We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a quick stop if you love planes” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of EAA Air Museum

EAA Air Museum
Ranked #15 of 48 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
274 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop if you love planes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband is a private pilot, so we will always make at least a quick stop any time there are planes. On our way going down towards Key West, we were there on a week day in the middle of the day and found the place closed. When we got to our hotel, my husband called and they said that in July, they don't have set hours and it's basically only when one of the volunteers is there to open the place up. We figured we would check on our way after leaving the Keys and happened to find it opened. It's extremely small but as others have mentioned, the volunteers are very eager tell you stories of some of the planes. There is no fee but they do accept donations. It's a nice place to get out and stretch your legs, but unless you really enjoy planes, this may not be to your liking. But for a pilot or someone fascinated by aviation, it is still worth a stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little bit of history and a lot of great stories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This little air museum is worth a stop. A group of retired Vetaren's and Pilots and their love of their country opened up this little museum that is filled with a lot of history, that clearly is due to their commitment to our country and the men that served. The museum has acquired some interesting old airplanes (that you can actually go into and see first hand) as well as aircraft and memorabilia that is worth seeing. When you visit the museum you are met by a group of former vets and pilots who will enthusiastically show you around and share very interesting information and stories of American history. This museum is open due to donations and is free to get in. The museum is located on the Marathon Airfield (the beginning of the airfield on the right side when you come into Marathon) - It is easy to pass this little gem, if you do pass it make sure to turn around and go back. It is a great place to bring your kids to learn about some great history that can be interesting as well as fun. Worth the stop!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonnaonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stopped by this Museum and were very happy we did. This museum located at the Marathon Airport is right off the overseas hwy. on Marathon Key.Our guide was Avery, after we saw the picture and other exhibits in the viewing area he took us outside on the Tarmac to see the DC- 3.Going inside the plane was like taking a trip back in time.This place is a great stop and its free.We gladly gave a donation to keep it going !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Petergun1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great place to soak up some nostalgic aviation history. There is no charge only a suggested donation. The docents are very informative and super hospitable. Don't miss stepping aboard the old Ozark Airlines D-C3 and taking a look at the seat Grace Kelly occupied on a trip. It's a fun little rest stop along the Overseas Highway in the Florida Keys and will add to your adventure along the way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fabulousbakerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
501 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“If you love the DC-3 you have to visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We had to visit this little museum as we love the DC-3 Dakota. It's free too! It's really an aviation club with a couple of well preserved classic planes and a small memorabilia collection but we loved it.

The DC-3 is absolutely beautiful (if you like that kinda stuff!) and has an amazing history (including service with the USAF, the Berlin airlift, Continental Airlines and as a flying museum).

My only negative is that the memorabilia could be better organised by a volunteer curator.

I'd recommend this museum and please don't forget to leave a little donation! Oh and say 'hi' to that Dakota from me!

Helpful?
2 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EAA Air Museum also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to EAA Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing