We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 7 July 2008

This is probably the best place in the keys. Quite, family atmosphere. I expected the keys to be a wild partying and tourist trap type place. If you stay here, it's not like that at all. It's a very quiet family atmosphere. We loved all of our vacation. Beware that when the web site says 2 bedroom, 2 bath, it can mean, 1 and a half bath. We needed an extra bath with shower so the employees at the resort worked with us and the second day there, we moved to a real 2 bedroom, 2 bath room. This was the only problem we had and I don't call it a problem. The staff is wonderful. The pictures on the web site are exactly what the place looks like. I had older kids with me so they did get a little bored. No waves in the keys but they had fun with the kayaks and fishing off the pier. Overall, it is a great place. Don't hesitate to book your vacation here.

Jackie Copley

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Wow! Thanks for the kind review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    54
    34
    19
    65
See reviews for
108
42
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west palm beach, fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We've just returned from a short stay in the Keys at this resort. From the road it looks like an old Keys Hotel that has had just the bare minimum done to keep it going. The inside was a lovely surprise. We had a 2 bedroom unit with a living room/kitchen. The kitchen had newer, stainless appliances w/everything you would need. Also a plus was the washer/dryer. It was so nice to be able to wash/dry my beach towels and not have everything hanging in the bathroom. Furnishings were comfortable and the balconies were great. All of them were screened in so we could actually use them in the evening and not fight off bugs. The units also have central a/c. I've noticed that in FL, wall units do not keep the humidity at a comfortable level. The property is right next to their sister hotel, the Yellowtail. The office for this resort is at the Yellowtail. They could not have been nicer. Nancy was there every day we visited and was very helpful with suggesting things to do and planning our next visit (next time we want to bring our boat). The grounds could be re-landscaped, but aren't that bad. The beach was nice, but be aware that "beach" in the Keys is not like other beaches. Remember that the Keys are islands consisting of coral rock and all the "beaches" are man-made. Many hotels have a sandy sunning beach, but are bordered by a seawall. Casa Del Sol has a swimming beach, but goes out on the grass flats. You have to walk a long way to get to deeper water. It's great for small kids as there are no waves and only gets about 12" deep at high tide. There are plenty of loungers and a tiki hut to get out of the sun. Another plus is the covered parking to keep your car out of the hot FL sun. The location is nice as it's not a far drive from Islamorada, Marathon and if you must go, about an hour from Key West. There's plenty of restaurants close by if you don't want to cook. Overall I really enjoyed it and would love to go back.

  • Liked — very clean, comfortable rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenwood, nj
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

we had to evacuate because of hurricane dennis. no traffic and we had plenty of warning. they take it seriously. we were just upset because we loved it and didn't want to leave. we still had another day and night left. we put off the dolphin discovery and they closed a day before the hurricane was due. so don't wait. we went snorkeling with underseas inc. and loved it. take motion sickness meds the night before and that morning or else. i wish i had known. they take you out a lot further to see the best, but the swells were 4ft on a gorgeous day. the hotel was perfect for our family of 5. 2 bedrooms, kitchen and living area, 2 balconies. great. we could have used chairs and umbrellas. not included. we went to the store and bought them and then donated them to the hotel. they never said thank you. very nice otherwise. we checked in late on a saturday and i had a cc problem and they still let us stay till i could solve it on monday morning. we have wanted to go back. now it looks as though the beach area is bigger and there are some beach ammenities. but the keys are not for swimming as much as fishing and snorkeling or scuba. great location for bahia honda and key west visit. we enjoyed the drives to all. i loved it and would definetly go back. a little more cleaning during the stay, but great.

  • Liked — location and set up of rooms
  • Disliked — beach and no beach stuff
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karenbearcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thanks for the kind words, I'm sorry your stay was cut short by Hurricane Dennis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Great place to stay if you like:

1. Road noise - this place sits on top of route 1 - the main and only highway feeding the entire keys.
2. Like shallow weed filled beaches. Nothing like we expected for the picture. This beach is unswimmable.
3. Rude front desk service.
4. Slow cleaning service - one day we had to go with a cleaning!
5. Room switching - had to move rooms after one night because of a booking error!?
6. Had book for a week, left after two days. They would not offer a refund.. Take it up with your credit card company... Nice service.

I am a seasoned traveler for both work and pleasure. I have never been to such an experience. Normally I am very easy going, but this is the first time I have been willing to walk away and leave $800 behind.

You have fair warning.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RLTBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Being located on an island, we have a finite amount of land on which to build. We can only get so far from the highway before we run out of land. Our beach something we put a lot of work into and are very proud of. Sea-grass comes in with each tide, and we haul it off several times a week. Guests are certainly able to swim at our beach, and most guests appreciate the shallow, gradual slope of it, which enables small children to enjoy it as well.
I'm sorry if you felt our staff was rude, but we do have a very clear refund policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Well above average.
Wonderful beachfront location with unobstructed seascapes and idyllic coconut palms blowing in the breeze, which at times was very windy.
Apartment surpassed our expectations. It was immaculate with a complete range of modern appliances in the kitchen, cable TV in all the well laid out bedrooms and wifi connections. Wifi signal was weak though.
The beach although small, was cleared of sea grass each morning and was suitable for young kids. Not ideal for swimming but I wouldn't want to have shared the ocean with the sea life anyway. There is a smallish pool suitable for young kids on the property.
My only gripes were with a young office staff member who was unresponsive to our complaint about guests not clearing up their dogs' refuse and shrugging shoulders when suggesting they install a booster for the wifi connection. Some attitude training, attention to efficient customer service and having the front desk manned when trying to check out would improve the overall experience.
Forgetting the nit picking, I was very happy and loved the location, apartment facilities and the ease of reaching Marathon and Islamorada for good restaurants.
I would happily recommend the resort to friends and family.

  • Liked — Well laid out, modern, clean.
  • Disliked — Loose railings on stair, no child gate
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whitehead44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSolBeach, Manager at Casa Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thanks for the kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your accommodations. As for the service you received, there's absolutely no excuse for it, and I sincerely apologize. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Sol Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Sol Beach Resort

Property: Casa Del Sol Beach Resort
Address: 58182 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior Florida Keys beach resort overlooking largest stretch of private sandy beach in the middle keys, Casa Del Sol Beach Resort is located on the island of Marathon, Florida in the middle of Florida Keys. Hotel offers its guests the ultimate in carefree comforts, services and first class resort luxury. All suites feature fully equipped designer kitchens, high end stainless steel appliances, luxurious bed linens and private enclosed balconies that overlook azure waters of Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Sol Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Beach Hotel Marathon
Grassy Key
Casa Del Sol Beach Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing