We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, support the locals!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Ranked #5 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, support the locals!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

small in size and we liked it. We didn't want to stay at "chain" motel/hotels. Actually the front desk at the La Jolla recommended staying at the blackfin. Price was very reasonable. Heated pool was great for the last day of Jan! We'll make this a stop on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    119
    52
    26
    18
See reviews for
68
149
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We found the rooms very small, yet very clean. Pool and view are wonderful and the people very friendly. The restaurant was a bit noisy on Thursday nights (wing night) but the food was really good.... We saved money on the room and got to do more on our vacation with the extra money. We will stay here again. The location was great, 1/2 way to Key West, and with plenty to do in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Was booked for a week at the Black Fin. Showed up after working that first day at Key West. Motel is 60's vintage. Has no iron or ironing board in rooms, Room and bedding dirty, saw bugs crawling, bathroom was dingy and definatley 60's era. Slept on top of bedding for the night and left in the morning. Many construction workers stay here and hang out around the back drinking. Door from room exits into a very dark and dingy corridor, very weird...Oh and no connection to internet in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kenneth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We found the Blackfin 7 years ago and have stayed there several times a year since. The people here have become more like family every time we are there. We take our 25' boat every year and usually our miniature pinscher. The Blackfin is a taste of what the Keys used to be like, laid back, relaxed and very friendly. Helpful would be an extreme understatement. One year the battery on our tow vehicle died and they were right there with jumper cables to get us going again! Unbeatable sunset views, nice snorkeling/swimming area with lots of fish to look at (we saw a Queen Angel this year!), easy to use boat ramp and a fish cleaning station right at the docks. Clean, comfortable rooms with a fridge and microwave in every room. Memory foam mattresses - I can't say enough about this place! Sombrero Light house is just a short boat ride away - If you don't have a boat check with Tildens Dive Shop on the property. They run a great operation as well. Also on the property is the Hurricane restaurant. This is a local spot that everyone on Marathon seems to love. We are planning our next trip back to the Blackfin in a few months and can't wait to return. Did I say we love this place and the people that run it? Well we do! You won't regret your time here - only that you can't stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The location was great--right on the bayfront, with a marina and a beautiful sunset view. The room was small but relatively comfortable. There was a coffee maker, but no fridge or microwave. The hotel offered free wi-fi, but you have to walk down to the laundry area to access it, which I thought was very misleading. The service was fair enough, as we were given a slightly late checkout with no hassle. We travel to the Keys every year at this time, and we will probably look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnjwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa, fl
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Landed in Marathon for our wedding and learned we were double booked at the Blackfin and another hotel. (lodging was wedding surprise from parents) Barry (Blackfin manager) was very accomodating. He let us cancel our reservation free of charge and still allowed us to have our sunset wedding at his location also free of charge. The Blackfin's sunset point extends into the water further than others in the area and provides a breathtaking unobstructed view of the sunset. Even locals of the Marathon area aren't aware of the majesty of the Blackfin's unique sunset viewing area. Thanks in part to Barry and Kevin's (front desk agent) courtesy and flexibility, my wife and I had the wedding ceremony of our dreams. This all happened at the Blackfin resort and it didn't cost us one dime!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_aTampa_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The one positive in all this is that the owner gave us half of our money back. In my opinion though, we shouldn't have had to pay anything for this (Room price was $88 walk-in rate, much too much for this!)
We checked in late at night (right before closing) and were walk-in customers, so by the time we got our bags in the room and noticed these things, the office had already closed for the night.
The toilet had blood on it, and there were tampons in a drawer. The sheet had a large yellow stain on it, and in the morning I woke up with bites all over my legs!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McTropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.1 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
1.8 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackfin Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackfin Resort and Marina

Property: Blackfin Resort and Marina
Address: 4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2396
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackfin Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blackfin Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfin Resort And Marina Hotel Marathon
Blackfin Resort And Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing