We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirtiest!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #10 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Orlando
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirtiest!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

After traveling to this area for many years made the mistake to rent from coconut cay, because of the seafood festival the picking was slim, this is by far the dirtiest place I have stayed at, the proof was on the white towel that they give you to place in front of the shower after first used flip over and it was black, dust balls against every baseboard, asthma attack after first night sleep, try to go somewhere else all taken, fan will not turn off, T.V. Will not work properly, Mold in the floors in the bathroom, false advertisement it shows a beach and 4 chairs in a sandy beach, they even show this in their book that they have in the room, yes there is a beach 2 miles away, please if you have allergies and if you want to stay somewhere CLEAN? Choose something else

Room Tip: Not sure our choices were room in front facing the main road, they say room in the back facing tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2shrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    153
    58
    49
    63
See reviews for
151
184
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great colourful hotel. Lovely staff. Great wifi. Nice pool and lots of things available to borrow for free. Shame about the poor parrots in tiny cages in the center of the complex who screamed all day due to their sorry living conditions. Also very noisy due to being right by the airport and a main road. The rooms were nice and clean and nice to have a bath as well as a shower. Lovely maintenance man. The dock side room was nice. Air con was quiet. fridge and microwave in room.

Room Tip: dock side as far from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

First off I made this reservation over 4 months ago for our anniversary. I booked the economy room as we are on a budget for 4 nights, with a queen size bed on purpose instead of 2double beds

When we arrived we were told that our room wouldnt be ready until the next day but they upgraded us the first night to a kitchenette with 2 double beds and the next day we would get the large room next to the office on the street for our inconvenience. Being good sports we gave no hassle even though we don't sleep well in a double together, we had a poor nights sleep and looked forward to our room with a queen bed.

But we had noticed that almost all the rooms opened into the secluded garden area behind the front of the motel like the kitchenette we were in The 1st night. The room we were told we would move to did not. It was on the street. there were a the few other rooms that had street entrances without access to the garden but they had a picnic table in front. all except the room we were Being moved to because there was no room, as the door was just a couple feet from the office door.

The next morning we told the desk clerk that we didn't want the larger room for being inconvenienced, just the room we booked. He told us he was the owner and this was the room we booked , an economy queen . It had been an office but they had converted it. He said they were booked but he would see what he could do to get us in the back. We said if that's what we booked let it ride but he still said he would try

We packed up our stuff and took off. Later we came back to the motel and a different desk clerk said we were in the room next to the office.

.we got in the room and it was a KING SIZE BED in a huge dark room with 1 window the size you would have over a kitchen sink, and heavyshutters? There was a door connecting to the office with no way to lock from our side, The outside door knob couldn't unlock without buying it a drink first. I'm not kidding. I always had to get help to unlock the door because I didn't know how to wiggle and shake it just right. a Lock smith is coming next week I was tol? The room had terrible lighting, no drinking cups and no coffee maker. The coffee maker wouldn't have been a big deals AS we were next to the office on the noisy street, but the office didn't have coffee untill opening at 8 am. Then they said I had to request a coffee maker. On their site it lists coffee maker in the economy room.

I wish that was the worst of it. Our mattress was broken down and lumpy. The bed spread was silky and looked like something someone brought from home? It slipped off the bed all night. So between the slippery comforter and the broken down mattress anouther poor nights sleep.

I complained as soon as they opened and they did flip the mattress, change the comforter, give us a coffee maker and drinking cups. BUT...They were full and didn't have another room for us.

My question is who had our room? Remember the one with the queen size bed. They had them. I saw one in the back garden area when the door was open during cleaning. Didthose guests book in October too? They had the room when I booked it so why did someone else get it? I don't even care if we were stuck on the noisy street next to the noisy office with the door open to get some light in that tomb of a room if it were the room I booked!

We were stuck with this room with no options as we couldn't cancel without a 72 hr notice!

!I figure they stuck us with the room no one wanted as we weren't their high cost room guests, so better to screw us

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Canada!
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Coconut Cay is a safe, clean and helpful stay for the price. We had two different rooms during our stay and both were clean and secure. The air conditioning unit was a bit too loud in both and a couple of tiles were loose in the second room but we hardly spent any time inside. If you book, I'd suggest the rooms that by the canal/docks(our first room) and not beside the laundry(second room) which is extremely loud. The grounds were nice and you can use the bikes and kayaks for free which was really nice. They have three wheeler bikes with baskets regular bikes if you want to go to the 2 close by grocery stores or even the beach.

Unfortunately they didn't let us know that we would be moving during our stay and we had to scramble to move rooms. We had made two bookings to extend our stay and their front desk person was unexpectedly off sick when we checked in. Otherwise it's pretty relaxed and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for any room except for the ones beside the laundry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Been staying at the Coconut Cay on and off for years and it's all you need in Marathon. Close to everything, walking distance to the Brass Monkey, K-Mart, Hurricane etc. and the place is solid as a rock, yes, it's solid poured concrete ceilings and all. If you get in the back it is a peaceful paradise overlooking a nice cut, front rooms, while not noisy aren't quite as nice IMHO. For the dollar, you won't find anything else this nice and plenty of parking, a big pool and nice friendly staff. Check it out, it's worth your time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The motel is very average looking on the outside. Despite the experience we checked in and proceeded to our room. Within seconds of walking into our room we noticed huge puddles of water everywhere. We returned to the front desk to make them aware of the situation. The front desk representatives were extremely unhelpful. They had to call the groundskeeper and made to the room to have everything cleaned up. When we asked whether their were other rooms available - the front desk cleark (without checking her system) blurted out we are full! No accomodations were made to ensure that our stay was enjoyable aside from having the water mopped up. It was riddiculous. I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMereus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I was looking for a place in Marathon to take my parents with their dog and received a referral to Coconut Cay. From the initial phone call reservation to departure, everything was done efficiently with a warm personality and all at a great price. My parents were particularly delighted with the dockside location of our room which was very clean and had an inviting interior. We were only able to stay one night (which I was glad they were able to accommodate during this time of year) but will definitely look at a more extended stay next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rstarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
3.1 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Property: Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing