We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet !”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Sandpiper Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #7 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet !”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I travel with a friend and my dog..and we spent a week in this motel, nice, clean, quiet and the manager , Anita, is a wonderful person and very helpful.
You have to share the place with some friendly cats and it was a pleasant and restful stay in spite of US 1.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2th floor and little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Looks like a small place, although the people were great and very friendly. The motel was centrally located to great restaurants and shopping. The owner is a guy named Bobby how is very hands on and is very helpful. Rates are very reasonable and the room comes with a fridge, stove, and sink. Basically a little kitchen. Overall it was a cheap and great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxout777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

A nice little Hotel and a good value. We came to Marathon to Fish, so it worked out great for us. And plenty of Bait stores close by, and convenience stores within close walking distance. Sea Turtle hospital is across the street, which is cool.
Our room was clean had two Queen beds, Microwave, automatic Coffee Pot, a Refigerator with freezer which we could freeze our fish. They have a BBQ rill down stairs that you can use. It's not a Resort, but we weren't looking for a resort. And Yes' we'd be coming back to stay here. I liked it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TiminFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the sandpiper for the past 2 years and we are planning to return in march 2011 for a third time. What a great value for your buck! Anita is a wonderful Person and a FANTASTIC INN KEEPER always willing to go the extra mile to make her guest feel right at home. Great value~Warm friendly atmosphere~Clean rooms~Tropical Decore ~Peaceful night`s rest~What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WE-B-FISH-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My husband and I spent 5 weeks at the Sandpiper from mid-January 2010 until the end of February 2010. Anita, the manager, was wonderful! My husband had been injured on our trip and we pretty much wound up using our efficiency as a rehab. There is no pool, but there is a beautiful sandy beach located in Marathon that is nearby. The unit was clean thanks to the services of her very helpful housekeepers! Restaurants and grocery stores are nearby. We loved the layout of the motel..situated in a picturesque setting of palm trees and many plants reminiscent of a New Orleans patio! Three cats who were very friendly live on the premises and there is a mini library for those who forgot to bring reading matter from home! To top it al off, Anita even helped us celebrate my husband's 81st birthday by baking a cupcake birthday cake! We loved being there and would definitely return! Thanks Anita and crew for making our visit so enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epatascend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Our friends were staying at a nearby resort which was way to expensive for me. We found The Sandpiper and were very happy. Anita was a pleasure and our stay was wonderful. In fact, the friends who were staying across the street at the fancy resort didn't have some of the nice things Anita provides for her guests like glasses in the room, extra towels, etc. The room reminds you of old Florida with really cute decor. Very quiet, comfy beds and great pillows! We would certainly stay there again if we travel to Marathon. A great value for sure!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mongado22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiacgo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

You get what you pay for...that being said The Sandpiper exceeded all of my expectations. My boyfriend and I were looking for someplace that was affordable and cute. We arrived and Anita the manager was very friendly and helpful. Our room was extermely clean and the paint job totally fit the tropical feel of the islands. This is a place for the working middle class people who don't need the extras just a great place to stay. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parkernikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 2443 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 48. 5, Marathon, FL 33050-2246
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small quaint original Keys Motel.Each unit has two full beds, private bath with shower, small kitchenette, cable TV, Air conditioning , free WIFI. Outside seating for each unit. Only one mile to the 7 Mile Bridge and 4 miles to Sombrero Beach. Across the street from the famous Turtle Hospital. In the heart of the Keys. Only 48 miles to Key West. Sorry . Due to our limited parking we do not have parking for boats , trailers or trucks. Office hours are 10AM till 9PM ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Marathon
Sandpiper Motel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing