We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a value for your buck!”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Sandpiper Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #8 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a value for your buck!”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the sandpiper for the past 2 years and we are planning to return in march 2011 for a third time. What a great value for your buck! Anita is a wonderful Person and a FANTASTIC INN KEEPER always willing to go the extra mile to make her guest feel right at home. Great value~Warm friendly atmosphere~Clean rooms~Tropical Decore ~Peaceful night`s rest~What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WE-B-FISH-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My husband and I spent 5 weeks at the Sandpiper from mid-January 2010 until the end of February 2010. Anita, the manager, was wonderful! My husband had been injured on our trip and we pretty much wound up using our efficiency as a rehab. There is no pool, but there is a beautiful sandy beach located in Marathon that is nearby. The unit was clean thanks to the services of her very helpful housekeepers! Restaurants and grocery stores are nearby. We loved the layout of the motel..situated in a picturesque setting of palm trees and many plants reminiscent of a New Orleans patio! Three cats who were very friendly live on the premises and there is a mini library for those who forgot to bring reading matter from home! To top it al off, Anita even helped us celebrate my husband's 81st birthday by baking a cupcake birthday cake! We loved being there and would definitely return! Thanks Anita and crew for making our visit so enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epatascend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Our friends were staying at a nearby resort which was way to expensive for me. We found The Sandpiper and were very happy. Anita was a pleasure and our stay was wonderful. In fact, the friends who were staying across the street at the fancy resort didn't have some of the nice things Anita provides for her guests like glasses in the room, extra towels, etc. The room reminds you of old Florida with really cute decor. Very quiet, comfy beds and great pillows! We would certainly stay there again if we travel to Marathon. A great value for sure!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mongado22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiacgo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

You get what you pay for...that being said The Sandpiper exceeded all of my expectations. My boyfriend and I were looking for someplace that was affordable and cute. We arrived and Anita the manager was very friendly and helpful. Our room was extermely clean and the paint job totally fit the tropical feel of the islands. This is a place for the working middle class people who don't need the extras just a great place to stay. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parkernikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Filthy room's

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We found the Sandpiper on our return from Key West. We asked to view the room and was happy as it was clean and had everything you could need. The decoration may be a little dated but has a lovely charm. The manager was also very nice and friendly. There is also lovely places to eat around the area which we were directed to my the manager. overall i would recommend this motel as a stopover from key west.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelled1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Each year, my son and two of my friends schedule a bike trip to various parts of the country, in order to relax and ride our motorcycles. This year, we picked the Florida Keys and chanced upon the Sandpiper Motel, in Marathon. This was the best bargain that I've found in a long, long time. The rooms were clean and the manager, Anita, could not have been more accommodating to us. She not only went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable, she was a tremendous resource for finding places to eat and things to do. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Marathon is about 50 miles from Key West and, on our Harleys, about an hour ride from Duval Street. We found this to be very convenient to virtually everything that the Keys have to offer.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Sandpiper to anyone. It's nothing fancy, just a nice, clean room and very friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craigw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.4 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 16 in Marathon
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 2443 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 48. 5, Marathon, FL 33050-2246
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small quaint original Keys Motel.Each unit has two full beds, private bath with shower, small kitchenette, cable TV, Air conditioning , free WIFI. Outside seating for each unit. Only one mile to the 7 Mile Bridge and 4 miles to Sombrero Beach. Across the street from the famous Turtle Hospital. In the heart of the Keys. Only 48 miles to Key West. Sorry . Due to our limited parking we do not have parking for boats , trailers or trucks. Office hours are 10AM till 9PM ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Marathon
Sandpiper Motel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing