We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Ranked #11 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I found this resort on expedia.com. It had pretty good reviews here on tripadvisor and we needed a place to stay for the evening, since we were on our way to Key West from Miami. It was a great find. There were a lot of amentities offered and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They had prepared a list of suggested restaurants in the area as well as things to do. However for things to do, they had them there. The resort was located on a little marina, where they had kayaks and paddleboards available. It was a nice place to stay. Other reviews said the parrots kept them awake, but we couldn't hear them in our room and we were quite close. It was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LReut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Lauren,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of the free amenities that we offer here and that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. It is good to know that your room was close to our birds Sugar and Cracker and you found your stay to be quiet and peaceful. We are looking forward to your next visit with us here at Coconut Cay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    155
    59
    53
    66
See reviews for
158
187
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

For those of you who are new to the keys and are looking for the stories and the places you read and heard about, this is your stop.
Bright colors, clean and nice rooms.
This deco colored hotel along with the serene setting on the gulf is a must see.
Our stop was enhanced by a great staff and fun water sports.
We chose this resort from our experience with referrals from RCC Card and enjoyed a nice discount

This will be a great place a lot closer to our Naples home and a break from the busy streets of Key West.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that you found our rooms to be nice and clean with a great staff and plenty of water sports for you to take part in. Yes, we are much closer then Key West when driving from Naples. Don’t forget that you can also take the ferry down as well the next time you want to come down and use your RCC card. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here with a couple friends on our trip to the keys. Marathon is great central key to stay on, and this hotel was fantastic for what we paid. Friendly service, nice pool, beach towels provided, bikes and kayaks including in price of room, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalan772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi, thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I’m glad to see you found Coconut Cay Resort to be fantastic and centrally located in the heart of the Florida Keys. We do provide excellent complimentary amenities for all of our guests and we hope you will stay with us again next time you stop in Marathon FL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a canal front room and we had a blast. Steve in the office was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us great recommendations for things to do with the kids. The FREE amenities (fishing poles, kayaks, etc.) were great! Looking forward to our next trip. The room was very clean and reasonably priced.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Alisha,
Thank you for taking the time to review Coconut Cay Resort. I’m delighted to see that you were able to take advantage of the free amenities that we provide to our guests and that you found our office staff to be so helpful and knowledgeable. We will have a room waiting for you when you return...hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My girlfriend and I had a enjoyable stay. We trailered our boat over from Naples and were able to dock right at our back door. The room was comfortable and place was within boating and biking distance from some great little watering holes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Daniel,
Thank you for writing a review of our resort on Trip Advisor. I love that you and your girlfriend were able to find some great nearby watering holes with in boating and biking distance. It is so convenient to have the boat right at your back door. Make sure to check out the RCC card in your area. You will be able to save 20% on your next stay with us at Coconut Cay. Hope to see you both soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskogee, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We heard so much about old Florida and the way it used to be, and this place was it. Great value, clean rooms, and the staff was very, very friendly. Great location to explore the keys. Located in the middle of the keys so it is a perfect location to explore all the way to Key West! I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyminer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Gary,
We appreciate that you took the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that our resort lived up to your expectations of “Old Florida” and that you found us to be conveniently located during your explorations of the Keys. Thank you for recommending us and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We rented the Gulf side/canal connecting rooms with a kitchen from June 2 thru June 5, 2014. The rates were between $145 and $180 per night per bedroom. The hotel is older. There are stairs involved, so if you use a cane or wheelchair, you might want to forget this hotel. No bugs! But the floors were filthy--could not walk without something on your feet. A/C in one bedroom drained into the room. They tried fixing it while we were there, but just put a towel under it. It rained, and rainwater backed up towards the sliding glass doors. Pretty skimpy on the small soaps. Also, for the four nights we were there, the sheets were never changed; although their policy is that they will change them after 3 nights. Disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandywake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysyMarathon, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Sandy,
First I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I’m sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. Our resort is an older Keys style hotel all on one level but there are two small steps leading up to the dockside rooms. I checked your reservation and there was no request for a wheelchair accessible room. If you had requested a handicap room we gladly would have accommodated you. As for the sheets you are correct…Our policy is to change them after three nights. Of course if you had brought the deficiency to our attention we would have corrected the oversight right away. The same goes for the soap. We keep extra soap and other necessities at the front desk and housekeeping also would have given you extra upon request. I assure you housekeeping does sweep and mop all of our floors every day. As with any tile floor, dirt that is tracked in by the guest will show on the tile vs. carpet that will absorb the dirt into its fibers. As you said it was raining so I’m sure that caused even more dirt to be tracked in. There is nothing we can do about the weather; although, I am sorry that the leak in the air conditioner took some time to fix. Our regular maintenance man was out on medical leave so I do deeply apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you. We hope that next time you are in the Florida Keys you will give us a chance to show you how great this resort can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.1 mi away
Kingsail Resort Motel
Kingsail Resort Motel
#14 of 17 in Marathon
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Property: Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050-3138
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing