We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Coming Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Ranked #5 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Keep Coming Back”
Reviewed 1 January 2009

This was the sixth stay at the Blackfin. Been in the king rooms four times and booked the big apartment twice. The apartments are really nice with full kitchens, t.v. rooms and connecting bedrooms to accomodate up to three couples or six people. Pool is very well kept. If you are diving Tilden's dive shop is on the grounds and has a boat moored in the blackfin Marina. Makes it very convenient for divers. Its a very short walk to the Dive boat. The marathon city beach is a short 5 minute drive or 20 min. walk. It has been upgraded and is a great place to spend the day, has public restrooms, showers, picnic tables, grills, etc. Very clean. The staff at the blackfin is great and always take care of any requests in a timely manner. We'll be back next month.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ico400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    121
    53
    26
    18
See reviews for
69
150
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Interlachen, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2008

This is our second visit to Blackfin and it was like "coming home"
We came in on our boat this past August, ostensibly for a day or two, and stayed for several weeks. We stayed on our boat but got a room for several friends. The rates are reasonable and while the rooms are a bit "dated" they are clean and well maintained and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. We particularly enjoyed the beach area and lagoon and of course, the sunsets! There are plenty of places to cook out, laundry facilities, showers and free ice! We just couldn't stay away so we came back on our boat 3 weeks ago and plan toi stay for several months. It's central to everything and the Hurricane Restaurant (attached to the resort)has,undoubtedly, the best $5.00 lunch in the Keys. We hyave booked an efficency for family members for several days while we are here. We have traveled up and down the Keys for years by car and boat and this is our favorite!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank seacow2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbon, IN
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2008

I have been to Marathon Key, FL several times, and have stayed @ the Black Fin Resort and Marina.
1st time, we stayed on a boat - talk about relaxing, and beautiful scenery and water.
The 2nd time, we stayed @ the resort.
The rooms were spacious and clean. All had been re-modeld and updated.
The heated pool was nice and very CLEAN.
The grounds at the resort are cleaned daily, with the sand area out around the marina maintained also. They have a small private beach, with an area where you can get into the gulf water if you choose that over the pool.
And, at night it is very nice out with their very own Black Fin Resort lighthouse, reconstructed after the hurricaine by brick layer Al Easton from Indiana.
The resort is small. While your there, you will be welcomed by the manager, Barry Randall. He makes a great tour tour guide, both on land, or on water depending on how you want to spend your day while staying at the resort.
Do not pass this place up as you travel down through the Keys, once you pull off the highway, you will realize that this resort is what you want in nice, quiet, relaxing vacation.

Helpful?
Thank Bracelett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We are getting ready once again to stay at the Blackin Resort in Marathon, Fl. We have stayed there for the past several years and always have the best time. Over these years rooms have been remodeled and updated. The grounds are just beautiful - except for the first year after Wilma hit. It is just amazing what they have done to bring all the foliage back to even better than it was.

The management is great and we feel like friends now and look forward to seeing them as well as our stay in Florida. Anytime anyone asks where to stay in the Keys "Blackfin" is always our answer.

Beaches are scarce in the Keys but they have really tried to make the "beach" area nice. They have a beautiful lighthouse too.

  • Liked — We like the Old Keys atmosphere and the grounds - restaurant; rooms; marina; beach area
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Blackfin Resort for one night, Friday, November 21st on our way back to Miami from Key West. We believe this one night was the worst hotel stay that we have ever encountered.

Check in was fast and easy. I had asked for a renovated King room and was told that we were getting one. We were able to check in early to allow us to drop off our bags because we had a 1:00 pm tour of the Turtle Hospital. We dropped our bags in our room and left. When we returned around sunset, we walked out to the marina area which was nice - very quiet and serene. I would not want to swim in this area however, due to no beach area and there was lots of sea grass in the water. After going out to dinner, we returned to the room. Our room had nice wicker furniture, tile floor and appeared to be freshly painted. The King bed was comfortable. Then I entered the bathroom. The bathroom had not been renovated and was original, probably from the 1950’s. The tub was so gross and dirty looking that I would not take a shower. I was walking in my bare feet and my husband commented that the bottom of my feet were black. I guess the tile floor was not so clean after all.

It was unseasonably cold that night so we turned on the heater. What a mistake! The room filled with the smell of burnt hair, because I guess the heater had not been used in a long time. We had to turn off the heater and open up the front door to air the room out. Both of the overhead lights outside our front door were burned out – this becomes important later on. So now we were really cold! We had to use the bedspread to keep warm – I don’t want to think about how clean it was, but we were freezing so we were forced to use it. There was a blanket in the closet area, but it had other people’s black hair on it, so we didn’t want to use it.

The bed was comfortable so we were able to go to sleep. At 3:30 am, we were awakened by the sound of banging outside in the distance. The banging noises got closer and closer and we heard people yelling. There were two men and one woman, all apparently drunk, who were walking up and down the motel banging on the room doors and sliding glass doors, yelling “Wake up! Let us in!” This went on for about 20 minutes. There was no way we were opening the door, and the front desk closes at 10:00 pm. If you need anything from the hotel staff, you must wait until 8:05 am! There is no way we could sleep through all this noise and it was kind of scary.

We finally went back to sleep only to be awakened a little bit later by an animal that was scratching on the wall behind our headboard. It really wanted in, whatever it was, because it scratched for quite a while. Again, we could not call the front office and the outside lights were burned out, so we just waited for it to go away!

Finally went back to sleep again and we were awakened a third time by an animal trying to get in through our air conditioning unit. It made lots of noise and I was afraid that whatever it was, it just might find it’s way in. It sounded like it had wings, so maybe it was a bird or bat trying to get warm. Who knows but we were exhausted and I was still scared. It finally stopped and we were able to get a little more sleep.

We awoke the next morning and the tile floor next to my husband’s side of the bed was wet. We could not figure out where the water came from, because the bathroom was on the other side of the room. We could not get out of this “hotel from h*ll” fast enough!

I stopped at the front desk and explained our concerns to the woman working there. She said there is nothing that they could have done about the drunk people banging on the doors, except call the sheriff. She said she had no idea about what kind of animals were trying to get into the room. She stated that they don’t have enough money to renovate the bathrooms and I was mistaken, the bathroom was not dirty, just stained.

They call this a “resort” but it definitely is not! We were miserable for a good part of the night, exhausted from too little sleep, cold, and we had to pay $121 for all of this. I do not recommend the Blackfin for anyone.

  • Liked — Bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — Gross dirty stained bathroom, drunk people & animals trying to get into our room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mindyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, Tyne and Wear, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

The Blackfin resort was one of 5 motels in Marathon my wife and I had shortlisted for our tour down the Keys. It was the forth we looked at and decided to stay. We were first shown a basic room that didnt look as if it had been updated since the 70's. I asked if they had anything a bit more modern and we were shown another room which was a bit more expensive ($89 per night) and a lot bigger and nicer having been recently refurbished. We got this price due to it being 'off season'.

The room was clean, good bathroom area, fridge, coffee maker, TV. Everything was OK but the air conditioner was a bit noisy.

The best thing about this place is the peace and quiet around the Mariner. There is a realy nice atmosphere during the day but especialy at night where the water is lit up with lights which attract some very impressive Tarpon. Good for snorkelling and easy access from the sunbathing area. We never used the swimming pool as we were down the 'beach' all day. The staff were very helpful and friendly and recommended good eating places (Wooden Spoon for typical homecooked breakfast. Porkies for waterside evening dining - I ordered a whole rack of ribs which was questioned by the waitress "ARE YOU SURE". When they came it is the biggest rack of ribs I have ever had and very nice while they lasted) .

Great views as the sunsets over the Gulf and we didnt get eaten alive by the night creatures. If you are into fishing then there is plenty to target. Catching them is a different matter !

Yes I would stay again.

  • Liked — Night time on the fishing pier
  • Disliked — Typical old style motel rooms setup
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fozally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

If you're seeking value, convenience, and unbelievable relaxation, this is the place to go!

We thoroughly enjoyed a week's stay at Blackfin last September for our wedding anniversary. It was more than we could've hoped for, and now we're making it our annual destination for future anniversaries.

If you're into flashy, over-priced accommodations, Blackfin's not your pick. But the rooms are very nice, clean, and have great A/C's -- the staff are exceptional. The rooms are simplistic, but the beds slept wonderfully and we lacked for nothing. (The rooms have tile flooring, so I'd recommend packing slippers and a couple throw rugs if you dislike sand on your feet - because it will track inside during a stay.)

Honestly, we only did a day trip to Key West, and were biting at the bit to get back to Blackfin! The "beach" area at Blackfin is simply the best. It's not sandy enough to lay on, but there are plenty chaise lounges and picnic tables, etc. It is incredibly picturesque & peaceful. You can fish, snorkel, swim, or just sun-bathe. You can bring your boat and rent a slip in the marina. There are LOTS of lobster all around the rocky beach area, ready for plucking (during season, of course). There are plenty of grills throughout the property, some in shady areas, others on the beach. The pool is nice, clean, and nothing fancy.

The Resort is very close to several stores, banks and restaurants (The Hurricane Grill is right on the property.) There is a scuba store right beside the Resort.

While there is much to visit/discover in the Keys, we spent the majority of our time at the Resort It was the most relaxing vacation I've ever experienced! Can't wait to go back this September :-)

  • Liked — Relaxing environment, local amenities, easy pace
  • Disliked — Tile flooring in rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kokoblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.8 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackfin Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackfin Resort and Marina

Property: Blackfin Resort and Marina
Address: 4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2396
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackfin Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackfin Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfin Resort And Marina Hotel Marathon
Blackfin Resort And Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing