We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast”

Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina
Ranked #26 of 92 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Friday morning and had the Smokehouse breakfast. The tender snd tasty smoked pork was delightful addition to a rather normal every day breakfast. My other guest had the Southern Country breakfast with corned beef hash which was cooked just right.
Our waitress was very attentive and helpful with menu questions. Overall, the service was darn good!

Thank Mike32792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service was attentive :)

Please stop by for another meal at your next trip down to Marathon!

Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 980 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We dined here for lunch today; big mistake.
First...the restaurant was UNBEARABLY hot with one fan on us...in 90 degree weather.
We had 2 Servers; very confusing. Menu is too long to read, and I asked if the chef could prepare shrimp scampi...overwhelming "no.." Asked for dinner rolls ($18 entree didn't come with a salad)..that was an issue.
Portions are small; prices are very high...Overall my blackened shrimp over dried rice was awful, my friend's coconut shrimp basket was ok...size should have been double given the high prices.
Server didn't return to our table to check on us (??)
Bathrooms were a disgusting mess.

On one positive note, they are dog friendly.

Very unsatisfactory experience; heads up!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We do apologize for your unsatisfactory experience at Porky's Bayside.
The bathrooms have recently been repaired and updated. We are not sure when your visit was though. As far as the food is concerned, the dishes you describe, we do not offer. We have no problem to accommodate your special orders - including preparation of Shrimp Scampi, however please note, that it is not on our regular menu.
Besides, being located in South Florida, yes our summers are hot :) We do have though multiple fans - to be precise 10.
Thank you for your input.

Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Accommodated 10 people right away. Everyone loved their food! Ribs are really good! Tried the key lime pie. Not the best I have had. Too creamy and could hardly taste the lime. Another person in our party had the carrot cake. Wasn't the best. Not enough flavor. Skip dessert!

1  Thank mrscichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much! We are very glad to hear that the ribs were delicious. Sorry, we didn't meet your expectations on the desserts. Most of our customers love the deep fried key lime pie :(
We cannot wait to be able to accommodate you again at your next visit!
Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This Keysie little place has a lot of character. Great BBQ, beef and pork! Delicious seafood. If you have a hard time getting your kids to eat their green beans, order the Fried Green Beans appetizer, im addicted! The menu has something for everyone. The food is consistently good, we are never disappointed. Live music every night, nothing loud, usually a singer with their guitar. Dog friendly! Jenny behind the bar is a ray of sunshine and genuinely happy to serve you a cold one. The bar is beer and wine only, but Jenny is quite good at whipping up (wine based liquor) frozen tropical goodness.

Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for a great review!
We are very happy to hear about your good experience at Porky's.
Come and join us for more fun at your next trip down!
Sincerely,
Porky's Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wow the improvements just keep coming! The place is looking updated but keeping it's keys charm! So glad you brought back breakfast, each day was something yummy and different. Chef Sean made me a sesame seared tuna salad with your pear dressing ohhhh so good, it was so good I had to come back the next night to have it again.
So happy you are making the improvements, it is nice to know you will be there each time we come back. You have become our home away from home.... Keep up the great work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smiles307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdajed, Owner at Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much :)
We are very excited to meet your dining expectations.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon back at your next visit to Marathon and we promise, the place will look even better:)

Sincerely!
Porky's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Porky's Bayside - Restaurant and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing