We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess I should have read the reviews..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Two thumbs down. This will be my one and only lesson about actually reading reviews and not just going off of overall rating. Let's start from the top, shall we? First off, the big no no was the ants. We had sugar/ghost ants that showed up as quickly as we did. When I brought it to managements attention they copped an attitude and asked if I had food out. Of course we had food on the counter (the place included a kitchen) but nothing that wasn't sealed and no crumbs, etc. We went to dinner when they 'sent someone out'. Needless to say our guests never left, nor seemed discouraged by the treatment. Second major offense, they charge you a daily resort fee, but DON'T service the rooms daily. Our trash wasn't even changed until almost 5pm. When we asked the guy why our room wasn't serviced, he couldn't answer due to a language barrier, but managed to express that it wasn't every day. They claim in their own description they offer designer toiletries but I beg to differ. The "queen" beds were terrible, all springs and oddly small for being a queen. Lastly, our reservation stated "ocean front suite" but our room didn't even face the ocean. When this was brought up along with the ant problem I was given another snide remark and told that they couldn't move me anyway because they were booked. With that being said, you now have enough information to make an educated decision on Casa Del Sol. If I had done a little more research then I definitely wouldn't be regretting my choice of hotels now.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jennafer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in #203 a 3 bedroom condo at Casa Del Sol with a family of (2) adults (3) preteens 10-13 years & (2) teenagers 16 years old. Condo was roomy for our family it was nice every one has their own space. The staff greeted us upon check in and were very nice. The front office had a big selection of DVD movies to borrow which our kids enjoyed at night. Condo is in need of a good deep clean, and maintenance. Upon arrival the towel were very frayed and sheets were very thin with stains on them, this resort needs to invest in need linens. The beach was full of very smelly sea grass and was in need of up keep, the beach is asset and should be taken care of. Overall for the money I was expecting better then just ok, Casa Del Sol staff could turn this into a beautiful resort with some maintenance and up keep.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisconsinMom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Location is right on a busy noisy road, small man made beach was ok if it had not been covered with ants. Apartments are ok just just in need of an update and a good clean we also had ants in the bathroom and bed room, hairs on the sheets and cigarette butts on the balcony. This was not worth the money at all, wish we would have read more reviews before booking the room , thankfully we just stayed one night.

Room Tip: The holiday inn down the road look nice wish I had booked that as it was $70 cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 107Janec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Check your room before you sign any paperwork. We apparently signed a sheet the stated: NO REFUNDS FOR EARLY DEPARTURES. We did not realize that until our Credit card company faxed us a copy of it. We had told the manager 3 hours after being there that we would only be staying the two nights that were already paid for. We ended up being charged for the full week. We were never once made aware that we had signed that sheet or told we would be charged If we left. I was a health inspector for 13 years and did not feel this was a safe or sanitary environment for us or our children. It is one of the filthiest places I have ever stayed. They have a F rating with the better business bureau. Receiving over 10 complaints in the last year and not respomding to any of them. NOT THE PLACE TO STAY!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 157BrendaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were welcomed by a dumpster and a huge pile of rotting seaweed. We got to our room and the door handle was about ready to fall off. We wore shoes the whole time bc our feet were black if we didn't. There were ants on the counter, food and dirt on the walls and around the stove. The sheets and towels were almost transparent with stains on them (wouldn't wash my car with them) I did wash our sheets and comforter bc I was grossed out by them. I had to clean all the mold out of the washer first (very disgusting). We used the extra sheets to cover the stained couch. We did not even get maid service the second day we were there. The screens had holes in them and the balcony was filthy. The beach was a huge muddy mess from them trying to keep the seaweed off of it. The grills that are provided were all rusting out. (not very usable). The management was not helpful at all. Unless you want to bring you own linens and cleaning crew I do not recommend this place. Filthiest place I have ever stayed. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

we went here for vacation.....it is NOT a RESORT..THERES IS NO FRONT DESK.There was a banner over an old sign....There was a giant roll off full of food and seaweed next to the rooms....the room smelled Real Bad and made us choke from a Chlorox smell..THE BATHROOMS AND BALCONY WERE FILTHY..the front desk would not address the problems....This is deception in a big way....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RHINO60025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Don't come here, this place is a dump. Holes in towels, soiled linens, malfunctioning appliances, whirl pool tubs inoperable, and that's just the beginning of what we experienced. There was broken down lawn furniture and a disgusting beachfront full of trash, seaweed, and dangerous objects in the sand (needles). They have no replacement sheets or towels. They also have an ineffective maintenance and housekeeping staff. They are nothing compared to the arrogant and disrespectful manager

If they kept up with daily maintenance, it could be descent place. Mainly, they DON'T treat their customers with honesty, courtesy, and respect. There is a reason they ask for all their money up front, because when you get there, you will want it back. They give no refunds for any reason. We had to call the cops on the manager and forced them to issue our party and another from Switzerland a partial refund for their crap rooms! We still lost 3 days of our vacation fighting with these maniacs, not to mention $900 for two nights in a poop hole.

P.S. The water is only 1/2" to ankle deep for several hundred yards from the beach. Don't plan on any type of boat or boarding.

You can see the huge pile of seaweed in one of these photos. It was full of biting bugs and smelled like, well, poop. There is a lot of bird poo around as well. It's never cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PabloFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
10.2 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 16 in Marathon
328 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Sol Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Sol Beach Resort

Address: 58182 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £171 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior Florida Keys beach resort overlooking largest stretch of private sandy beach in the middle keys, Casa Del Sol Beach Resort is located on the island of Marathon, Florida in the middle of Florida Keys. Hotel offers its guests the ultimate in carefree comforts, services and first class resort luxury. All suites feature fully equipped designer kitchens, high end stainless steel appliances, luxurious bed linens and private enclosed balconies that overlook azure waters of Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Sol Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Beach Hotel Marathon
Grassy Key
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing