We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location without the huge crowds, very helpful staff.”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reef Resort
central Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location without the huge crowds, very helpful staff.”
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our stay was great, everything was fun. Would want to be cautious with children and older folks with the villas, but we loved them! Nothing very fancy but certainly met our need and more. The kitchen was well stocked and basically nothing was missing. The bathrooms are nothing great but adequate also. We had a boat and it was great to have it right outside our door. The pool was adequate but could use some character. Many free offerings with the canoes, kayaks, bicycles, and barbecues. Could use a jacuzzi but...
No doubt a great value!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruzngal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Just returned from a week at The Reef at the Marathon – traded our timeshare time from RCI. Boat ramp, docks just redone – new pool and club house. We rode the bikes to Sombrero Beach that is about a 15 minute ride. Kayaking/canoeing - available 8-5 but will give you the key overnight for early or late paddling out to a conveniently located island with many birds & sometimes dolphin. Grounds - gravel (ouch) everywhere, friendly cat – loved him, lovely flowering shrubs, well maintained. The resort doesn’t have a lot of units and the units are octagon shaped on a pedestal base so you have a set of two stairways to get up to unit with a wraparound porch. The two bedrooms, two bath units have complete kitchens fully equipped, Washer/dryer underneath the villa, one television, hair dryer. Near airport so small planes occasionally fly overhead and low but did not bother us a bit, little road noise. Nice location in regards to day trips to Key West and attractions. MANAGER AND WORKERS ARE VERY FRIENDLY. Weather was prefect, in the 80's everyday and we were there April 3-11th. We had 3 of our kids with us that are in their 20's and us in our late 40's and early 50's. Nice relaxing, fun week! Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disneynut84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Stayed at The Reef for a week. Very happy with the place. We did not bring a boat but, the marina looked nice (although it was small.) The people that worked here were super super friendly and helpful. The unit was small but clean. The Reef is very centrally located in Marathon so it is very close to all the good restaurants, as well as being near to the grocery stores (Winn Dixie and Publix) and K mart. The only small complaints I have were #1-the kayaks were hard to get access to. People had checked them out the previous day (for a morning trip I would assume) yet, when I left at 10 AM they were all still just sitting on the dock. I would not bank on using the water equipment they provide here. Not enough for too many people, and not a good system. #2-they were doing construction/repairs on a unit nearby and it was somewhat loud and disturbing/ A lot of hammering and electrical drills and such. Not a big deal, just thought I would mention it. We did not use the pool but it looked nice and very well kept! Overall, I enjoyed my stay at The Reef.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not really a view
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nikkecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Just returned from a week at The Reef - wanted to check out as a timeshare possibility. Boat ramp - poor design, had to use Marathon public rams closeby. Docks- great just redone. Pool - wonderful and clean. Manatees - surprise visitors to the dock area. Kayaking/canoeing - available 8-5 but will give you the key overnight for early or late paddling out to a conveniently located island with many birds & sometimes dolphin. Grounds - gravel (ouch) everywhere, friendly cat, lovely flowering shrubs, well maintained. Units - beds lumpy, many units near Overseas highway so you get traffic noise all night, well stocked and clean, tv old (could not plug in portable dvd), nice to have washer/dryer.
Also, just past airport so some small plane noise. Lots of rules but will work with responsible individuals if you ask nicely.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, boat dockage, pool, kitchen and laundry.
  • Disliked — Rules, furniture, steps to villas, street noise.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Just returned for a week stay at the Reef Resort at Marathon Key in the Florida Keys. The resort doesnt have alot of units and the units are octogan shaped on a pedestal base so you have a set of two stairways to get up to unit with a wrap around porch. With this in mind and no children play areas I feel that this resort is not one for persons with trouble doing stairs or small children. The two bdrm, two bath units have complete kitchens fully equiped, laundry, one television, no hair dryers. Housekeeping only on check out day which we do not mind at all. We shared unit with another couple - we are 59 yrs to 72 yrs. and found it to be comfortable. Clean but furniture and other equipment to be rated as average-good condition. Nice location in regards to day trips and attractions. Swimming pool nice and updated. Located on the Bay so nice boardwalk/docks, views, fishing. Fish cleaning stations available and dockage for your own boat or boat rental. Near airport so small planes occasionally fly overhead and low but did not bother us a bit. Sort of interesting in fact. All workers friendly. Free usage of bikes, paddleboat, kayak, canoe...not in brand new condition but usable. Nice relaxing, fun week!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No inernet availbility
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanetadrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 February 2006

This place was exactly what I needed! All the ambiance of the keys with a bit more luxury. I was lucky enough to rent one of the two units that have stairs directly to the pool. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms. Well maintained. Very well supplied kitchen and even a washer and dryer!!! It was perfectly located for everything I wanted to do.
I was also lucky enough to have met the owner of the unit and was able to book this same unit in advance...forever I hope!
Going back the first week of March.
J.R.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2004

We happened upon this when we were looking to get out of our booking at the Sombrero Resort. We were given a lovely 1 bedroom condo that did not look like much from the outside, but was super clean and beautiful on the inside. Everything was great from the room to the pool to the free use of canoes and kayaks. Highly recommend this and we travel quite a bit. One warning - since these are individually owned condos and some timeshares too - some may be nicer than others!

Helpful?
19 Thank lhk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
3.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Property: Reef Resort
Address: 6800 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3100
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Marathon
Reef Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing