for us. When we tried tipping him a $100 bill he refused saying that he was just doing his job! WOW! Keep your boat here, cause it's first class Marina and cheapest place in the Keys; but stay overnight at Tranquility Bay just down the street - this place is dead or if you like waking up early to the sounds of heavy machinery and boats firing up - ?.

Room Tip: Stay down the street from here at Tranquility Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maaavelousman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Great room and apartment and fantastic pool. Facilities in apartment good with washing machine and driers etc. Only downside no on site staff - emailed re lack of knives in cutlery draw - it was supposed to be fully equipped but got no response: so poor! Some of the furniture was stained!
Great properties but they need to watch the upkeep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

By reading these reviews, I knew to get all info up front before we arrived. Thank you to Sophie B who sent those emails with all the info I needed. We stayed the last weekend of October and absolutely loved the villa. Yes, it could stand to have a repainting inside, and the carpeting and upholstery could use a steamcleaning, but everything that could be cleaned was. The floors, bathrooms, kitchen and every cleanable surface was spotless and dust-free. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.9 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Lagoon

Address: 12399 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range: £190 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Lagoon Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coral Lagoon Resort And Marina
Coral Lagoon Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing