We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Casa Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed 18 March 2013

March 2013. We have just returned from a month stay at this resort. We were returning for our 5th year. Plush and fancy are not our requirements, clean and tidy are, the Casa meets these needs. The staff is friendly and helpful to the best of their ability. We feel the economy has taken it's toll on the Casa but it is gradually recovering and improvements are being made. The full kitchen and working washer and dryer in each unit are wonderful for anyone staying a length of time. We have read comments about the beach that were not favorable. It is a 'Keys' beach, the staff cleans it most every day, but it is still a product of mother nature, that humans have no control over. We feel comfortable here and will return again if we are able.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank MNSNOWFOLKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thanks for the review, sir. We enjoyed our many conversations with you, and we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

What a pleasant surprise ! I first booked at the more " back to basics" property, Bonefish it along with Yellowtail are part of the same ownership group. On line reviews for all these 3 properties were not great, but location was good. When I began calling around, the staff I reached when I called Bonefish was by far friendlier than other properties I called , even much more expensive. A day before my reservation, I found that our party size was increasing. I called to try to upgrade to Yellowtail. It was booked, but the great staff member, upgraded us to Casa Del Sol for the same price as a Yellow tail upgrade. My daughter and I were arriving from Miami and meeting my sister and her boyfriend who were arriving separately. We arrived hours early, and they accommodated us by upgrading us free of charge to a 3 bedroom suite! Every request we made during our stay was met by pleasant staff . The rooms and grounds were very good for the Keys. Pretty sure complaints from people about the beach are from travelers not familiar with the area....This was the best beach area I have seen in this part of the keys! Need to know its not South Beach in Miami Beach where we live. This is a natural area with wonderful birds, fishing, snorkeling .... Laid back and beautiful! Casa Del Sol was everything we had hoped for and more! I plan to boom here again and would not hesitate to stay at either of the more modest properties , Yellowtail or Bonefish, as the location, staff and amenities are the same. Thank you for a great trip to Grassy Key!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thanks so much for the nice review! We loved having you here, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My photos titled March 2013.
Opinion first: Room 206 top floor end. The photos are better than it was; nice staff when they were there. The place is run down, it's just not maintained. The remodel that was done would barely be okay in Mexico. It's on the 55 mph hour which always has lots of traffic. I wish we had spent more anywhere else. That all said IF you have to have two bedrooms, direct east ocean views, screened in lanai, and kitchen; then at $300 per night your options are limited. And this might be your best bet. The lanai was great, ate their twice a day; separate bed for the kid to try to nap was good. I wish we had forgone the 2nd bdrm, or view, or kitchen to stay at a nice place. couldn't sleep with windows open to listen to tiny waved or palms in wind due to hwy noise.

Then facts:
After you use the 2 slice toaster it needs to cool for 5 minutes before it will stay down, one of the coils is out so one piece of toast is done on one side. The kitchen faucet is loose. The dish washer is not connected to the counter top so when you open the door and then pull out the drawer, the door falls to the floor. It needs paint. The sheets are tread bare and smell of bleach ( (just like motel 6), flat lumpy pillows, 1 couch has no legs and is coing unraveled, the other is tread bare. It is on hwy which is loud, The sand beach is compacted rock base seaweed & trash (granted they had a storm come in before we were there, but it should not take more than a week to clean it, walking in water is 2" slimy squishy mud-sand gooing through your toes after easily breaking through a dark brown crusty surface, pool heater permanently broken, the kitchen is very pool stocked (largest frying pan is 6" -there are two, one knife - a bread knife) not close to anything- drive everywhere-15 minutes to grocery, positives: laundry, kitchen works, covered parking, elevator, internet works 1/2 time, this and two south properties same owner & same front desks: yellowtail & abandon restaurant.
We won't be back; but a lot of other folks like it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brucet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thanks for the review, and for your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The rooms are clean and good maintained. We had room nr.5 and it has 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom and 1 toilet, living room with kitchen, not very well equiped. This is not a hotel-the reception is in the neighbour resort, there is only building with the rooms and parking in ground floor. Main street is very close to the building, in our room we didn´t hear it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evita29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thanks for your business, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed at the Casa del Sol with my parents and brother (all adults) earlier this month. The resort was excellent! The room is great-we had a full kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms (one with a king, the other with 2 doubles), 2.5 bathrooms (one with walk in shower, the other with whirlpool tub), and balconies with wonderful views of the beach/property. The resort is a reasonable distance from town, so it's quieter, but isn't out in the boondocks either. The room was clean and comfortable. Sure, a couple things are a little worn, but it's nothing beyond normal wear and tear, and it was so small that we barely noticed. This resort is basically like staying in a nice condo or apartment.

Room Tip: Choose a room where the door does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disneygirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thanks for the kind words! We appreciate you business, and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Casa del Sol in early November. The place was clean and was kept well. The beach area was nice and clean, even when the seaweed is on the beach it is drag clear of the beach. Price was affordable and a good price for that time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thanks for the kind words! We loved having you and hope you can stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Worth half the price!
The pictures showing the hotel are a real fraud: before to book I suggest to have a look of the pictures made by customers. The so called "beach" is stinky and full of seaweed: during low tide looks like the moon.
A very noisy main street is very very close to the rooms.
The guy at the desk is unfriendly: he just give you the key without even a "welcome!" we (2 adults and 2 kids) paid about $ 213,00
After a few hours, we escape: for half the price, we got a superb room at the Islander Resort (Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, P.O. BOX 766, Islamorada): we (2 adults and 2 kids) paid about $ 135,00

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fulcierigraziani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

First of all, thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry if you feel you were misled about our resort. Please allow me to inform you about the geography of the Florida Keys- these are coral rock islands, and the sandy beaches that you find on the mainland simply don't exist here. Any sandy beach you see in the Keys is man-made, and it is my sincere opinion that ours is as nice as, or nicer than, any other beach from Key Largo to Key West. We work very hard to keep our beach clean and beautiful, and our grounds staffs cleans the beach every day to ensure it is in tip-top shape for our guests. We take all feedback very seriously, but unfortunately we can't meet everyone's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
10.2 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 16 in Marathon
328 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Sol Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Sol Beach Resort

Address: 58182 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £173 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior Florida Keys beach resort overlooking largest stretch of private sandy beach in the middle keys, Casa Del Sol Beach Resort is located on the island of Marathon, Florida in the middle of Florida Keys. Hotel offers its guests the ultimate in carefree comforts, services and first class resort luxury. All suites feature fully equipped designer kitchens, high end stainless steel appliances, luxurious bed linens and private enclosed balconies that overlook azure waters of Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Sol Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Beach Hotel Marathon
Grassy Key
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing