We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pleasant and dog-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I was looking for a place in Marathon to take my parents with their dog and received a referral to Coconut Cay. From the initial phone call reservation to departure, everything was done efficiently with a warm personality and all at a great price. My parents were particularly delighted with the dockside location of our room which was very clean and had an inviting interior. We were only able to stay one night (which I was glad they were able to accommodate during this time of year) but will definitely look at a more extended stay next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rstarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Coconut Cay has been renovated and has been drastically improved. Don't let older reviews throw you off. We stayed in a waterfront room and could not have been happier.
The rooms are basic, well kept and clean. To top off the reasonable rates the resort also offers complimentary use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boats and fishing rods. We had one minor issue over a hotel policy on the free use of fishing rods but within minutes Owner/Manager Steve DeRoche was knocking on our door. Steve was a pleasure to talk to and quickly resolved our issue. His skills and customer friendly attitude will go a very long way as they strive to continue improvements and make the place even better than it already is.
My wife and I will be visiting this great resort again on our next trip to Marathon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My brother-in-law and I went to the Keys to do some fishing, and booked our room at Coconut Cay. We were checked in to our own bungalow bldg, and found it to be a spacious and clean abode. We entered into a hallway, and to our left was our living area and bathroom, and to the right was a very spacious bedroom with two queen size beds. There were televisions in both areas (local stations only, no cable), and in the living area, there was a full size frig and a microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. I had to laugh when I realized that there wasn't a phone in our room. I guess you don't come to the keys to talk on the phone, and also cell phones are the order of the day.
Our room was right by the boat ramp, and the views were fantastic! The wervice was friendly, and their attention to any problems indicated was prompt and satisfactory. They have free kayaks and bikes available at no charge.
All in all, I would give the resort an enthusiastic thumbs up! The only addition I would add would be cable tv. A lot of sportsmen come to the Keys to fish, and other sports events are important.

Room Tip: Inquire about a stand alone room as opposed to a row room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

It was a joy to be here and the entertainment provided canalside was fantastic. Pelicans, iguanas, fish jumping and slappin' , small jets and twin props landing at airport next door.

We were frustrated only with the lack of continuous wi-fi. They did have their IT tech person in during our stay, but still it did not work.

The staff were very helpful and gave us a truly relaxing time. Housekeeping and reception were teriffic. This said we did not find it necessary to haggle over the internet, because we could usually get it in the office when we brought our laptop in.

The location is charming, and proved to be a great launching pad for all our Key adventures.

Room Tip: Dockside kitchen may be more, but these are great and do have a full size kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at the Coconut Cay Resort and Marina at the end of January. Right from the beginning Pam was friendly and wonderful in helping me organize and reserve accommodations for the 20+ scuba divers. Right away she sent confirmations to my email making me feel at ease with the reservations.
The property was exactly what we wanted, even offering complementary kayak, bike, and fishing rod rentals. When not diving, we'd bike ride to stores and kayaked to the local Keys in the Florida Bay. Many of our rooms they kindly upgraded for us and faced the water! The canal facing rooms had cute picnic benches to read or spend time relaxing with other guests. The rooms themselves were very large and spacious. The house keeping is amazing and the rooms were very clean. My room had a beautiful kitchen and two separate sliding glass doors to the canal. The pool was nice too! Having such a large group can be challenging for any property and they went out of their way to make us feel at home.
Chris at the desk was always there to answer any questions. The owners of the property are always on site and could not be kinder! Can't wait to stay with them again! If you're looking for local charm and personalized attention you've found the right property. This Bahamanian style, Florida Keys getaway is the perfect place for some R&R.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We enjoyed our room with the canal outside our back door. Very scenic. It was great to have use of the double kayak. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, even to our dog! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This quaint resort truly has it all. Constructed in the mid-1900s, its multi-coloured units done in pastel tones is reminiscent of the art deco architecture in Miami and maintains a truly Carribean feel. If relaxation is what you are seeking, a central location as a jumping off point located at the mid-point of The Middle Keys at Mile Marker 52 in Key Marathon for day tripping, a family get away whether it be two days, a week or more, sport or recreational fishing, diving or snorkeling at the many surrounding reefs, swimming with the dolphins and manatees, cycling, a visit The Turtle Hospital, dining on fresh seafood at any of the multitude of nearby establishments (your trip will not be complete without lunching at The Keys Fisheries on 35th Street -- and perhaps picking up fresh lobster, shrimp or stone crab claws from its fish market for dinner, not to mention the smoked fish for your apetizer), a romantic vacation or destination wedding (the point location on The Gulf side is spectacular, particularly at sunset) is what you seek, this is your place. The list of activities in and around the resort is endless and only limited by your imagination, and perhaps time.

This resort offers it all, whether you visit with your family -- young and old alike, spouse, alone or with friends -- there is something for everyone. Kayaks, bicycles and fishing rods are provided at no extra cost. Beach towels can also be borrowed for day use. A trip to Key Marathon would not be complete without a visit to Sombrero Beach on the Atlantic -- a short drive or bicycle ride away. Its white sand and coral beach includes a park like setting including the expected palm tree landscaping, whether it be for swimming, sunning or walking, all of which is dog friendly and has its own "doggie station". It also has a playground for children. The resort boasts two pools which are well maintained and open 24/7. Bring the boat and utilize the boat launch, marina or park directly outside your canal front room or suite, each of which includes a private patio. Drive the RV and hunker down by the marina/point and stay awhile. For the cycling enthusiast, explore the The Keys utilizing the paved bike/walking/jogging path which runs the entire length of The Keys right from Key Largo to Key West (all bridges and causeways have a bike lane in each direction). Fish from the point or dockside at the canal on the resort, go out on one of the multitude of local charters (many of which are very reasonably priced), from any one of a number of "fishing bridges" where The Gulf meets the Atlantic, or bring your own boat. Boat rentals by the day or longer are also locally available. The house on the lagoon is very private, sleeps eight to ten and we enjoyed the luxury of fishing off the dock one afternoon which was very generously offered to us by the owner personally during our stay.

Much of the resort has been recently updated and the staff are working diligently to complete the remaining planned work at the resort until all upgrades are entirely completed. We recommend a canal front room or suite, with or without kitchenette (a picnic area with barbecue facilities is located centrally to the canal and pool front rooms/suites).

Certainly much more economical than Key West and only an hour away by car, as is Key Largo.

For those on a tight schedule, fly in to the Marathon airport located only a block away.

The staff are more than friendly and accommodating, ensuring the guests are greeted and welcomed on a daily basis. The entire staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and enquired daily as to whether we had any specific requests or needs and all were warm and genuine individuals who truly care and are concerned about all the guests. We were in fact treated as if part of the "family". The room was extremely clean and its size generous. The bed was comfortable even given the back problems each of us have. Although we chose a "basic" room, it included a mini fridge and microwave, and a coffee maker was provided immediately upon our request when we checked in. Our large German Shepherd Dog accompanied us for our three week stay and he was also treated like part of the family. We also met and developed friendships with other guests during our stay which will continue into the future. We were astounded by the how nice many of the guests were.

We will (and already have) recommended the Coconut Cay Resort to our friends and family. We will visit frequently and plan to make the trip (all 27 hours of driving) again in a couple of months.

In short, great place, nice atmosphere, and genuine caring staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room or suite on the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £109 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing