We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Prepare Your Catch Restaurant”

Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Stonegrill Dining is a new and exciting experience that allows your meal to be presented while cooking on a stone heated to 750 degrees to your table. High temperature sears in all the natural juices, nutrients & flavor giving you a taste beyond anything you've ever experienced. The Stonegrill is moisture activated. When the food is cooked, it will release from the stone, allowing you to turn it over or remove it without sticking. By dining from the Stonegrill, you are able to enjoy a meal freshly grilled to personal taste, whether it be rare, medium or well done. Your food will remain hot, allowing you to dine at leisure. Stonegrill Dining is recognized as one of the healthiest methods of cooking. The absence of oils or fats and the quick searing of food at high temperatures ensure delicious and healthy meals lower in calories that traditional cooking methods allow and taste unique to a Stonegrill.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb Prepare Your Catch Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This restaurant did an excellent job of preparing our fresh caught fish. The Grouper was broiled and the Snapper was batter dipped and fried whole for a moist an delicious presentation. Their recommendations for preparation of each were creative and tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ed, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your fresh caught fish prepared by our talented chef. We like to offer this feature so that you can truly appreciate fishing and dining in the keys while on vacation with no mess and no stress. Just pure relaxation and enjoyment! We hope that you will come back in for us to serve you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    282
    90
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
temecula ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hot stone cooking at your table !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Service was excellent! Food was delicious. They offer hot stone cooking. A stone heated to 750 degrees set down at your table with a generous offering of goodies to cook . Very neat. Delicious key lime pie. !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank furluvcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our stone grill cooking! It is a different and healthy approach to dining. It happens to be my granddaughters favorite. We hope to see you again and it would be our pleasure to serve you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This restaurant looks a little dated from the outside, but this was one of our best dining experiences.We brought in our own fish to be prepared and they did an excellent job. The service was friendly and impeccable. Do not miss the key lime pie. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Feltish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Feltish,
Thank you so very much for your great review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience! Please come back again soon it will be our pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has it all!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have been there MANY times. We go to Happy Hour and enjoy a very nice selection of very reasonably priced beers. our favorite happy hour "bites" are the JB salmon roll and the tuna tataki.
$4.95 each and Beautifully presented! The bar is beautiful ambience, comfortable, and very friendly, efficient staff. ( two large flat screen tvs, but NO volume... Just captions THANKFULLY. (Usually soft adult music..sometimes island music....at low volume, THANKFULLY. The decor IS very special....many lovely works of art. My favorites are the large round leaded glass created beauties hanging in the large round windows. The "waterfall wall" with changing color and bubbles is a welcome backdrop after the heat on the street. This is an adult restaurant for fine dining, yet the bar is a nice place to visit with friends while enjoying some samples of excellent cuisine. This is across the street from a very large city marina, which was great for us during the many weeks we were moored in Marathon. TRY it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick-Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you a ton Rick & Pam for taking the time to review us! We are so happy that you enjoy our restaurant. We look forward to serving you again!!! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My family went for dinner. Most of the items on the menu were $20 or higher. Crab cake entree $24.95 had 2 cakes that had a lot of filling in them. One would think being near the ocean, seafood would be cheaper. The outside paint on the building makes you think it is a casual seafood restaurant. Inside you will find a overpriced place trying to be high class.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaSC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Nina,
I wish that the seafood was less expensive in the Florida Keys, but as you probably found out everything is more expensive here. The crab comes from the middle Atlantic sea coast and is shipped to Florida, therefor making it more expensive. The fish that we use is all local fresh snapper, grouper, mahi, and hogfish and the fact is that fresh fish costs more but tastes better than frozen processed fish which is half the price. We are sorry that you feel that way about our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing