We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good If You Find Your Way In”
Review of Coral Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Lagoon
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good If You Find Your Way In”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This review is mixed, starting with the negatives.

Finding your way into your property is a challenge, so arrive mid afternoon in the hope that you may complete the challenge by early evening. The experience is truly awful & I was tempted just give up and go somewhere else, despite having paid in full in advance. I get now why the owners get you to pay in advance.

Having any chance at all relies on you picking up the eMail they send you 5 days in advance & a phone with international call access. Easy to miss if touring. This note told me my unit number & relied on me realising a Lock Box is the Keypad at the top of the stairs. I entered a code, then had to work out how to get the keys. Not at all obvious.

Once the code was cracked, the keys then didn't work, so its on to Challenge 2. Onsite there is no presence and no contact phone or even telephone numbers to phone anyone. If you did get the eMail they are on there, but you need to phone the mobile as the office phone only trips to voice mail. It then takes 20 minutes or so for someone to come out to you. And more to get you keys that work. All in all it took us a good 90 minutes to get in having received the eMail with no real apologies at all.

Now the positive bit.

Once in, accommodation is of a really good standard & I must say I didn't find it that dirty. Not spotless but also by no means filthy. Also great facilities and good TV. I felt it was ideal for families or groups or people with yachts, but not really as an alternative to a hotel unless you want to use the excellent washing machine facilities there. The site certainly isn't a resort as advertised - just accommodation.

There is a good Publix supermarket down the road and a superb drive through coffee place (Curlys) which you can walk to. And a great restaurant called Annette's about 7 miles away Westbound. To the property's credit, they give you great ideas for these in the welcome pack, once in the property.

Overall not a bad stop, but completely ruined by the arrival experience which is the reason for my scoring. I really wouldn't stay again or recommend because of this.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    21
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
67
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon, The unit is nicer than a hotel room but for $279 a night I expected alot more. Unit#3 The walls need to be painted, light bulbs out, towels and blankets had stains on them, couches were so stained we avoided sitting on them,knobs off cabniets and closet door,tile floors were so dirty they left a film on our feet. Please fix this issues for the amount of money guests are spending to stay here. I would not stay here again for the one reason, lack of privacy. You are sharing a porch with the unit next to you on the upstairs porch. We had six seniors in the unit next to us who decided to be on the porch as much as possible which limited our use of the porch due to privacy. Unless you dont mind sharing a cup of coffee with your neighbor do not choose these units. Every time we wanted to sit on the porch they were out there conversing loudly and you could also see each other. The good things are the unit is nice, updated and great views, also nice pool. Next time I vacation in the keys I will be looking for units with more privacy and attettion to detail. Forgive spelling, was in a rush.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciccopizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

House could of been beautiful, it was dirty, the supplies were very lacking , needed general overhaul. The couch was so dirty you did not want to even sit on it. The carpet was disgusting. Floors were very dirty, had to sweep and mop them myself. Broken broom and no mop so had to use washcloths. I was very disappointed for the price of this house it should of been clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Spacious nice accommodation with all mod cons. Nice pool area and grounds. Shops and restaurants nearby. No noise from the boats in the marina and patios outside the bedroom windows and living space. no complaints and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvezGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Positives: Great location, marina looked very nice although we did not use it. Very nice well kept grounds and pool area. The townhome was well layed out and had three wonderfull outdoor spaces. TV/DVD in every room. Looked recently painted and the decks had been refinished. Manatees swam right outside our door which thrilled the kids.

Negatives: Tthe furnature needs a steam clean as does the carpet on the stairs. Little things like half a dozen bad light bulbs 2 of 4 smoke detectors missing, lack of knives (3 steak knives, 2 bread knives and a bent pearer - that was it), also only 3 wine glasses (two of which were cracked). This is a low service type of place, which is fine, we did have our AC go out and they were there in less than 5 minutes. They also offered to drop off lightbulbs but I didn't really feel like changing them all out.

This could be a 5 star review with a little TLC and some attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I booked a $400/night room here three months before our vacation through Expedia. Four days before I was going to leave, I received an email that my hotel room was cancelled. Apparently, 3 other parties suffered the same fate. There were no comparable rooms available anywhere in the Keys. I had to rebook hotel rooms, without the same amenities, at almost twice the rate last minute. If you desire your vacation be ruined last minute, feel free to make a reservation at this resort.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed for one night en-route to Key West after a long flight to Miami. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the accommodation, which was much larger than two of us needed. A large open kitchen, dining area and lounge, with a cloakroom by the entrance, leading out onto a good sized balcony with table and chairs. Beautiful views of the canal, and inland waterway.

Three double bedrooms upstairs and two full-sized bathrooms. The master was ensuite, and double doors led to another balcony, obviously with a raised outlook. Only one prbblem here; the doors to the balcony did not lock. In fact, it looked as if the lock had been removed. Lovely pastel coloured decor throughout.

No reception or meet and greet, just an e-mail a couple of days before arrival with a code to access the securit box for the keycards. Security could have been a little better,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.9 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Lagoon

Property: Coral Lagoon
Address: 12399 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Coral Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Lagoon Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coral Lagoon Resort And Marina
Coral Lagoon Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing