We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reef with boat & teens”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reef Resort
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Just returned from a week at The Reef - wanted to check out as a timeshare possibility. Boat ramp - poor design, had to use Marathon public rams closeby. Docks- great just redone. Pool - wonderful and clean. Manatees - surprise visitors to the dock area. Kayaking/canoeing - available 8-5 but will give you the key overnight for early or late paddling out to a conveniently located island with many birds & sometimes dolphin. Grounds - gravel (ouch) everywhere, friendly cat, lovely flowering shrubs, well maintained. Units - beds lumpy, many units near Overseas highway so you get traffic noise all night, well stocked and clean, tv old (could not plug in portable dvd), nice to have washer/dryer.
Also, just past airport so some small plane noise. Lots of rules but will work with responsible individuals if you ask nicely.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 2kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2007

Just returned for a week stay at the Reef Resort at Marathon Key in the Florida Keys. The resort doesnt have alot of units and the units are octogan shaped on a pedestal base so you have a set of two stairways to get up to unit with a wrap around porch. With this in mind and no children play areas I feel that this resort is not one for persons with trouble doing stairs or small children. The two bdrm, two bath units have complete kitchens fully equiped, laundry, one television, no hair dryers. Housekeeping only on check out day which we do not mind at all. We shared unit with another couple - we are 59 yrs to 72 yrs. and found it to be comfortable. Clean but furniture and other equipment to be rated as average-good condition. Nice location in regards to day trips and attractions. Swimming pool nice and updated. Located on the Bay so nice boardwalk/docks, views, fishing. Fish cleaning stations available and dockage for your own boat or boat rental. Near airport so small planes occasionally fly overhead and low but did not bother us a bit. Sort of interesting in fact. All workers friendly. Free usage of bikes, paddleboat, kayak, canoe...not in brand new condition but usable. Nice relaxing, fun week!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanetadrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rhode Island
19
Reviewed 12 February 2006

This place was exactly what I needed! All the ambiance of the keys with a bit more luxury. I was lucky enough to rent one of the two units that have stairs directly to the pool. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms. Well maintained. Very well supplied kitchen and even a washer and dryer!!! It was perfectly located for everything I wanted to do.
I was also lucky enough to have met the owner of the unit and was able to book this same unit in advance...forever I hope!
Going back the first week of March.
J.R.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2004

We happened upon this when we were looking to get out of our booking at the Sombrero Resort. We were given a lovely 1 bedroom condo that did not look like much from the outside, but was super clean and beautiful on the inside. Everything was great from the room to the pool to the free use of canoes and kayaks. Highly recommend this and we travel quite a bit. One warning - since these are individually owned condos and some timeshares too - some may be nicer than others!

19  Thank lhk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2004

The resort was very nice. The villa was very clean and spacious. Situated on a lovely marina, it was located perfectly to everything the Keys have to offer. Had Thanksgiving dinner at Cabot's on the water. Excellent! Would definitely like to return someday soon.

21  Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
3.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
816 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
1.2 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Address: 6800 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3100
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range: £172 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Marathon
Reef Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing