We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Coral Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Lagoon
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just got back from a 5 night stay in Unit #23 which was reserved through Coco Plum vacation rentals. Everything needed was in the unit and the unit was well maintained. I'd say the worst part of the room was the water pressure from the showers. The master bedroom is enormous and has its on balcony and the main area balcony is perfect for evenings and breakfast. I nor anyone in the rental would hesitate to return here in the future. Check it out!

Room Tip: Unit #23 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank red4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Coral Lagoon, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your return to Paradise!
KeysCaribbean Resorts offers a guarantee great vacation for you and your family.
See you in Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    21
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
69
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

For out 4th trip to the Florida keys we wanted to try staying on one of the canals rather than a sea front resort. From the Trip Advisor reviews I thought that the Coral Lagoon Resort might be a bit run down and dilapidated, and when I found having booked a two bedroom house there that there was no on site reception and that I had to phone to get a unit number and lock box code for the keys I was most apprehensive. I need not have worried. The phone was answered immediately and the lock box system worked perfectly.
We were allocated Unit 2, a two story three bedroom unit overlooking the bay and Key Colony Beach rather than the canal and the houses on the opposite side. We could not have been more pleased. As for being run down and dilapidated, we saw no evidence of this. The house with its large balcony off the bedroom on the upper floor and canal side patio on the ground floor was immaculate; beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, with two full bathrooms upstairs, a downstairs toilet and a fully equipped kitchen. The only think lacking was a safe.
The master bed was large and very comfortable and the central A/C as efficient as we could have wanted.
Though not on a beach both the beautiful Sombrero Beach and the more primitive (and almost deserted) Cocoplum beach are only 20 minutes drive away, and the resort's large pool, surrounded by tropical foliage was immaculately clean and whilst we were there almost always deserted.
Sitting on the balcony watching the boats on the bay or wandering around the attached marina was a wonderful experience.
Although on the very busy highway it is only 10 minutes walk to the causeway leading down to the beautiful and tranquil Key Colony Beach with its 25 MPH speed limit, and another 20 minutes walking to Key Colony Beach itself. Sunset Park is a beautiful place to watch the sunset from, and Sparky's Landing, on the causeway itself is a great place to eat. Along the main road, just past the causeway, no more than 20 minutes walk from The Coral Lagoon Resort, are two more excellent restaurants: The Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill behind the Holiday Inn Express and across the road The Island Fish Co, one of the best places for breakfast we have found in The Keys.
Perhaps we just got lucky being allocated Unit 2, but we loved every minute we were there and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The houses on the "front" are the best, but you do not get to choose when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PatnLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Coral Lagoon, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience. Another great stay at Coral Lagoon. Be sure to book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts and save. We guarantee a great stay with 24/7 guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were a group of 6 who stayed for the Easter weekend. We were given villa 9 which was situated near the end of the jetty with parking almost outside the door. The children loved the pool which was wonderfully warm and refreshing and mostly empty allowing them space to play.
As with other posts the villa needed a full deep clean and there were stains on the furniture but otherwise very clean. The kitchen was basic but with a wonderful restaurant less than 5 minutes away it was not really an issue. There is a large Walmart a short drive away for all shopping needs if required.
The family loved the Coral Lagoon, especially when the villas either side brought their boats up the canal. Sitting outside on the terrace in the late evening looking at the stars was also a wonderful experience.
The beds are squeaky and very high off the floor but otherwise comfortable and clean linen. A hair dryer would have also been helpful as most other villas generally include this which is why we did not take one with us, but this is a minor thing.
A great trip to the dolphin centre 10 minutes away and a short drive to the seven mile bridge.
We would recommend Bahia Beach for kayaks and a walk on the old bridge.
Well situated, nice surroundings, villas do need some attention but otherwise we would stay again.
Hertfordshire, UK

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERH_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Coral Lagoon, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences. Be sure to always book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts. We guarantee a great stay and offer 24/7 guest service. See you next time in Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just returned from 7 days at Coral Lagoon in #10. This place is so nice and picturesque but lacks the attention it deserves!! This unit needs alot of cleaning. Couches need to be steam cleaned. Walls need painting, Beds need to be replaced( very creeky as another person stated) Kitchen was very sparsely stocked! Not even a dish drain! We went right to the store upon getting there to get dish detergent, toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent and bleach to wash all the towels that were damp and some were ripped and actually looked like rags to wash the floor with! Kitchen was not even wiped down. Bought lysol wipes and washed everything down. toaster, coffee maker everything not cleaned. Washed all dishes we were gonna use ,. Refrigerator was all sticky and dirty inside and out! Bathroom on second floor shower curtain was full of mold from the bottom up about 15 inches. toilet paper holder coming out of wall. TV in twin bedroom was broken off the stand at the neck. Second bedroom had sheets on the bed that were made for I guess a twin size bed cause the bottom half had no sheet on it only a ripped mattress cover under it. Floors werent even swept papers and candy wrappers in corners. We called management company and told them they need to get someone here to clean up! They sent a women who didn.t even know what to do. My daughter told her to change the sheets cause they were full of stains, sweep the floor,and wash it cause when we walked in the kitchen our feet actually stuck to the tile floor. I really dont think they cleaned this room before we got there and honestly there is no one there to check to see if it was or not and if no one calls to complain they dont know or care.! That goes for the whole place inside and out. It looks like they may have had a front desk at one time because as you pull in in front there is a building which is closed up and there is a front desk inside where the office once was. Its such a shame because it it such a beautiful Marina but the place runs itself. Each unit has a different owner! We spoke to some people at the pool who said there unit was beautiful, clean well stocked with paper products, extra linens, pool towels, everything! We had nothing in ours not even and extra roll of toilet paper! So we spend time and money at the grocery store to get stuff that they said should be there. The owner is collecting the money but doesnt care about the people renting and paying good money a nite! They each also have there own cleaning people so you may get someone who cares and you may not. I rented through the management company but others rented through local real estate there or homeaway.com The pool area is nice but there is no one cleaning the pool or doing anything there except there is a guy who comes around and empty's the garbage's once a day. The only way we could sit on the couches were to take the sheets off of the twin beds in one bedroom and covered the couches with them.. Glad we didnt need those beds. There are no extra linens at all. If someone doesn't take over the day to day operations of Coral Lagoon very soon, people will stop renting because of the lack of care to this wonderful vacation spot and that would be such a shame!! But we did make the best of it and had a wonderful time! It is centrally located and only about an hour from key west. There are things in walking distance like curleys coffee shop and sweet savanahs were we had ice cream every nite!!Lots of great restaurants and beautiful sunsets! Just if you decide to stay here I would recommend booking through the owner and not the management company. It seems like people had cleaner and well stocked rooms when going through the owners.

Room Tip: Do not stay in unit #10!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hadfunatbayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Coral Lagoon, responded to this review, 7 November 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed that you did not received the great service provided by KeysCaribbean Resorts, as you stayed with another rental agent. KeysCaribbean offers a 100% satisfaction guarantee for your vacation. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

we first stayed at Coral Lagoon right after they opened in 2007. I have been obsessed with going back ever since. This past December we spent a week and really had a good time.
If they took care of our concerns, the place would now be perfect for unit 15.
1) the box spring needed to be replaced, so noisy it woke you up at night when you so much as moved.
2) pots and pans and utensils were needing to be replaced
3) updating linens and towels were scarce

the lack of an onsite manager was apparent. Supervision to make everything perfect was lacking because the units are managed by a variety of companies. Some do really bad and some do good, yet not great. The lack of day to day supervision is what is keeping this property from being the real Jewel it deserves to be.
The setting is so amazingly serene and having boat slips a few steps behind your condo is a commodity that's near impossible to surpass…anywhere. PERIOD
The pool is great but the cushions on the furniture was pretty moldy. That's because nobody is hands on there to stay on the details.
These condos are all privately owned and that's part of the problem. Too many chiefs trying to control the tribe. If the owners of Coral Lagoon had a unified voice to have someone living there full time with hotel management experience (or aptitude) keeping maintenance items, housekeeping and amenities on a daily checklist so nothing goes unnoticed for the perfect experience for guests, this place should be getting 5 stars all day long, every day.

Coral Lagoon is a truly beautiful and unique property.
Missing details keeps it from being the most sought after property designation on the entire coast of Florida.

PS - the manatee next to the boat is a pretty memorable experience.

Room Tip: there's no bad location here. Right off the highway yet no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famvalmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Coral Lagoon, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience. We frequently receive comments from guests that have reserved with coco plum rentals and other owners at Coral Lagoon. Be assured that when you book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts you are guaranteed a great stay with 24/7 guest service. Please return to Coral Lagoon and book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts for a great stay in Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second time at Coral Lagoon. Like the first time, our unit was clean, spacious with everything we needed. The resort is very quiet. We faced the canal, which makes for a nice view from the deck. Especially when manatees stop by.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Niamiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Coral Lagoon, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience. Another great stay at Coral Lagoon. Remember to book direct with KeysCaribbean Resorts for a guaranteed great stay in Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
184 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

the place we stayed at on Key Colony was unavailable but wanted to stay nearby, and Coral is within eye-shot of Sadowski Causway.

We had a seamless transition upon check-in (self check-in) and the rooms were what we anticipated...very similar to the units on Hawks Cay. No pool and steps of course, but not to deter a wonderful stay in the best Key in the Keys..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank minnspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Lagoon

Property: Coral Lagoon
Address: 12399 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Lagoon Resort And Marina
Coral Lagoon Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coral Lagoon Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing