We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic Keys experience”

Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina
Ranked #34 of 94 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It isn't fancy or posh, but it is a local place known for good food and fellowship. Always something happening at Porky's. Locals gather to discuss the day and enjoy the casual atmosphere. Picnic table informality with "roll down" curtains if the weather is bad. Located on the marina with manatees as frequent visitors. Food is not pretentious but delicious. Try the "Beer Butt Chicken"; it is not to be missed. A different special every night and you should end with their Fried Key Lime Pie. Lunch or dinner you can't go wrong. Dinner time is also entertainment time with a guitar player who sings all the old time country music we love to hear. No cookie cutter restaurant and not to be missed for the real Florida Keys experience.

Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Sue,

Thank you for taking your time and posting your review to the Trip Advisor. We absolutely love the way you presented Porky's. It is one of the oldest establishments within all over the FL Keys, with same recipes kept and followed for ages, keysy feel local atmosphere and nothing fancy but just local and the old way :)
We cannot wait to have an opportunity to serve you again :)

Sincerely,
Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,063 - 1,067 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Downs: "Award Winning Fish Dip" was not award winning. One thing I love to compare at different dining spots as a foodie is the smoked fish dip since it is one of my favorite appetizers. This menu said "award winning" so I was anxious to try, unfortunately I was very let down as it came out luke warm and tasted like cat food. I understand people have very different taste in their meals but this one was not for me. Service was ok, I had to wait for a while to get sauce and a refill on my beer but the staff was friendly.

The Ups: I did not give up hope as I had read positive reviews about the BBQ. So we had to try the baby back ribs. The Ribs were HUGE, more than one can handle in a great portion. The meat was fall off the bone tender and was exactly as described by others, delicious... The atmosphere at this place is great, my kind of environment as the Ole FL feeling sets in with rustic decor and the open feel. Directly on the water, the atmosphere was great.

I would recommend to go and give it a try for yourself. Share your experience to others as reviews help these places improve on their weak points and continue on the strong points.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 565rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for coming over to Porky's and sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor!
We are very excited to hear that you loved our Baby Back Ribs; atmosphere, rustic décor and view.
As it comes to fish dip - sorry we did not meet your expectations as it comes to flavor. We are one of very few laces that smokes the freshly caught King Mackerels throughout the FL Keys and we use them to prepare our dip. We do follow the same recipe for years and we were awarded lots of prizes in past for our fish dip. As it comes to the temperature of the serving - we do keep it refrigerated and handled the way it should be for fish dip. If it wasn't cold enough - it can only be in the circumstances when the dip was just freshly prepared and served right into your plate.
Otherwise, right after preparation, dip is portioned, refrigerated and pulled out per order.
We hope to see you soon again:)

Sincerely,
Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch and were disappointed in the meal. I had a pulled pork sandwich which was pretty good and the smoked molasses BBQ sauce was good. My onion rings were pretty tasteless and very greasy. My wife had a steak sandwich which appeared to be prime rib but was mostly fat and gristle so she ate about 1/3 of it. Her french fries were funny tasting and also very greasy so she only ate a few of them. Lunch was about $24 without any drinks, so we won't be back. There are many good places to eat in Marathon, but this wasn't one of them.

Thank LaytonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Manager at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Bill,

We are very concerned to hear that you had a bad experience during your lunch at Porky's. Glad to find out the pork sandwich was good. As it comes to Steak Sandwich, that was actually Rib Eye steak. You mentioned that there was some fat on the steak. Even though there is always some fat on the Rib Eye, we do cut it off for the most part. Onion rings without too much flavor - most of our customers love our thick beer battered onion rings Did you bring it to server's attention that you were dissatisfied with your meal?
As it comes to the price range - especially being a Monroe Country resident, you know our local food cost reality. Especially for the Rib eye steak and pork prices recently. We do offer 10% local discount - if you would like to give us another try in the future.
We hope to see you again :)
Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Best Cuban pork in the keys! Friendly service, awesome live music, had a great time and will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hrrrhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We cannot wait to have you over again!

Sincerely,
Porky's team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in Marathon recently and heard that Porky's was a great restaurant so we went with our friends for lunch. The service was really good and the waitress was friendly and efficient. The food we had was nothing special and rather overpriced. The restaurant itself is very rustic, I guess it is often referred to as "old Florida" which means benches, wooden tables and open air, but under roof. It is located right on the highway at a small marina full of open fishing boats and some wave runners, not scenic at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for stopping at Porky's and taking time to share your opinion on Trip Advisor!
We are very happy to find out that the service was good (friendly and efficient) :)
As you mentioned, our restaurant is an outdoor rustic establishment. It was build in 1950s and it represents one of very few original old-keys local hang outs.
Menu pricing - is on the lower end in comparison to other local restaurants and might seem to be higher then elsewhere in the mainland, since we are located further south; plus please note - all our menu items are prepared from scratch.
We do really hope you will give us another try :)
Sincerely!
Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing