We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a wonderful part of the 'Keys experience!”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reef Resort
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Reef at Marathon was a really nice place to stay when we visited the Keys. Location, location, location! It is only about 50 miles to Key West so visiting there was a breeze. And going to Key West we got to travel over the 7 Mile Bridge and look at Henry Flagler's overseas railway as we went! Awesome! The resort is a bit dated but they were working on the cottages when we were there, getting them ready for the summer season. So when you visit it should be ready to go. Our cottage was clean, smelled great, stocked with everything we could need or want, and the staff was courteous and friendly. Our only complaint was the Internet service; it kept coming and going so uploading our pictures to Facebook didn't always work. But this was not due to something the resort was doing or not doing, it was simply the area. Overall we enjoyed our time at this resort with its quaint, beach-town feel. Definitely a place we would return to and also a place we will tell our friends about. It is not a Gold Crown resort. But we felt like the service, cleanliness, and location outweighed this!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ExplorerScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was a very nice getaway for us. The villas are rustic, but have everything you need in the kitchen and cable so what more could you ask for?! The sofa is beach furniture so not a big comfy couch, but was fine for us because we weren't there to be inside. The beds were a little hard, so my suggestion is to bring your own down comforter and pillows and you will be fine! The bathroom isn't great, but everything is clean. It is not a take a bath kind of tub, but shower is just fine for us. The staff couldn't be sweeter. They have canoes, bikes and paddle boards that you can use for free which is a big bonus! The pool is very nice and clean! It is a quiet resort , not a party place, which was great for us! This is a great place to stay for a rustic getaway! It is probably not the place for Hilton type people, but fine for a little cottage getaway! We would return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Libby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We are an original owner of unit 37, best unit location and view. Love coming here every year - big fan of Marathon and Florida Keys. We're terribly disappointed in the upkeep of the interior or our Villa - carpet is torn, dirty and most of the furniture, flooring, bathrooms, blinds and cabinetry is horribly dated and in need of replacement. Place is beautiful on outside, if they do a replacement of interior unit we'll return, if not we will not!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank larryglick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We loved staying at the Reef II. We had a one-bedroom condo and it was perfect for us. The resort is on a bay with Rachel Island out in the distance. The bay is a protected area so there is a lot of wildlife in the area. The Reef has a it's own private marina area w/ boat launch (the launch is for smaller boats only). There is a large heated pool and beautiful covered picnic area. Each condo in the Reef II has a large screened porch. Kayaks, canoes and bikes are there for your use- no charge! We could walk to K-Mart and the Winn-Dixie so it's close to stores but still very quiet and secluded. We absolutely loved it and will be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim_and_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed at the Reef Resort in one of the condo / motel type rooms during the first week of June 2009. We rented an efficiency unit across from the timeshares. Our room was very clean & was decorated in the tropical keys fashion. It was very cute. Love some of the pictures on the walls. This unit was furnished with dishes & cooking utensils, towels, etc. They could use a few more items in the kitchen but as we ate out most of the time it was not a problem. This section has 1 & 2 bedroom condo units which originally was a motel and all have been renovated. There is a coin opereated laundry area. The timeshare units on the other side of the boat dockage area are all 2 bedroom and have washer / dryer included.The location is pretty good. Not far from Publix, Winn Dixie and other stores and Marathon is central to the keys which was great.
We made a day trip to Key West as well as explored Marathon a little more. Most of our days were spent fishing where we caught Mahi which we cooked on the grill at the resort. We also enjoyed Sparky's in Key Colony Beach and Burdines as well as Upper Crust Pizza and The Stuffed Pig.
The pool at the Reef is very nice, it's only 6 foot deep but was kept very clean and was usually not crowded. There are paddle boats and canoes for your use. The managers at the resort were on site and very helpful if you needed anything. We met the owners of one of the other condo's and they were really great. Very helpful to us too with lots of local info.
There is a boat ramp onsite but it is made for small boats. We used the boat ramp by the yacht club on 33rd street which has been made larger and was very easy to use. The timeshares are great if you have family but for just 2 people the condo was great. The last time we stayed here was many years ago and at that time they had a game room which unfortunately was taken out by hurricane Wilma. They have done a lot of work to restore everything back to normal. We enjoyed our stay which was a great get away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bornwithwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our stay was great, everything was fun. Would want to be cautious with children and older folks with the villas, but we loved them! Nothing very fancy but certainly met our need and more. The kitchen was well stocked and basically nothing was missing. The bathrooms are nothing great but adequate also. We had a boat and it was great to have it right outside our door. The pool was adequate but could use some character. Many free offerings with the canoes, kayaks, bicycles, and barbecues. Could use a jacuzzi but...
No doubt a great value!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruzngal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Just returned from a week at The Reef at the Marathon – traded our timeshare time from RCI. Boat ramp, docks just redone – new pool and club house. We rode the bikes to Sombrero Beach that is about a 15 minute ride. Kayaking/canoeing - available 8-5 but will give you the key overnight for early or late paddling out to a conveniently located island with many birds & sometimes dolphin. Grounds - gravel (ouch) everywhere, friendly cat – loved him, lovely flowering shrubs, well maintained. The resort doesn’t have a lot of units and the units are octagon shaped on a pedestal base so you have a set of two stairways to get up to unit with a wraparound porch. The two bedrooms, two bath units have complete kitchens fully equipped, Washer/dryer underneath the villa, one television, hair dryer. Near airport so small planes occasionally fly overhead and low but did not bother us a bit, little road noise. Nice location in regards to day trips to Key West and attractions. MANAGER AND WORKERS ARE VERY FRIENDLY. Weather was prefect, in the 80's everyday and we were there April 3-11th. We had 3 of our kids with us that are in their 20's and us in our late 40's and early 50's. Nice relaxing, fun week! Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disneynut84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
3.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
10.6 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Address: 6800 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3100
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Marathon
Reef Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing