We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed for the price we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #11 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
North Port, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed for the price we paid”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We rented the Gulf side/canal connecting rooms with a kitchen from June 2 thru June 5, 2014. The rates were between $145 and $180 per night per bedroom. The hotel is older. There are stairs involved, so if you use a cane or wheelchair, you might want to forget this hotel. No bugs! But the floors were filthy--could not walk without something on your feet. A/C in one bedroom drained into the room. They tried fixing it while we were there, but just put a towel under it. It rained, and rainwater backed up towards the sliding glass doors. Pretty skimpy on the small soaps. Also, for the four nights we were there, the sheets were never changed; although their policy is that they will change them after 3 nights. Disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandywake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Sandy,
First I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I’m sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. Our resort is an older Keys style hotel all on one level but there are two small steps leading up to the dockside rooms. I checked your reservation and there was no request for a wheelchair accessible room. If you had requested a handicap room we gladly would have accommodated you. As for the sheets you are correct…Our policy is to change them after three nights. Of course if you had brought the deficiency to our attention we would have corrected the oversight right away. The same goes for the soap. We keep extra soap and other necessities at the front desk and housekeeping also would have given you extra upon request. I assure you housekeeping does sweep and mop all of our floors every day. As with any tile floor, dirt that is tracked in by the guest will show on the tile vs. carpet that will absorb the dirt into its fibers. As you said it was raining so I’m sure that caused even more dirt to be tracked in. There is nothing we can do about the weather; although, I am sorry that the leak in the air conditioner took some time to fix. Our regular maintenance man was out on medical leave so I do deeply apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you. We hope that next time you are in the Florida Keys you will give us a chance to show you how great this resort can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    155
    59
    53
    66
See reviews for
158
187
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This little quaint "keysey" resort was really nice. Everyone was super friendly and the place was clean and nice. They even think "green" and had a place where I could plug in my electric car. I will definitely stay there again. It's a perfect place for anyone in South Florida to travel to if they have an electric car with limited range because you can head to the Keys for a weekend and charge it up overnight for your trip home. We see this in the big hotel chains but it's great to see places like this participating in keeping our planet clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Peggy,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on Trip Adviser. I’m very happy to see the growing numbers of people who are making the choice to switch to electric cars. We do care deeply about the environment here at Coconut Cay. We want to protect the Florida Keys for future generations to enjoy for years to come. We are looking forward to you next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed at Coconut Cay a few times now and love it. The staff if super friendly and accommodating, the room service was excellent, and the amenities are the best part! I stayed in one of the houses with a few friends and not only was the house incredible, but I felt that we didn't even need to leave the property to relax and enjoy the vacation. My friends and I were able to use paddle boards, wakeboards, fishing rods and a pool all for free! It is in a great location as we were able to drive up to Islamorada for activities, but also down to Key West for some nightlife.

I highly recommend Coconut Cay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Meghan,
I am so delighted that you found us to be a “hidden gem” conveniently located so you could experience the best of the Upper, Lower, and Middle Keys without having to drive very far. Not that you needed to go anywhere with all of the free amenities we provided. Thank you for commenting on the excellent job that our staff does each and every day. We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband called from work and said lets go down to the keys so we got in the car and started driving on the way down I called Coconut Cay because we stayed there last time and they booked me a 2 queen/ 1 sleeper sofa with kitchenette dockside on the fly. When we didnt get there in time they put our key in our room and left the door unlocked so we could get in. These people make you feel like family. Even the maintenance man speaks to you and thanks you for staying and on the way out came and shook my husbands hand and wished us a great trip back! We LOVE Coconut Cay and Love all the amenities of the 24 hour pool, free bike and kayak rentals. I can never say enough about how much we love this place! We will be back in September Thank you again to our extended family at Coconut Cay for always making us feel welcome!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patswife0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi, thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you were able to get a Dockside room at the last minute as they are our most popular rooms among our guests. We truly have great staff members who genuinely love helping our guests and we love to hear that you feel like family when you are here. Please follow us on Facebook because we will be posting our fall specials starting in September. We are looking forward to your return to your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at Cocunt Cay for 4 days with a group of friends and had a great time! The house provided lots of privacy with a patio in the back yard that back right up to the water. We were able to swim, kayak, paddle board and enjoy the pool any time we wanted! The location is very central, with an easy drive to key West and lots of great attractions near by (snorkling, boat rentals, tarpon feeding, etc). Overall I loved Coconut Cay and Marathon! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Ashley,
I am elated to see that you Found Coconut Cay to be the “Perfect way to experience the Keys”. Our Coral House is a great way to enjoy all of our amenities but with the added privacy only a house can provide. I’m pleased to see that you were able to find so many interesting things to do right here in Marathon and that you were able to make the short drive to Key West to enjoy their night life. We are looking forward to your nest visit to the Florida Keys and Coconut Cay Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This place was absolutely amazing! Hands down one of the best places to stay in Marathon. The atmosphere was nothing but spectacular, the hospitality was truly exceptional and the resort was nothing but relaxing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Brittney,
Thank you for your excellent review on trip advisor. Our staff definitely provides an exceptional level of hospitality to our guests. Other than being in paradise…that is what makes the atmosphere at Coconut Cay Resort so spectacular. I’m glad you were able to relax while making memories that will last a life time. Please come stay with us again on your next vacation to the Florida Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had an amazing stay at Coconut Cay Resort. The staff was so helpful and friendly. We stayed at the larger house down road. It was also fun taking out the paddleboards and kayaks. The pool area was really unique and great as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Kayla,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Coconut Cay Resort. I’m glad you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Our pool area is quite unique as you said. Complete with a comfortable seating arrangement, foosball table, and Bimini ring game under the covered area and plenty of chairs to relax in the sun as well. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.1 mi away
Kingsail Resort Motel
Kingsail Resort Motel
#14 of 17 in Marathon
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Property: Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing