We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tent camping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knights Key RV Resort & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tent camping”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It is a nice place to stay, but maybe not the best if you're going tent camping (as you might guess from the name). We went there because most other places were booked out. It's just not the right atmosphere for tent camping in my opinion. Also you're right next to US 1 (although what place in the Keys is not?) so you will definitely hear the cars going by at night.
Other than that the place is not bad. If you pay more you can get a spot close to the water. The whole area is lit by streetlights in the night (again not so great atmosphere for tent camping, but you can feel safe) and patrolled by the police/sheriff. They also said they have security personel, though I never saw them. The bathhouse looks okay, has several showers and toilets. They also have a bar on the water (which we never visited) and a club house with pool, table tennis and shuffle board. And they have Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hummingfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    3
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
28
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My son and I like to tent and planned on staying at a State Camp Ground but my boss took so long to approve my vacation this was the only place open.Why you might ask? Well it's expensive for a tent site, 70+ dollars, 2.00 a bag for small bag of ice and you'll need at least 2 bags a day if you tent. After we got there we saw sign at modest hotels for the same price. Which would have been handy when 30 mile an hour winds and torrential down pouring rains came in and I thought we were going to be swept out to see(slept in car one night). Of course they give you a big 10% discount if you pay for a full week so we were locked in in spite of bad weather.
It took us 3 days to find the "man made private beach" small but sweet, the restaurant had weird hours and was closed I think every Sunday Monday Tuesday , not sure, but the one time we went it was cash only and no cash machine. I liked the staff in the hut at the entrance, very friendly, the park was very quiet, no riff raff, bathrooms were clean and someone put fresh cut flowers in the womens bathroom which was a nice touch. I think they gave us the best spot in the whole camp ground which I am not going to tell you because I want it if I go back. Oh and the location was fabulous, near 7 mile bridge and nice restaurants- all and all a b+ the only thing that would make it better in my mind would be a pool or a lower price for tenters-45 max.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnywray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dania Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a great time here. We’re not huge into camping (in tents) but since the weather has been so nice we thought we’d give it a try. I’ll be honest, this was last minute and this was the only campground we found available, so that’s how we chose it. Reviews were limited, which is why I am taking the time to write about them, and I took some photos. We travel to the Keys very often, but this was my first camping trip in many years and we figured we’d try something new in the Keys for us.

All in all, we had a great time. We were there for two nights, and took a partial ocean view spot with electric and water on site. I can’t talk about the tiki bar or restaurant because we never made it. But I stopped on for coffee Saturday morning and they were friendly and nice. Sunday, maybe it was the time change, but I went there at 8:15 am and they weren’t open yet. I wasn’t aware of the hours either so I really can’t say for sure, but again, I was just there for coffee which I got on the road. On a longer trip, I hope to check out the tiki bar.
There were others camping in tents, but mostly RV’s. The restrooms and showers were very well taken care of and clean. This was of course the most important detail in my mind and I was happy to feel comfortable.

The employees were friendly at check in and check out, they were very helpful. Trash service was always on time. The property was quiet overall. I felt a bit too quiet at times and was nervous about making noise, but everyone staying here was friendly and courteous.
Again, short trip, but we’ll be back. Great location; close enough to the city of Marathon, and right on the top edge of the 7-Mile bridge. I liked the location and the campground overall. We were even close enough to Key West to drive down for a few hours and come back up to fish a little while and cook out by the tents. Price wise, I guess the weather was perfect so this is the high season. Still a tad high at just over 100/night including the charge for the spot, another charge for each person, charge for the water view even though it wasn’t partial view (it was no view) and (of course) all the state and tourist taxes. I’d stay again, but if I pay for a water view again I will be more specific or I’ll take an interior spot if there aren’t any available.

Room Tip: There were some good ocean view spots I saw while walking around. I was told we had a mangrove tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at Knight's Key between Christmas and New Year's. Extremely friendly staff, clean campground, and (compared to some other campgrounds we saw) spacious sites. There is a small restaurant on site, but have cash with you because they don't take credit cards. The tiki bar also does not take cards. Or a liquor license, so if you want a mixed drink, they will serve you the premade stuff that you get at the grocery store.
The campground is quiet with some excellent views. Bathhouses are well maintained with plenty of hot water. The campground is within walking/biking to Pigeon Key, as well as restaurants near the 7 Mile Bridge.
We will definitely keep this on our list of potential places to stay while in the Keys.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tnslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
6.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 17 in Marathon
323 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Key RV Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Key RV Resort & Marina

Property: Knights Key RV Resort & Marina
Address: #1 Knights Key Blvd., Marathon, FL 33050
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Key RV Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knights Key Park and Marina has been a destination for campers for over 50 years. If you long for that laid back Florida Keys lifestyle, the way things used to be, you are going to love it here. We are not as fancy as some of the newer parks but we do offer the tropical island feel vacationers are looking for. Our staff is made up of friendly, knowledgeable locals that will gladly help with any needs. We are located in Marathon in the heart of the Keys! At mile marker 47, at the north end of the famous Seven Mile bridge on the Atlantic side. Our unique location offers quick access to the gulf or the Atlantic and is only 5.5 nautical miles to Sombrero Reef one of the most magnificent coral reefs in the keys! Knights Key is only 16 minutes away from Bahia Honda State Park, voted one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. We are also port for the Pigeon Key ferry boat which offers numerous day trips to the historical Pigeon Key. I am sure you have heard the term "enter as strangers leave as friends" before and though I can't prove it I'm pretty sure it originated here on the FUN ISLAND! Your hosts Randy, Debra and our great staff at Knights Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Key RV Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Key RV Resort & Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing